We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY, SUPERB HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Ranked #17 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My husband and I have just got back from marmaris and we had a fantastic time. We arrived at 4am in the morning and had a hassle free check in and were escorted to our room by a very friendly bell boy. Room was superb, very modern and very very clean. We were on the second floor over looking another hotels pool so had a nice view aswell. Room maids come daily and clean rooms, towels, sheets etc and leave you clean towels also for your lounger each day.
Food - Excellent selection, so much lovely food to choose from, snack pool bar at lunch times served nice pizza, pasta, chips etc and evening meals were superb too. Soups were lovely.
Staff - Very very friendly, really go out of their way to help and make you feel welcome. We got friendly with one chap who came to chat to us every day.
Pools - Very clean and spacious, plenty of sunbeds although some people do tend to go down early and reserve beds in favourite spots so we did the same in the end.
Beach - Beach is nice although they dont have nice golden sand, its more pebbley and black in some areas so we spent most time in and around the pool. Lovely to walk along the beach front by night as there is so much nightlife, hundreds of bars and restaurants to try.
Local amenities - Loads of shops selling leather and souveniers etc, little pushy to get you in but then they are all like that everywhere you go. Trips to the local market only a few quid which is also a good day out to buy any gifts etc.
Entertainment at the hotel is the only thing that was poor. Although they have plenty of sporty activities by day, the evening is not so good. They did have an English lady singing on the last night we were there who was very good and we did stay to listen but the other nights werent all that good at all. Please dont let that put you off though as on a whole the holiday was fantastic and we would definately go there again and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WotoGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,329)
There are newer reviews for SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,957 - 1,963 of 2,329 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

This hotel was sold to us by Thomas Cook as a 5star hotel beleive me it is not and never will be a 5 star hotel. The bar staff can only make 3 cocktails i.e a Blue Lagoon, Red Lagoon and Sex on the Beach, all the drinks are watered down including coke, sprite ect. The breakfast is a sad affair come to think about it all the food was shocking and i'm not a fussy eater. When you arrive at this hotel they give you two small bottles of water in your room and thats it, if you want more you have to pay for it.The water slide is only open for 2 hours a day 11-12 and 3-4, if you want to use the gym you have to pay for it, the spa charge between £40-£60 for a Turkish bath and massage you can get the same from the hotel up the street for £6. The entertainment in this hotel is shocking and the animation team need a bullet up the ****. If you are in the rooms on the front of the hotel the road in noisy and the Man callling the Muslums to prayer starts at 5am every morning and this goes on 5 time a day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrunhappy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Stayed at the Grand Ideal between 17th June -1st July, Most of the comments below I agree with, but for anyone going soon a few tips to make sure you get some sleep at least. We arrived at 6am in morning and were given room 157; looked fine until we were woke up at 10am by the loudest tannoy system you have heard. Opening our doors we were facing just left of the pool and quite low to the floor, we asked for high level facing the sea, unfortunately the sea is same direction as the pool. On the 2nd evening we went to bed at around 11:30pm and just getting off to sleep when at 12:00 the disco below started (12:00-02:00), our beds were literally bouncing with the bass which was so loud, we complained to the manager who said that they would turn it down, it was better for 2 days then the level went back to the same. we asked to be moved but the reception said there were no more rooms available, we put earplugs in but still could here it.2 weeks not sleeping well ,I was not very happy person to be with.
The bathrooms seem to have a direct link with other people’s rooms; you can actually hear people going to the toilet and talking bathing and Showering. Our friends’ room was exactly the same. They actually got moved the 2nd week of their holiday due to the noise of the disco which was room 165.
The ideal room to have in my opinion was top level facing the road.
The entertainment was poor but we went out to the Cheers Bar most evenings or for just a walk.
The food was repetitive after a week but they have to cater for a lot of people.
The Russians seem to be everywhere at the moment, easy to spot too, the men cant talk quietly and the women forget to take clothes to wear.
I would go back to Marmaris again but probably to a quieter Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webby62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Stayed at Grand Ideal between 20th - 27th June & had the time of our lives!
The transfer from Dalaman is long and tiring after a long flight, but as soon as we seen our hotel it was definately worth the wait! The entrance takes your breath away and the staff deal with you quickly and politely. The only downside is having to pay 50 TL for a safe for the week which is not refundable.
We would say that Grand Ideal is the best hotel in Marmaris for luxury, pool and location, its just perfect. About 2 mins to the beach, 10 mins from Icemeler on Dolmus and 10 from Bar Street on Dolmus the other way.
The entertainment is great and the people that organise it all are amazing! Eric & the photographers are amazing at what they do but the pictures are a little pricey 15 TL for one, but its a once in a lifetime experience so go for it!
The breakfast is a bit rubbish so walk down the road for a Full English for 11 TL & it fills you up for the day!!! The lunch is great at the snack bar and the dinner isnt too bad either. Each night there is something new to try and its always fresh and hot.
The Germans & Russians in the hotel seem to really hate the English and can be pushy and rude, and get down super early to reserve the best beds by the pool, but theres plenty available and you can always get where you want to.
The pool is unbeleivable, its huge!!! And the pool bar is great. Open all day for plenty of alcohol or soft drinks etc.
Bar Street is wicked, but expensive, just ask for deals before you step into anywhere in Marmaris to avoid getting ripped off.
If you walk down the beach front for a meal go to the restaurant on the pier at sunset. The food is amazing and the setting is gorgeous. Theres live music and great service all round.
All in all this is a hotel review, and we both thought it was amazing, the rooms are great, the staff are great and the service is perfect, such a shame we didnt have longer then a week because there is LOADS to do and see.
Dont book anywhere else but this hotel, SERIOUSLY! We seen all the others during transfer and none compare!
Can't wait to go again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlandStace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My friend and i stayed there for 10 days, we had a fantastic time. The people, the staff, the cleanlines and the food were all exceptional. On arriving back to the UK, my friend and I have tried to book again for September 2010 and found it was fully booked, this was a real shame, but only proves what a fantastic hotel this is. We will definately be trying to book another time.
Thank you once again for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Went on 20th - 27th June 2010
All inclusive
With my boyfiend, we are a young couple

Staff - nice and friendly, very hard working
Hotel appearance - immaculate, very elegant
Food - a lot of variety, quite nice but would be sick of it after 2 weeks! Breakfast is the same every day.
Location - 20 mins to Icmeler on bus, and 15 mins to Marmaris centre on bus. 2 min walk to Marmaris beach and Long beach front bars / restaurants
Free aircon

Marmaris in general - 1.75 single for bus to Marmaris (blue), 2.25 single for bus to Icmeler (orange). Can get bus anywhere if you stick your hand out but must shout STOP at bus driver to get off.
Bar street is expensive, can be up to 25 lira for 1 cocktail
At Icmeler beach be prepared to be hassled at the beach to use the owners part of the beach, you can either get a sunlounger for free but must buy drinks or pay around 5 lira for entry onto their part of the beach.
Like Icmeler beach there is always hassle from restaurants, bars etc to eat at their place.

**MUST SEE/ DO - Dalyan mud baths, Turkish bath, Turkish shave

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lngo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

this hotel is unreal,food is plenty full,staff tops,and the entertainment is great what do you expecct britians got talent every night,if you go to this hotel and do not enjoy it you might as well stay a home and lock yourself in a cupboard

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbtjrkalbmslgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#23 of 234 in Marmaris
2,716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#22 of 234 in Marmaris
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium

Address: Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#10 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £60 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished for the 2015 season, SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium provides a relaxing atmosphere for the whole family. Guests will enjoy stylish rooms, new digital features of Touch Screen TV's and free Internet points throughout the hotel as well as experiencing the more traditional holiday. Children can enjoy activities in the Lollo & Bernie Kids Club and for teenagers there is the ConnectTeen Lounge (a cool place to hang out). The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout enabling all guests to stay connected to family and friends home and abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ideal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing