We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Ranked #16 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Arrived at this hotel on 5 July for one week only. The hotel is kept immaculate and there is a maid service every day. All hotel staff work hard, and they are very polite and courteous. There is an on site hairdressers and beauty spa, and the various treatments are very reasonable. The hotel is in an excellent location in a slightly quieter part of Marmaris, but with plenty of shops and restaurants beside it. To get on the local bus to Marmaris centre you just simply stand on the pavement outside the hotel, hold out your hand and the driver will stop for you. The buses run every few minutes. There is a wide choice of food to choose from in the hotel, and if you are a fussy eater you will still get plenty to eat. The entertainment isn't bad given that they are trying to entertain customers from various countries. When we were leaving this hotel we were thanked for staying and wished a safe journey home from who we assumed was the manageress - a very nice guesture. If you have already booked to go on holiday here you will have great time, or if you are thinking of booking go for it, you won't regret it. We wish we had booked two weeks but as it was our first time in Turkey we thought we'd stay for a short time only.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,328
    495
    218
    80
    46
See reviews for
908
733
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2010

First time to Turkey and it most certainly wont be the last . Marmaris is a lovely place to be
The Grand Ideal is the perfect place to be for all your needs . Massive swimming pool , loads of sunbeds but get a bit sparse after 9am . Usual daytime activities but your never pushed or pressed to join in , the sun is on the pool all day , there are several areas with beds that are at the pool which are tottally covered from the sun good for young children . For people that enjoy drinks from the bar i would suggest getting up earlier to get the beds opposite the bar as it is a long trek if your on the other side of the pool .
The food caters for a few nationalities but you will always find something to eat ...There is a call to prayer from the mosque oppsite the hotel several times a day but after a while you hatrdly notice it .
I was surprised to see lots of Russian holiday makers who use this hotel , after many years in the usual european hotspots im used to seeing english , dutch , german but they are quite friendly people who are there for the same reason as you .
If you turn right out of the hotel there is a macdonalds wich is superb ...turn left and first left then youve got a 100 metres walk to the beach which is man made and made of gravel turn left at the beach and 200meters along the beach is a waterpark with flumes , we didnt use it but it looked good . The beach is quite narrow but it really opens up as you walk along it , the usual para-glidding and watersports are to be had .
The market is on a tuesday and if you turn left out of the hotel and walk about 150 meters cross the road and it is there ...brilliant market i got three football tops great copies for 50 tl ...be prepared to barter , personally i thought they get in your face a bit much so be prepared for that ...pretend its your last day and your skint lol .
This hotel is brilliant , the animation team try ever so hard and some shows are brill then some nites can be quiet ....We have already booked for two wks nxt year which is a first for us , only downside is the hour and a half from the the airport... but when you see the hotel your face will light . My wife and i enjoyad a turkish bath and massage , we booked it through Hassan a nice guy who will approach you at the poolsde wee paid £70
. I also had 2 shave which was really refreshing and come home without any nasel or ear hair lol .

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royalscot1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

i have just come back from the grand ideal this morning, and what can i say yet another great holiday at this hotel, its my 3rd time in a year going here and the staf are all very friendly and always happy to help.
the food has a good selection so there is always something for every one to eat ( even the fussy ones ).
rooms are very nice and kept clean everyday by the maids in which towels are changed daily. they are now providing blue towels to use by the pool if you did not want to use your own.
the entertainment was ok it is now run by a different team then last year and have not long been doing it, the kids loved the mini disco and i think the adults did aswell.
there are always beds by the pool but you are best to go down earlish so you can get them together especially if your in a big group like we were.
i can not fault this hotel , the staff or the location, i want to go back now and im already looking to back next year for the fourth time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank char1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This hotel really is excellent, I am having trouble finding any faults at all!

The staff are extremely friendly, in particular during the evening meals we were always served by Cermal (or somethign along those lines) and he would always greet us with a friendly smile and some good conversation about our day. Drinks would be quickly provided to your table and empty plates would be swiftly taken away.

The rooms are comfortable and contain the usual tv and air con, although ours broke down reception had it fixed very quickly. The maids are friendly and if your lucky they might even make a nice presentation on your bed with the clean towels!

Although many people have said the entertainment is questionable they do a very good job with the resources available to them. Throughout the day there are activites such as waterpolo, aqua gym, cash-bingo and killer pool - all the entertainment team are enthusiastic people and we became good friends with 'Oggy' .

I was expecting the food to be dire but I was shocked to find it was rather good! there was always something for everyone and there was a great range of desserts on offer. I presumed the all inclusive drinks would be watered down, but if they were it was very weak indeed as they tasted just like the real deal.

The nightlife is very good and we found ourselves spending many nights along the beach where the prices are generally much cheaper than Bar Street (£10 for a JD&Coke!). Although I would recommend that if you do want to go to Bar Street then the Thomas Cook 'nightshift' excursion is a must; you travel out by boat and then afterwards go to four different clubs, recieving a free shot at each. It gives you a chance to meet younger english people rather than a mix of different ages and nationalities. I would also strongly recommend the 'cleopatra jeep safari' where you are picked up in jeeps and then go onto a boat in the Agean sea, it was a great day out and the guy (who looks like Jack Sparrow) is a funny character.

Overall this is definately a hotel and resort to be visiting, it is in a prime location being just a short walk away fromt he beach and the free bus service to marmaris centre is also very useful. I was pleasantly suprised by how good it was and would seriously consider returning!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiliman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We arrived at this hotel at 2/3 in the morning turkey time and were so shocked at how nice the hotel was, me and my friend didnt sleep all night! i 100% loved this holiday i went with my family (mum, dad, brother whos 18, and my friend came with us who's my age as well 16). we met soo many nice people and were so sad too leave i came back this morning and first thing we did was look at prices for next year! i would say there was definatley something for everyone, we all had a really nice time.. one thing i would say though is that the trips out were really expensive.. if you booked through the hotel.. so go down the beach or down the town there are loads of people doing cheap deals and you can haggle down the prices, we managed to get a free boat cruise at nightt! i would really reccomend doing a Jeep safari which takes a whole day and you get picked up/dropped off back at ur hotel and lunch is included which isnt too bad, althought u have to pay for ur drinks so dont forget too take money. they advise you not too bring cameras on the safari so we didnt as we thought it would get ruined and we took a disposable, however we wish we had taken ours to take loasd of photos as there were other people who did and it was fine in the case, and tucked away in a bag !
make sure you take loads of spending money, everything is so cheap and i spent loads of money but wished i brought more because there were loads of things i wanted!
the food and drinks at the hotel i would say were very good.. normally i put on loads of weight on holiday but didnt this time as stuck to 3 meals a day, and had a few ice creams when we were there but that was about it.. the bar staff were really friendly and we made friends with them all and that, got them all on facebook now haha. drinks were good i would definatley reccomend going all inclusive.. unlimited cocktails, the main ones everyone was drinking were;sex on the beach, sex in the garden, blue lagoons, and then they do coke fanta sprite and all that u can mix with vodka and they have peach scnapps which we drank quite a bit.
if i went back i would go for longer ( we went for a week ) as we didnt get too do everything we wanted.. for example there is a water park just down the road and there were loads more day trips to be done!
all in all i loved this holiday there was enough time to do a bit of everything.. relaxing by the pool, drinking at night, shopping in the day it was just ace :) + i cant wait to go back ! haha.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xmegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My husband and I have just got back from marmaris and we had a fantastic time. We arrived at 4am in the morning and had a hassle free check in and were escorted to our room by a very friendly bell boy. Room was superb, very modern and very very clean. We were on the second floor over looking another hotels pool so had a nice view aswell. Room maids come daily and clean rooms, towels, sheets etc and leave you clean towels also for your lounger each day.
Food - Excellent selection, so much lovely food to choose from, snack pool bar at lunch times served nice pizza, pasta, chips etc and evening meals were superb too. Soups were lovely.
Staff - Very very friendly, really go out of their way to help and make you feel welcome. We got friendly with one chap who came to chat to us every day.
Pools - Very clean and spacious, plenty of sunbeds although some people do tend to go down early and reserve beds in favourite spots so we did the same in the end.
Beach - Beach is nice although they dont have nice golden sand, its more pebbley and black in some areas so we spent most time in and around the pool. Lovely to walk along the beach front by night as there is so much nightlife, hundreds of bars and restaurants to try.
Local amenities - Loads of shops selling leather and souveniers etc, little pushy to get you in but then they are all like that everywhere you go. Trips to the local market only a few quid which is also a good day out to buy any gifts etc.
Entertainment at the hotel is the only thing that was poor. Although they have plenty of sporty activities by day, the evening is not so good. They did have an English lady singing on the last night we were there who was very good and we did stay to listen but the other nights werent all that good at all. Please dont let that put you off though as on a whole the holiday was fantastic and we would definately go there again and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WotoGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This hotel was sold to us by Thomas Cook as a 5star hotel beleive me it is not and never will be a 5 star hotel. The bar staff can only make 3 cocktails i.e a Blue Lagoon, Red Lagoon and Sex on the Beach, all the drinks are watered down including coke, sprite ect. The breakfast is a sad affair come to think about it all the food was shocking and i'm not a fussy eater. When you arrive at this hotel they give you two small bottles of water in your room and thats it, if you want more you have to pay for it.The water slide is only open for 2 hours a day 11-12 and 3-4, if you want to use the gym you have to pay for it, the spa charge between £40-£60 for a Turkish bath and massage you can get the same from the hotel up the street for £6. The entertainment in this hotel is shocking and the animation team need a bullet up the ****. If you are in the rooms on the front of the hotel the road in noisy and the Man callling the Muslums to prayer starts at 5am every morning and this goes on 5 time a day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrunhappy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#15 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#25 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium

Property: SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Address: Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#11 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished for the 2015 season, SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium provides a relaxing atmosphere for the whole family. Guests will enjoy stylish rooms, new digital features of Touch Screen TV's and free Internet points throughout the hotel as well as experiencing the more traditional holiday. Children can enjoy activities in the Lollo & Bernie Kids Club and for teenagers there is the ConnectTeen Lounge (a cool place to hang out). The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout enabling all guests to stay connected to family and friends home and abroad. Our guests can also enjoy the stunning seaviews when using the private beach facilities of our sister hotel, Ideal Prime Beach, located a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ideal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing