We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, will definately go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Ranked #16 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2010

This was the first time we have been to Turkey and also the first time we have been all inclusive and I must say that we could not have made a better choice.

Our room was on the top floor and overlooked the sea and pool area, it must have been one of the best views in the whole complex.

The hotel was so clean and well presented. The staff were so friendly and helpfull, especially Alfie at Sultan's Bar, as soon as he saw myself or may partner heading for the bar he prepared our drinks for us. Alfie, you are a star.

The entertainment staff were very hard working and there were plenty of things going on during the day however the evening entertainment was not what our 'cup of tea' so we tended to stay near the bar.

The food was good and there was always plenty of choice, when we booked the holiday and after reading reviews on here we were expecting to have to eat out but we did not have to, we only had lunch out one day and that was only because we were on an excursion.

Eric the photogropher is really good at what he does and we just had to buy one of the photo's he took of us, I do not usually like photos of myself but it was so professional.

We both decided to have the Deluxe Package at the Spa which included Sauna, Turkish Bath, Body Mask, Face Mask, Facial Massage, Full Body Massage and Reflexology, definately recommend this. I also had a head massage and wash and blow at the hairdressers and my partner had a Turkish Shave and face mask, we certaily made the most of our holiday.

We would definately recemmend this hotel to anybody and will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheffieldPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,003 - 2,009 of 2,367 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

the staff are very friendly and happy, good choice of food served all day. The beds are not that comfortable and quite hard. i would recommend it even if its just for the weather.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleunNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Flew out to Marmaris on the 7th June with Thomas Cook - this was a sign of things to come - packed earphones for in-flight entertainment only now expected to pay £7 each for a tv set ! I don't think so....
Arrived at the hotel 6am - first impressions were - wow! Disappointed to discover I had to pay 50 lire for a safe key and it is none refundable, this was the most expensive safe I have ever used any where in the world! Room was great - spotless clean and tidy, balcony overlooking sea and kept clean every day. Food was great, plenty to choose from - available all day and drinks were plentiful. Staff were friendly enough but we met others on holiday and it became clear that we were all being charged different rates for turkish bath, hairdressers etc. There is a nightclub on site and we were witness to staff charging rooms and pocketing cash.... the manager did sort this out but friends were treated hostile for rest of week by bar staff so be warned - should be room charge only. Bars on the beach strip are good but unless you are drinking bottled beer I advise you to only stay for one drink. 6 of us spent 160 lire in Jimmy's bar on buy 1 get 1 free cocktails and quickly discovered after raging indigestion that we were being given cheap cola and coloured water - not alcohol!! Same on Bar Street, prices vary and so do quantity of alcohol so move on fast!
Had a few great trips out - went to swim with Dolphins at Icmeler, not a tourist attraction as therepy centre for disabled children but highly recommend. Talk of the Town is fantastic, saw 'funny girls' show and it was hilarious and they do some good free entertainment nightly, boat trip was great and so was trip to Dalyman, well organised.
Overall, a fantastic holiday as met some really great people but you need to be careful as they will rip you off at any opportunity and will be so slimy about it by pretending you are their 'new friend'. The Turks are living well in Marmaris - on the back of gullible brits. One final word - hotel entertainment.... what a croc... and now convinced they keep it this way to get you to leave the hotel at night (save on their alcohol) On our final night we watched - wife beating and a disabled man(no hands) needing help having a wee and this was suppose to be comedy night.... certainly the guests seated near myself felt as disgusted as me for this being permitted in front of children let alone adults! I would say that overall this is a good hotel and I would recommend it, just take note of what I say and have a fantastic holiday! We really did...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline196260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

My partner and I have just come back from 2 weeks here. The hotel itself is very clean and grand looking, and we were very impressed when we first arrived. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the main road, which was incredibly noisy when the balcony doors were open, but seeing as the air conditioning worked well we didn't really have any need to do this.

As soon as we had unpacked we headed down to the bar. It was well stocked and most of the staff there are brilliant, especially Ismail. It's a shame there is only one bar at this hotel considering the size of it and the amount of unused 'lounge space' there is inside the hotel. The bar is outside, so when the temperatures reached 45 degrees it would have been nice to have had an air conditioned option sometimes. We also had a torrential downpour while we were there and there is a small shaded area by the bar, but it wasn't nearly big enough for everyone to shelter in while we finished our drinks.

The restaurant was clean and well staffed, however the food wasn't to our taste. We could usually find something we could eat, but that was more because we were hungry and we can't say we particularly enjoyed anything we eat there. We ended up eating out most nights, marmaris does have some fantastic restaraunts.

The entertainment is awful I'm afraid and completely lacking imagination. The entetainment teams 'crazy pool game' was getting participants to throw a ball into a bucket, the Turkish night was the guys from the hairdressers on the stage doing peoples hair and giving a tukish shave while jumping around to music, then a belly dancer, the comedy show was the absolute worst and in very poor taste.

I wouldn't go back to Marmaris or this hotel for 2 weeks again. There just isn't enough to do without having to spend a small fortune.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikka30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We had been to Turkey last year for our honeymoon self catering and had a great time, We decided to go back for our first wedding anniversary but decided to try all inclusive.
What a fantastic hotel to choose.

As soon as we arrived at reception we were really impressed. It was six in the morning and we were greeted by freindly reception staff and a bellboy ready to take our cases to the room. The reception and lobby area is really well decorated and everything was spotlessly clean.

Our room was spacious and we had a large balcony with a seaview. Fantastic!
The pool is really large and has plenty of sunbeds and a waterslide which is turned
on twice a day.

The food is great. In the evening there is a wide variety of dishes and you could have
a three course meal if you have room for it! The desert counter looks amazing and
there is so much care and attenension that goes into the presentation of the food.

At lunch time we went to Pashas snack bar by the pool. The pizzas are relly tasty.
The staff are so freindly at this hotel and can t do enough for you espeacially Arther
at Sultans bar. If he sees you coming he ll prepare your drink before you ask for it
and always has time for a chat. The cocktails are really good.

There is entertainment through out the day and evening but you don t get forced to
join in if you don t want to. One thing we were really impressed with is that at eleven
o clock after the entertainment has finished the hotel run a free bus to take you to
bar street and it returns at three o clock. One evening it was a open top bus which
was relly cool.

Lots of people mention Eric the hotel photographer and i must say the photos he takes
are really good espeacially when he has airbrushed them, He dosn t pressure you to
buy them either.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday here and didn t want to come home. We would
highly reccomend this hotel and can t wait to go back again.If you haven t already
done so book it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah33Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Me my husband and our friends stayed in the grand ideal in may the hotel is in a perfect location with the single beach a stones throw away. The rooms are very comfortable and spottless there is a hairdryer and a small fridge in the rooms also Pool/beach towels are provided and you can get clean ones at reception or you maid.The pool area and swimming pool are both great and the waiters clean up constantly we had only ONE complaint about this hotel and that would be the evening entertainment it was truly awefull and very badly organized the entertainment staff worked very hard but i think the managment really need to up their budget on the entertainment side of things and with that little mourn out of the way i would advise anybody to go there we would most certainly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I travelled here with my 10 yr old daughter end of may, hotel is in an ideal location, and its very clean. Room at the front of the building was to noisey at night so asked for a room change and got a lovely room with a sea view, beds are fairly hard, but apart from that room is fine...
Food was ok, but we are a little bit fussy but didnt go hungry, lots of choice and again resturant was clean, my only complain here was the waiters bring you drinks with your meal and i asked for 2 diet cokes but was bought normal cokes, my daughter is diabetic and this made her bloods go way to high, every time i had to make sure it was diet, and again at breakfast there was only a really sweet orange drink avalible i asked th waitress if she could get my daughter a diet coke as there was nothing for her to drink and she was very rude about it and wouldnt do it, so i had to ask the manager and explain again why, ( she wouldnt have this at home in the morning)...
Pool was lovely and big, a little cold but once in you got used to it,
Staff were lovely as were alot of the guests,
Jeep safari was brilliant and would recommend on going...
Would return here as it was a very nice hotel.....

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen-jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#15 of 234 in Marmaris
1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#22 of 234 in Marmaris
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#21 of 234 in Marmaris
2,801 reviews
0 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium

Address: Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#10 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £48 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished for the 2015 season, SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium provides a relaxing atmosphere for the whole family. Guests will enjoy stylish rooms, new digital features of Touch Screen TV's and free Internet points throughout the hotel as well as experiencing the more traditional holiday. Children can enjoy activities in the Lollo & Bernie Kids Club and for teenagers there is the ConnectTeen Lounge (a cool place to hang out). The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout enabling all guests to stay connected to family and friends home and abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ideal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing