We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury!”
Review of Hotel Marbella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marmaris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Marbella
Ranked #4 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
midlands, birmingham.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pure Luxury!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my partner (24, 25) have just returned from an amazing stay at the Marbella for a week. We were initially very apprehensive as this was our first visit to Turkey- if you are on the fence about visiting the country go for it!

Before arrival we emailed the hotel and requested a sea view, high floor and we were lucky enough to be given this! We stayed in room 411 (top floor), which overlooked the sea and the pool bar directly below. The views really are stunning. We booked with Thomson and as I understand these are the only uk agent that you can directly book a sea view room with-Thomas Cook do not offer this as an option. Its worth paying the extra to ensure you get a sea view room.

The hotel couldn't be located any more perfectly. Right on the beach front and further enough away from the busy town of Marmaris to be peaceful and very close to the quieter Ichemeler. You can easily catch a dolmus for 2.50TL into either towns, or take a leisurely walk. (Around an hour to Ichemeler and 30 mins to Marmaris I was told.)

We stayed on a half board basis, which included breakfast and evening dinner. (Breakfast was served 7:00-10:00am and dinner 7:30-10:00pm) Whilst we enjoyed the breakfast we did find there was a lack of English food (ie bacon sausage etc..) however they will cook you fresh omelettes/eggs on request and we adequately found enough food we liked. Evening meal was very much the same, quite repetitive and continental, however there is plenty to eat comfortably. We ate out 4/7 nights during our stay and for this reason would probably return on a B&B basis. There are ALOT of lovely restaurants a stones throw away from the hotel, simply too much in my opinion not to try! (Try Mr Ali's next door yum!) The food along the promenade is reasonably priced and most a lot cheaper than the UK. Its worth getting a quote for half board if you are thinking about going B&B as we only paid a nominal fee to upgrade to half board when booking and even if you eat at the hotel 2/3 nights I feel we got our moneys worth anyway.

Rooms are very clean and modern and as everyone has mentioned the shower is outstanding! Cleaners work very hard and change towels and clean your room everyday without fail. Balcony also very clean and spacious. The top floor has no 'roof', which makes it appear a lot bigger. The AC is free of charge and very good!- to the point where we had to turn it off at night as it did get chilly.

The hotel itself has an smallish pool, however plenty big enough for the hotel and it never felt crowded. We often had the pool to ourselves. The hotel has a private section of the beach and its own jetty, you can easily find a sunbed/parasol free of charge and you even get your own beach waiter who works very hard all day running around providing us with drinks! We always found sunbeds by the pool also even though there doesn't appear to be a lot of beds at first glance. Its best to grab a sunbed furthest away from the pool as these get more sun later on in the day.

Meals at the pool bar were very nice and cheap. The pizza was delicious! We never ate at the Al a carte restaurant but heard good things.

I'd definitely recommend having a Turkish bath in sister hotel Sunrise at the start of your holiday. This was around £30 pp but was definitely a nice treat and makes your skin feel amazing. There are a lot of places offering 'cheap' Turkish baths but check it out before you book as we'd heard some places aren't so hygienic! The spa at the Sunrise hotel is lovely and spotlessly clean.

We did a few trips during out stay booked through our Thomson Rep. We first did the VIP Blue Cruise which we found to be average. We found It was a very long day on the boat (7 hours) and it felt quite crowded even though there were only around 30 of us on there. The on board lunch was lovely though.

We also booked the Ichmeler market trip through Thomson and were somewhat disappointed. I would recommend getting your own way into the market (on a Weds) yourself on a dolmus/taxi and you are then not restricted on times/ returning by a coach.

Some tips: Towels can be rented out for 10TL pp per week which is returnable when you hand them back. There is also a hairdryer in the room, albeit not very powerful, but this might save you some luggage weight. Also, it is worth booking a private transfer from the airport to resort if you have the option- this would probably cut the transfer time by half as the coaches do stop off at a comfort break on the way.

Overall would definitely recommend this hotel and we are already looking to book for next year. One week isn't enough though!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor sea view- the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kezz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    50
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
85
326
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

firstly if u book this hotel u have a 50 50 chance of being put into the sister hotel along the toad , the sunrise , as what happened to us and were informed two daya before we left . we wetr get engaged there so were upset and gutted ! i complained loads and out of eight overbooked we were moved back to marbella . on arrival guess what, there was no sea view room which i paid for , and we spent two nites in a back view room , couldnt un pack , two days arguing , waitin for reps reply , emails back and forth ... the rep said this the norm as they are so popular !! sitting in the lobby many new arrivals told rooms not ready or they not staying there now .. read sunrise revews . thr hotel ia lovely granted if u get to stay there u will be happy , staff super hard workin its usless thomas cook basically dont wanna know u after u pay them . any more info on chelseaboyuk@yahoo.com

Helpful?
Thank Gaz W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at the Marbella Hotel for 11 nights commencing 22 August 2013. What a joy it was. The hotel was spotless, the staff friendly and helpful (in fact couldn't do enough for you) and the hotel itself was ideally positioned, right on the beach. The hotel is fairly small, has 84 rooms, but this just adds to the personal touch they offer. I would recommend a sea view room (personally any of the rooms 07 - 14 on any of the floors would be fine (we stayed in room 114)), although others on trip advisor have seemed content with other rooms also. The non sea view rooms face the adjacent hotel, which is quite close, at the rear of the hotel, so best avoided. Pay the extra, you won't regret it. The food, (we were half board) although not that varied, had more than enough choices to keep us interested for the duration of our stay and the quality was exceptional.
The hotel is a 3 star. I can only assume it's low(ish) rating is due to the fact that it is quite small, and the swimming pool is again quite small. However, the latter is not a problem as the beach is immediately in front of the hotel, 5 metres from the lobby and is solely for the use of the hotel guests. The beds and umbrellas are free to use. The hotel in our opinion is a 4+ star hotel.
We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view rooms. Rooms 111 to 116 are above the dining room so it can be a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lothian
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Having just returned from the marbella hotel which we booked through ( MITCHELLS TOURS ) who are a specialist in holidays to turkey..we can honestly say that this is the best hotel that we have ever stayed at in marmaris..

The staff are the friendliest that i have personally experienced at any hotel..my wife,my daughter and myself were booked in for two weeks on a bed and breakfast saty for 14 nights and can again honestly say that the breakfast was well worth a mention as the choices available would cater to most if not all tastes.

We had lunch at the hotel most days and had dinner on the jetty on a couple of occasions and again had no complaints as the meals were all reasonably priced and very good food..although i would not stay here on a half board basis as i think there are too many places in marmaris that you can have a very good meal at very good prices.

We had no problems getting a sun lounger at the pool at any time even though the hotel was full,the pool area was a good place to be during the day as the waiters were always on hand and ever willing to help and serve the guests.

A special mention must go to the cleaning staff at the hotel as the detail to which these cleaners work is unbelieveable,fresh bed linen every day and every piece of glass in the room and balcony is polished every day...what a job the cleaning staff do.

We stayed from the middle of august until the start of september and have already booked to return at the same time in 2014...the first time i have personally booked to return to the same hotel/resort....for me it was that good...the location of the hotel is ideal being on the beach,for me the hotel marbella has the full package that i personally look for....WELL DONE MITCHELLS TOURS........HERE`S TO TURKEY 2014 ......

Room Tip: sea view rooms offer a fantastic view....room 121 has the biggest balcony but faces the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I think it has all been said before and it is all true. So I will just try to add some helpful (hopefully) comments that I found when I arrived.
Choosing the rooms - the hotel is on a slight corner, there are 4 floors. The 4th floor balconies have no roof above so it is more like a sun terrace, in high season it can be very hot, too hot to sit out till late afternoon. If you look at the hotel pictured from the sea, rooms 01-05 are on the left above the a la carte restaurant with views towards Icmeler, these are quieter during the day. Rooms 06 & 07 are in the round central tower these rooms are larger family rooms. Rooms 08-16 are above the pool (music all day) and with views towards Marmaris. We stayed in room 201 which is a metre longer as the door faces down the corridor, so the corridor space is in your room, the 01 rooms also have a side window giving you a lateral sea view and a view of the Grand Azur Hotel gardens next door. All of these rooms have Sun from morning till around 5pm when the Sun is at the rear of the hotel putting the pool and front rooms in shade from that time. This makes it a pleasant place to read a book and have a relaxing drink at that time. All the rooms higher than 17 have rear views overlooking the breakfast terrace and the pool of the hotel at the rear of the Marbella but will get evening sun. Rooms ending 17 and maybe 18 will be efffected by a large tree from this adjacent hotel which almost touches the balconies. Noise is inescapable as you are in a densely populated strip, if you are above the pool then you will get noise from there if you are in 01-05 you will get noise from the Grand Azur hotel next door. There is recorded music every night with live bands on alternate nights so if a band is playing in Marbella then the next night Grand Azur will hve a live band etc.This all stops at midninght so not too uncivilised.
The rooms are good as has been said, I would have preferred a few more shelves/flat surfaces in both the room and bathroom but generally it was OK. Somebody mentioned complimentary tea & coffee and a kettle, be aware that this is only a welcome pack and is not replenished each day as it would be in the UK. If you want coffee every day in your room then make your own arrangements. Despite the hotel and cleaners having these sachets they were not willing to sell them instead suggesting you got them at Migros but we never found any.
The pool is small as many have said but the beach is right there and you benefit from a cooling breeze, waiter service for your drinks from Ferhan and no music. Hotel states it has separate kiddies pool, while I am sure this is legal be aware that it is only 1 metre square. Sunbeds, Lilos and parasols are free of charge to hotel guests but are rented to non hotel guests, despite this we never had to reserve a bed as plenty were always available. We took our wet shoes having read reviews saying it was a stony beach, it is a sandy/shingly beach with larger pebbles for the first two metres in the sea but we never used the shoes as it was not that bad, you will need to wear your flip flops to the sea's edge because the sand is too hot anyway. A lot has been said about the work done to replace the beds on the jetty to turn it into an evening restaurant and removing the wicker chairs from the pool to replace with lounge chairs for the evening. This breaks both ways though because as you are sitting there trying to relax there is a constant hive of activity from 4pm onwards as first cushions then beds are removed and stacked around you. The pool bar floor is swept with an industrial cleaning machine around 5pm which effectively makes the pool bar out of action just when you are coming from the beach and might like to relax and unwind with a cold beer. In this case you can go two doors away to Sisters steakhouse where you can also watch all English and European football on multiple large screens.

Room Tip: Sea views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry_St_Clair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel at the end of July 2013 and loved it. Due to delays at the airport we arrived late on the first night and so missed our evening meal. For this (even though it was not their fault) the hotel gave us a free meal for a different day, so made a very good first impression! They then checked us in quickly and give us all the necessary information, and carried our bags to our room for us- they could not have been more helpful! There was wine and little treats in our room for us when we got there aswell. The rooms are really nice; very modern and stylish. Good AC which is a must as the nights are so hot!

Breakfast is amazing here; they cook omelettes fresh and the cooked breakfast is really good quality, not what you would usually get from a three star hotel. They also have a wide selection of fruit and cereals. The choice with evening meals is much more restricted. It is all high quality, hence fewer selections. If you are a fussy eater I would not recommend going half board as there is no basic food (i.e. chips) to fall back on.

The pool area is small but doesn't really need to be any bigger as it over looks the beach, and so there are plenty of loungers there free to hotel Marbella customers. I did not struggle to get a sunbed any day I was there.

I would also recommend going to the sister hotel, Sunrise, for a Turkish Bath. I paid 90 lira, around £30, for a full body massage, foam massage, facial and a scrub. This is more expensive than some you will see advertised on the strip as they are professionals and you are treated just with your party- not several others. The ones on the strip take a large group of people, and who knows who is giving you your massage!

All in all, amazing hotel and amazing staff who will do anything to help you! I don't think it is suitable for children though, as I didn't see any entertainment/club activities in the evening, but that could be because I wasn't searching for it.

Room Tip: Pay extra to overlook the beach! Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in Marbella hotel for two weeks in July-August 2013 on a half-board basis. This hotel is really very good value for money. Perhaps I would straggle to find any bad points about it.

Even though it is only a three star hotel, you would definitely not find better service in a five star hotels. The cleanliness of any part of the hotel is immaculate. I think rooms are on a small side, but adequate. The bathroom is very nice and modern, very comfortable too. I think they changed sheets every day, even though they were clean.

It is definitely worth having a sea view room. You do not pay that much extra for it, but the advantage is great: the view from the balcony is the best you can get ever in a hotel. Our room number was 202. The best view you will get in rooms number from 01 to 06, because only these once overlook only the beach, sea and promenade. The rooms number 07 to 16 are the sea view rooms too, but they overlook as well the pool and bar, which to me spoils it.

The food at the hotel is very good. Breakfast gets a bit repetitive over two weeks, but the evening meals have more varieties and differ from night to night. The food is always very fresh and tasty; I am sure even the pickiest eaters would be satisfied. I would definitely recommend choosing the half-board option because it’s the best value for money. It only cost us extra £80 for three of us for two weeks, whereas if you want to have the same buffet meal and pay on the day it would cost 40 TL (£14) each.

There are always plenty of sun beds around the pool area or on the beach and they are free. The pool is small, but who cares if the beach is only five meters away. The beach is man-made, not tidal with black coarse sand/shingle and rather narrow, with only three rows of sun beds. You cannot paddle along the beach because the first row of sun beds is just touching the water and there is no room for walking. I am afraid that these types of beaches are in the whole of Marmaris. Even the best beach of them all – Nirvana beach in Icmeler –is still the same. However, Nirvana beach is definitely better because there are no hotels behind it, but a hill covered with pine trees- very beautiful. I would recommend visiting it.

I would recommend doing some trips. There are plenty to choose from and they all are very cheap (of course if you book it locally, not through your Thompson rep). We did Day boat trip, Dalyan, Jeep safari, Horse safari and Hisaronu Bay. We liked all of them. The best was Hisaronu Bay. They take you to Aegean Sea, which is completely unspoiled by tourism; the views are stunning there. We were on a boat called ROMEO. From all our trips this was the only one which was not crowded and there were unlimited free drinks on the boat. Many thanks to the guide and entertainer on the boat Misha for making our trip full of fun too. All other trips were very good too, but they all were much, much more commercial. For example to Dalyan we went on boat called ORCA, which was a good boat, but people were packed like sardines there, but it was not expensive.

Overall we had a very good time. The only reason why I give this hotel 4* review is because we could not go to bed until after midnight. And this was not even the fault of Marbella hotel, but the hotel next-door Grand Azur. Every night they had very loud live band playing in their beach restaurant, which is only 20m away from Marbella. It was just impossible to sleep. The music would only stop at 12 midnight. I understand that most people would probably not go to bed before midnight on holiday anyway, then it would be not a problem for them, but we like going to bed earlier and getting up earlier, which was impossible there.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARINA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.6 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Club Anastasia
Club Anastasia
#6 of 234 in Marmaris
1,960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#28 of 234 in Marmaris
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marbella

Property: Hotel Marbella
Address: Uzunyali Siteler Mevkii Siteler Mah. 254. Sok. No:5, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#12 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Marbella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing