We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”
Review of Tropikal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropikal Hotel
Ranked #58 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

In fact, we happened to stay at this hotel by chance. The thing was the neighboring Flamingo hotel we had actually booked had not been open by the time of our arrival to Marmaris. Thus our travel agency offered us three night stay at Tropikal.
We got a nice room with balcony and magnificent front sea view. The room seemed to be recently renovated and it was quite cozy.
The own territory of the hotel is not big but green due to palms and other tropical trees around the pool area.
We liked the location of Tropikal very much. It seems to be right between the noisy centre of Marmaris and quiet Icmeler, about 40-50 min to walk.
The hotel worked on all inclusive basis. The food was quite tasty. A nice surprise for us was that they offered dry red wine of really good quality what is not often for all inclusive hotels.
The hotel staff are friendly people, most of them can speak English.
To conclude, I should say I would recommend the hotel for those looking for not too luxury but comfortable stay in Marmaris.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maxx_smart_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    86
    30
    6
    9
See reviews for
77
78
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We have just returned from 2 great weeks in the tropical hotel marmaris. Hotel transfer from airport not bad we only took 2 hours, with half hour stop, some people complained theirs was much longer. Arrived early hours, but awoke that morning with stunning views of the sea and hills and a beautiful swimming pool and watched the sun come up. The hotel is spotlessly clean staff very friendly, only downful, no entertainment as they no longer have a licence.This didn't spoil our holiday as we would always take a stroll after dinner into marmaris or Icmeler and if you want you can shop until midnight!! Went to Rhodes and Pammucale, which were great and finished the holiday with a good night out at the Talk of the town. Good tip, don't change money to lire before you go- better rate out there and don't pay for trips with First choice with lire, pay in sterling as much cheaper. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, despite weather poor for our second week. Wouldn't recommend this hotel for children as nothing for them to do. Beds are hard, but talking to others in other hotels this is normal in Turkey.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 315939Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Tropikal Hotel. The Hotel is in a good location - the hustle & bustle of Marmaris & the quieter village of Iclemer are both easily reached in different directions within 30/40 minutes as a gentle stroll. ROOMS - If you are booking a 'Land View' room beware.. the land view includes overlooking the very busy main road right outside your bedroom window. There is double glazing but this is not soundproofed. We arrived at 6.30AM and crashed out in the room, but the noise was so loud we asked to be moved. We had to stay 2 nights in the landview room before being moved. The upgrade had to be paid for which the reception staff kept reminding us of this fact. The room with the pool, sea view & balcony were much nicer and quiet. BEDS - these are very firm & the pillows even more so. I ended up using folded bed covers to put on the beds to sleep on to make them a little more comfortable. SHOWER - hot and powerful, but it can take a long time for the water to drain away. FOOD - Always a good selection, but it can be a similar mixture every night, and it's not always very hot even when the restaurant had just opened. Salad is plentiful & fresh. Pudding - not their strong point! BAR - self service for soft drinks all day & night, plastic beakers for around the pool & if you are going on to the beach. Local beers & spirits are very good. The cut off for all-inc drinks is 11pm ON THE DOT, even if you are half way being served a round of drinks. We hooked up with 2 other couples; 3 drinks were served, but the other 3 weren't as it had gone 11pm. We had to speak to the manager who grudgingly served the other 3 drinks, but they were firmly placed on the table... BEACH - nice, small pebbles and kept clean. The sun bed man was friendly & always provided mattresses if you wanted for 3TL each. You do get hassled by beach sellers offering you grapes. They will even wake you up to flog them to you! Sea is clean and inviting and you can feed the small fish if you take some bread with you!
STAFF - Bar & restaurant staff generally very good. The majority of guests are German & Russian and the staff were very friendly with them, but not so much with the English. The reception staff were a little frosty. We didn't use any of the spa facilities so can't comment on these. Overall, we were happy with the Hotel - a week to relax & unwind and that is exactly what we got.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairepeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Having been to the Tropical on B&B for many years,we went back again after they went all inclusive and was not impressed . Hotel was as good as ever,clean,friendly staff,the beer was not watered down and other drinks were good measure. Breakfast was good but the main meals were a let down,bland and almost the same every day. The evening meal times were to early ( 7to 9) We are to used to B&B and finding our own meals outside. Will not go back next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flightman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

OK, first of all, let's get this straight - Tropical (or Tropikal as they sometimes write it) Hotel is officially a 4 star hotel. However, it's a little bit far-fetched. In reality, this is a 3 star hotel, and a good one at that. So, if you (and you should) think of it as a nice 3 star hotel you won't be disappointed at all.

We were there in the beginning of September and, if you haven't been in Turkey before, that's the best period to visit. Water is warm and, although it's still hot (30-37C) it's quite enjoyable because it's not humid. We were told that they had few really hot weeks prior to that (and I'm talking really hot, as in 45-47C) so be aware that July/August can be that way.

Hotel location is great, right on a beach and not in noisy downtown but still close enough so you can even walk to it (it's 4-5km, so very frequent dolmuşes are recommended if you are not much of a hiker). Hotel beach is ok, but it's gravel and small pebble and not sand which I prefer so it's a minus from me. Also, parasols/sunshades are quite small so have in mind that you will have to move around a lot if you want to avoid the sun. On a plus side, hotel bar is so close you can easily bring drinks and snacks to the beach.
They also have a pool of you are, for some inexplicable reason, into that.

Hotel is quiet, clean and nice but not very luxurious and that's ok because you are in Marmaris and not Hawaii and remember, it's a 3 star hotel. Rooms are also kept very clean and the sea view is great.
Important note: air conditioning is centralized and intermittent so you will have periods of warm to hot room. In all fairness, they tried to schedule those breaks presuming that you are out of room during them but still, it's a really bad and stupid idea and a big minus. Be smart and remove the key from a key card which you will leave in room unit. That way you will at least somewhat prolong the cooling although AC is quite weak.
Mini bar is just a tad below room temperature, and that should be fixed. Also, I've heard rumors that you should stay away from hairdryers as they tend to explode. No, really. Luckily, we had no such problems.
Beds are quite hard but I prefer that so no problem. You might feel different about that.

Staff is really super polite and they always try to be helpful and at your service. Nothing is too difficult for them and that should be commended. Speaking foreign languages (English, for example) is not their forte so be aware of that - most of the time they will just smile and nod a lot. You will have better luck at reception desk.

Food was good (lots of vegetables, salads and fruits) and varied (for a 3 star hotel that is; it is a bit repetitive - if you like pizza or french fries you will hate it by the end of the holiday, it's served every day. Sadly, you cannot say that about fish which was rare.) although it's Mediterranean-based, so there's not much bacon, sausages, beans and roasted meat but if you want eat that at 35C then... well, you will have to eat outside.

Entertainment is virtually non-existent and that's a really big plus from me although I'm aware there is a considerable number of people who will find the lack of animation unacceptable. Same thing goes for kids - you are on your own. However, I'm really thankful for not having to listen to drunken tourists trying to sing karaoke and dance around like demented bears. You can find plenty of pubs and bars for that.
So, hotel is quiet. No entertainment.

There is free WiFi internet (and some sort of internet cafe) but wireless is only available in hotel lobby and not in the rooms. That's a big minus in my book as for a few days we had to finish some business things and send some e-mails and it's kind of pain when you have to go to the lobby every time to do that.

So, what do we have here? Great location, clean rooms, beautiful water, good food, nice staff, interesting town. Sounds great and it really is. Sure, there are a few drawbacks and a few serious flaws but if you are aware of them and try to fix them beforehand, with just a bit of luck you can have a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nikola_simic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Actually I've been there twice, once in september 2007 and second time in october 2009 and we had a great time...

The hotel is clean, no problem in the bathroom or with the sheets, well positioned, with most of the rooms, if not all of them, with seaview...
Staff very frendly, speaking english, german and rushian... and well trained... everything by the book.
The pool is not that large, but is clean and, if you're alone, rather boooooring. go there with some friends and you'll like it.
The food is the best (i'm from romania, if you're a briton you might disagree... but not too much), plenty of vegetables, cakes, meat (chicken, pork, beef, fish), all fresh and very good...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gdragos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

hotel mainly looked after the german people better then the uk people.menu was mainley salards.you had to go out to eat if you wanted a meat dish.no entertainment at all ,at the hotel.hotel clean,but do not use hair dryer in the bathroom as they get hot,we had a great sea view from our room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#18 of 234 in Marmaris
2,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
#49 of 234 in Marmaris
313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#31 of 234 in Marmaris
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropikal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropikal Hotel

Property: Tropikal Hotel
Address: Kenan Evren Bulvari No:49, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#28 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#35 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropikal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Otel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropikal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmaris Hotel Tropical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing