We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 233 Hotels in Marmaris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hard to better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Day 3 of our week here and felt just had to say how good a hotel this is.

Efficient and friendly staff, although not all speak much English - which adds to the interest for us. Spotlessly clean and the rooms are well serviced. Our chamber maid even does origami with our sheets & flowers to make the room look welcoming.

Mealtimes are a treat - fabulous food in terms of variety, quantity, taste and especially freshness. Teas, coffer, sandwiches (if you can fit any more in) are available all day. The only disappointment here are the fruit juices - which are reconstituted.

The grounds are spotless too and there's plenty of shade if you want it.

As for activities, so far we've sailed (there is a Dart catamaran that you can take out by the hour or pay for the week and you can take it out as many times as you want), done body balance, archery, aqua gym (bit too light), swum in the enclosed swimming area. We haven't had time for the cocktail making, poker tuition, music quiz.

We're not great ones for evening ents so can't really comment, but plenty of people take part. They look quite low key - which suits us, we're here to get away from noise!

All in all - we're having a brilliant time.

Room Tip: For us, the higher up the hill the better, better view, more breeze. But for anyone who can't d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanTriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    643
    223
    52
    12
See reviews for
168
2,462
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,094)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We've just had another terrific two weeks at the Marmaris Imperial having been tempted back there after our holiday last year. It was good then but in our view there have been some improvements. The variety of food and drink on offer was better and the all round performance of the staff would be hard to beat. You don't have to slip the waiters a tenner to get good service but you might try the odd word of Turkish here and there. They'll have a chuckle at your appalling pronunciation, tell you how to say it properly and teach you a few more words to practice. The Managers too seem very approachable and in our experience very good at what they do. On the entertainment front the standard of the musicians is light years better than last year. The jury is still out on Paul and Grace and their best efforts to promote a Hi Di Hi spirit around the pool with their very passable but presumably unintended attempts at re-creating Ted Bovis and Gladys Pugh (remember them ?). Full marks for effort though. Yes the place has still got lots of steps and it's in the middle of nowhere but it tells you all of that in the brochure. So if you're able bodied and want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LT170611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We spent a fortnight on an all-inclusive deal at the Marmaris Imperial hotel at the beginning of June. The location was stunning; the rooms and food were good, the entertainment was OK (not really our cup of tea), and the sun was hot, hot, hot!

We were after a beach hotel, and we got that, in spades. One of the most impressive features for sunbathing was the jetty which goes around the little peninsula that the main building of the hotel is built on; loungers are placed out all along, so you can sunbathe with the sea gently lapping underneath you. Fantastic! The only slightly negative point is that you have to get up early and put your towel on the loungers early; we were setting the alarm for 7am, putting the towels out and going back to bed for a bit. And we were never the first ones out there, either! If you don't like the boardwalk or the beach, there are hammocks slung between the trees at the front of the hotel, and plenty of loungers around the two pools.
There is a cordoned off bit of the sea which is safe to swim in, and manned by lifeguards. The sea was fantastic; so, so clean and clear, and you could spend ages looking at all the fishes that'll swim around you. They have no fear - and there's many different types to keep your interest.

The hotel itself is positioned around the bay from Marmaris proper; it's a dolmus ride into town (which is definitely the best way of getting around - it's 3.25 TL for a single trip, and the dolmus is roughly every half hour from the front gate). The views mean that you can see Marmaris lit up like Blackpool in the evening, but you're far away enough that you don't get any of the noise! Even if you're on the all-inclusive deal, it's worth going into Marmaris along the sea-front to sample some of the lovely restaurants in the early evening, and watch the sun go down on a terrace roof, drinking a nice chilled glass of something. Marmaris also has a wee fort which houses the museum, and a rather cool bazaar - where everything bar the jewellery and Turkish Delight is fake, but great fun to wander around. Don't forget to haggle!

The rooms are 4 to a villa, and the villas are dotted all over the wooded hill behind the main part of the hotel. This means that if your room is a high number, you'll have calves of iron by the end of the holiday! But, equally, you do get some fabulous views. Our room had a balcony overlooking the marina, which was delightful. The rooms have good air conditioning units, and a good sized shower in the en suite. Robes are provided, but they're a tad on the small side! Shampoo, soap and shower gel is supplied in dispensers, so no taking any cute bottles home! There's also a fridge, stocked with a bottle of water a day. Overall, a very comfy room, with solid amenities. It's also cleaned every day bar Sunday (you can request a Sunday cleaning, too), and housekeeping are brilliant.

The food was good - there was enough salad to sink a battleship, all of it fresh and interesting. (mmm..... cucumber salad with dill) The kitchen gardens are marvellous, with herbs grown here used in the cooking. It's in a buffet style for all meals. If you are unadventurous, you can have chips every day; I recommend building up a meze platter and enjoying something more interesting! The breads are remarkably fresh, and the pitta bread is sublime. As part of the all inclusive, you can dine once a week at the terrace restaurant, which does a small Turkish menu. I'd highly recommend this, as the food was gorgeous. (However, you can only book that from Guest Services in Reception, for about an hour in the morning - take note!)
There is also a couple of snack bars; we only used one near where we used to sunbathe, but they did the most amazing Turkish pancakes - nomnomnom!
The all inclusive does include a lot of local drinks, which were perfectly palatable. A couple of Turkisk G&Ts, and you won't mind what you're drinking after that! The local rose wine was very quaffable when ice cold. And the Efes beer is a standard - lush!

The resort boasts a spa; we did not use this, as the prices were exorbitant. I refuse to pay more for a massage on holiday than I would at home. This is a real shame, as the presence of a spa was one of the reasons for choosing this hotel.

The water sports were also very expensive (the joys of a captive market), so my husband did not avail himself of those, either.

However, I would recommend the water taxi to Icmeler market, which was a lovely few hours out. It leaves from the jetty, and you book at the water sports office.

There is also a small open-air amphitheatre, which usually has something on every night. It's rather lovely to have dinner, then finish up the evening by watching a film with the stars coming out above you.

You are supplied with two beach towels on your arrival; these can be replaced daily. I have a gripe in that the towel station seemed to be open at hours to suit the staff, not the guests. The first week, it was only open from 5pm until 6; in the second week, from 8am until 10. I would expect it to be open all day.

A couple of things: take plenty of high factor sun cream with you - you'll need it! And lots of Jungle Formula for the beasties. As the resort is on a wooded hill, there are lots of little bitey insects around in the dusk, and some huge hornets. It's best to keep the balcony doors shut. However, this is easily overcome with a liberal useage of Deet!

Overall, this was a thoroughly enjoyable beach holiday, relaxing with plenty of food and drink. The negative points I've noted above were niggles rather than deal-breakers, and maybe should be looked at for future seasons. We will seriously consider coming back, as it's only 4 1/2 hours flight from Edinburgh (direct flight!), and wasn't outrageously priced. A good holiday, with lots of good features.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tash13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just returned from a very pleasant stay and I would recommend the hotel to anyone except those with walking difficulties (although buggies are available to take/fetch you from your room). We had room 124 which was close to reception so not troubled by the steps. We had no issue getting a sun lounger on the beach or at the pools at 9.00am most days, but if you want the best spots you will need to be up at about 8.00am. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful, the food was very plentiful and of good quality, we never struggled to find something we liked. Wine topped up regularly at the table and beer available from a self service pump as well as at the bar. Local spirits only on the AI but these were not to bad with a mixer and plenty of cocktails to choose from. The entertainment was iffy at times and not to well organized by Paul who thought he was the man! - but Grace was lovely and had a great voice. The water sports were excellent with the canoes free, we also did the Sunset speed boat trip which was lovely, well worth doing. The hotel was also spotlessly clean. Plenty of free bottles of water available all around the hotel and beach. Tea & coffee also available all day, including down on the beach at the beach bar. All in all a very nice hotel and far enough away from any other hotel to feel as if you are on island. Marmaris is a about a 15 min bus ride away, only 3.25TL (about £1.20) each from outside the hotel gate.

Room Tip: Ask for room No's 113 to 128 if you want to avoid the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SevandSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our first AI holiday and we LOVED it. The Marmaris Imperial was a lovely hotel with excellent local staff for the most part. The food was out of this world and they really tried to change things on a nightly basis food wise. The cakes were my favourite.

The rooms were very nice and cleaned daily except Sundays unless you request it.

The waiters in the restaurant weren't the best to be honest as they mainly concentrated on the older guests/couples for end of holiday tips and ignored the younger couples. We got our own drinks in the restaurant 95% as it took too long to be served by the waiters as they were all over the more elderly guests. That is the only downside of the hotel and we didn't mind getting our own drinks as it saved us tipping the waiters in the end.

Wouldn't drop any points for this as wasn't that bothered its just funny more than anything as we normally tip large amounts wherever we go and didn't need to tip the restaurant waiters.

The Breeze bar waiters were very good and very friendly and spoke more english than the restaurant waiters. They had a good selection of drinks and were pretty quick with a few self serve outlets for beer and punch if that's all you wanted.

The all inclusive finishes at 12 and pretty much the bar shuts down, even though you can pay for your own drinks they don't seem keen as want to go to bed so don't expect to get served much after 12.

The location in perfect and there are so many places to sunbathe.

The reps weren't very good here although Vicki from Wales was one of the best of the bunch as she actually spoke to you, sat with you and generally chatted. I think she was more the entertainment rep but did a good job where as the rest wouldn't give you the time of day or even bother to say hi (this is even after we attended the welcome meeting and bought trips)

A point to note is that some of the reps bad mouth you behind your back, one couple while we were there got their keys stolen from their bag while unattended and got robbed as they left their safe key there also. One of the reps Paul was happy to bad mouth the guests that got robbed to other guests saying they should of known better and all their fault. (No sympathy shown at all and mainly just mocking them for being to trusting I would assume.)

Don't leave your bags unattended anyway as its common sense as you cant trust everyone.

The VIP boat cruise was amazing and well run, the food was brilliant and the boat staff helpful and knowledgeable.

The Marmaris evening shopper is to be avoided at all costs as its a CON! The brochure promises a boat trip from the hotel to Marmaris and then shopping. The reps promise the same but with a visit to a few different places including a Turkish delight factory, leather and gold centre.

The reality is you get picked up by a minibus, driven to a leather warehouse - locked in for a good 30 minutes and if you find out how to escape you have to then wait 1 hour plus outside in 3040 degree heat on the rest of the guests buying leathers or trying to escape. After 1 hour 30 minutes we complained to the guide and we ended up just being taken to Marmaris as we found out the guests already on the coach from other hotels had already been to the Turkish Delight factory so we didn't get to go.

Also the hotel transfer coach stopped at some Bazaar for 15 minutes when taking us from the airport (I'm assuming for commission reasons for the rep/driver) and on thew way back to the airport we were running 1 hour late and he did it again. No transfer rep on way to airport. Seemingly it shouldn't stop there as we are supposed to go direct to the hotel so if they try it just collar the rep and tell them so.

Overall we loved the holiday, hotel but a shame some of the Thomson reps weren't up to much and some of the trips are misleading. We will be back and will know what to expect a bit more next year.

Room Tip: Aim for a lower number if you don't like stairs. We had a 400 room and the stairs weren't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TartanGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I always try to give the best possible review (in my opinion) and I know that my views are not reflected by everyone who adds to Tripadvisor.
On this particular occasion, my wife and I have spent 2 weeks at the Imperial and have had a great time. however there were some issues that the reception staff either ignored or couldn't be bothered sorting out.
Firstly can I just say that the reviews from others regarding the Food and the standard of the hotel being of a very good standard are spot on. There was loads of choice at every meal and we never went hungry.
The bar staff, in most cases, are very pleasant and will always smile and have a chat. There were some though who were quite rude and again couldn't be bothered!!
Daytime entertainment was practically non-existant, with only a quiz by the pool at 3pm.
Evening entertainment was as standard in most resorts and finished at 10.30pm.
The all-inclusive bar stops at midnight and everything after that has to be paid for (rip-off)
We had to change room after the first week as there was a very nasty smell in the room and it was starting transfer onto our clothes. It took 4 days to get this sorted out and the reps and staff weren't very forthcoming with a decent solution.
In the end an official complaint was lodged and we are awaiting a response.

Room Tip: Opt for one of the 400's they are up the hill but there is a shuttle buggy that will transfer yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TrevEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel. Just got back after spending a week there. Peaceful, stunning scenery. Room lovely, clean, kingsize bed. Had a great view from our balcony, overlooked marina. Staff friendly, service efficient, good choice of food & alcoholic drinks. 2 pools, we tended to go to activity pool as most of the entertainment based around it, they have daily quiz & water polo matches. Evening entertainment pretty good. Hotel is lovely, rooms in bungalow style, we had quiet a steep walk up to our room but the view was worth it. Would definitely consider going back there, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WirralLola12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
3.7 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
3.8 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#11 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
4.0 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 233 in Marmaris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel

Property: TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel
Address: Adaagzi Mevkii | Yalanci Bogaz, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Marmaris Imperial Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marmaris
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#29 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Life Hotel Marmaris
Magic Life Marmaris
Marmaris Magic Life Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing