We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Ranked #17 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We are just back from 11 days at the Grand Ideal in Marmaris and had a lovely relaxing holiday. The staff bar, resturant and cleaners could not have been friendlier, food was excellent, good variety and well presented The hotel was also spotless.. We especially enjoyed using the' Quiet Room' as we called it which was for reading, card games etc. and was beautifully decorated.
It was in an ideal location, near the beach, on the local bus route, which was a great experience in itself.
Overall it was an excellent holiday and I can not recommend it enough, anyone who has complaints about hotel must be very hard to please.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mritchie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,323)
There are newer reviews for SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,894 - 1,900 of 2,323 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2010

After a 10 delay and the 2 hour coach trip was very happy when we seen this hotel. Had a great week there. Everything was great... Turkish bath is fantastic. Bar Staff very friendly helpful work really hard same in the resturant go out of there way to have a chat with you. Food great best ever had in an all inclusive hotel. Entainment cheesy but a good laugh for all. All in all a great hoilday and would 100% return next year. We want to go back now

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellybrooks87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We returned the weekend from the Grand Ideal and found it hard to leave. The staff were great, always friendly and helpful.
Room was lovely and big and cleaned evryday with fresh towels.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xAshliex7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

When my girlfriend and I booked our late deal to jet away for some sun, we totally did not expect the hotel to be anywhere near as good as the Grand Ideal. When we 1st arrived in Marmaris, I said 'oh that hotel looks really nice'......'that's our hotel!', my girlfriend responded! After this initial reaction, I found this hotel to be one of, if not the best, looking hotel in the resort.

The transfer to the hotel was a little longer than we had hoped, 1.5 hours (although we did stop for a comfort break, which had a really good value fast food restaurant, and shop within). The reception staff were very efficient and polite, and a bell boy took our luggage to be delivered to our room while we had dinner (we arrived at 9pm, just in time, as the buffet ends at 9.30pm). On our return to our room from dinner, we were a little disappointed to see our bags had been left outside our room, which seemed quite careless, as there were many valuables within them.

The food in the hotel was really way beyond our expectations (don't listen to anyone that knocks it!). Firstly, breakfast, all the usual you would expect, including some seemingly Turkish food, and the usual continental attempt at cooked breakfast (although never quite successful!). Sadly, for my waistline, I became addicted to the pancakes and waffles, drizzled in what seemed to be a mix of golden syrup and honey.....yum!

We ate lunch by the pool each day (so sadly we didn't experience the buffet lunch indoors, although this seemed to be on a par with dinner). The poolside buffet included pasta, pizza, Turkish bread (The one with spicy potato inside is AMAZING!!), burgers, chips, etc. Most of this was made fresh right in front of you, and tasted all the better for it.

The choice of food during dinner was excellent, and you were usually spoiled for choice, and left was a satisfying bloated feeling in your stomach afterwards! The desserts were deliciously sweet, with custard filled sponge cakes being a particular favourite of mine. Overall, you could really tell that the chefs and kitchen staff took great pride over the quality and presentation of their food. I really couldn't praise them enough for this.

The room itself was a little small and basic, but with the brilliant sunshine and heat outside, you really had no reason to stay in your room any longer than you needed to. Our room was on the 2nd floor, with a view overlooking the pool, and beyond that, the sea. We couldn't have asked for better in that respect.

The pool was also excellent, and was 1.5m deep all round, meaning there were very few, if any small children about. Sun loungers were plentiful, although it did pay to come down early in the morning (around 8am), to get one in a good spot. There is also a slide at the end of the pool, which is on 3 times and day, and a small baby pool for the rugrats. The bar is right next to the pool, where you can get beer, cocktails, wine and soft drinks all day long (although the soft drinks come in thimble sized cups, and the refused to serve them in anything bigger, which was a bit annoying).

Entertainment. Hmmm. A pretty liberal use of the word from the hotel on that one. I have had more entertainment in the dentists chair than some of the displays put on by the team. The majority of these involved them miming along to music for hours on end, and the only thing keeping you there was the free drink! However, when Gizmo was on stage, she is hilarious, and if they did more audience participation, and more Gizmo, the entertainment would be excellent.

Finally, the staff were really good. Always happy to help (although some do look a bit grumpy on the surface!). The best was 'Thomas' (apparently the English translation of his name), he was always really happy to see us, and loved trying to crack a joke!

If you want a simple holiday in the sun, and to relax for a week or two, just book it, you won't regret it!!! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrifleTrifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The Grand Ideal is a lovely hotel and would recommend it to anybody. The location is great, situated near the beach and a lovely walk down to Marmaris old town full of shops and bars. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable with classy decor throughout. while the rooms aren't spacious they are certainly good standard. The food is also very good, plenty of options for the adventurous eater and basic options for the not-so. Staff are all polite and friendly and make your stay pleasent. The only person we tried to avoid was the hotel photographer who hounded us to buy the pictures he had taken of us. We would also encourage people to do the cleopatra getaway and the vip gullet excursions, the jeep safari section of the cleopatra island day was especially fun. Brilliant holiday that we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeNlozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

stayed for 11 nights in september food excellent put on half a stone hotel so clean and staff always cleaning weather excellent best all inclusive hotel ive stayed in you could tell it was five star room lovely and very clean could not find a fault at all lobby area first class would have given it five star on rating put couldnt click on it hope to go again

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank lynn504076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Service was great - bar staff and waiting staff in restaurants were always checking if we were ok and seeing to all our needs. The room was lovely, had a big walk in power shower and the TV had a few english channels, which is always good! The location is just at the edge of Marmaris, not too far to walk into Marmaris Old Town and if you dont want to walk there's mini buses every 2 minutes (literally) which cost less than £1 each. The beach is a 3 minute walk, and is beautiful. The pool at the hotel is massive and there are hundreds of sunbeds around it, enough for everyone. Overall, absolutely loved the hotel and the holiday in general, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#23 of 234 in Marmaris
2,703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#21 of 234 in Marmaris
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium

Address: Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#10 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £61 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished for the 2015 season, SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium provides a relaxing atmosphere for the whole family. Guests will enjoy stylish rooms, new digital features of Touch Screen TV's and free Internet points throughout the hotel as well as experiencing the more traditional holiday. Children can enjoy activities in the Lollo & Bernie Kids Club and for teenagers there is the ConnectTeen Lounge (a cool place to hang out). The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout enabling all guests to stay connected to family and friends home and abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ideal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing