We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paid for all inclusive but found ourselves eating out most evenings”
Review of Tropikal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropikal Hotel
Ranked #49 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

september 2011. This is the seventh time to Turkey and the first time i have been a little disappointed . The hotel is in a great location on the beach half way between Marmaris & Icmeler . Our room was ok with great views over the pool & sea .This place is 3 star at best but i was not worried about the basic decor .Most of the staff were polite and helpful especially the guy who looked after the beds on the beach.There was one exception an older man behind the bar who was grumpy and rude . i have been to many all inclusive hotels all having much better food than was served here . It was basic at best and after a few days we started eating out . The bar area by the pool was overlooking the beach and was shaded by the trees which i liked as it was very hot during the day .Drinks had to be paid for after 11pm which we knew about when we booked but as soon as 11pm came they tried to shut the bar as fast as they could .there was no music or entertainment at all not even a bit of background music. Most of the other guests were elderly and this hotel is set up for them . Nearly all the people we chatted with were unhappy with the lack of night life. Would i go back ?? perhaps when i'm over 70 .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Tropikal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

We booked here through First Choice/Thompson as it had '4 T's' on the Thompson rating system. Overall felt it was being oversold, it's a pleasant 3 star resort hotel but nothing more. Too expensive wih Thompson.

Good Points
Very friendly and helpful staff
well presented buffet- bit repetitive menu
Spotlessly clean

Bad Points
Dated looking decor and a bit tired looking in places
Lacking in luxury feel, hard bed and rough sheets
Gymnasium is a joke, dilapidated and no air-con
Had to pay extra for room safe
Not enough room around pool, sun loungers 'reserved' very early!

Room Tip: most get a lot of shade during the day except those on south side
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This hotel is not four star. So travel agents need to review their ratings. Strengths (based on 3 star rating) : Rooms spacious, ample wardrode space for 2 people per room, satisfactory bathroom size, strong shower, simply decorated, good size veranda, brilliant sea view, food going all day long (you never go hungry), good size swimming pool, quiet hotel, free from noisy music, lovely bar overlooking the beach, high chairs available for babies, friendly staff (not not all speak English), good location for shops, supermarket etc., Weaknesses: Rooms are not thoroughlly cleaned (we looked under the bed - found half inch dust/toe nails from previous guests!), pool sides need to be scrubbed, pool area (under sunbeds) needs to be cleaned daily, Food is basic, boring&repetative!, One evening chicken was not cooked properly and half raw!! Room furnishings are dated, room fridge hardly keeps your drinks cold, no plug in sinks, bath is old and you find bits of cement falling off, Air con is centrally controlled & not powerful. Reception is dark, there is a hotel shop but does not look inviting at all! Massage is poor (she spends more time on tweeking your face than your body). Location is great but beach in Marmaris is a BIG DISAPPOINTMENT - ITS GRITTY - PACKED AND NOT PRETTY! Icemeler beach looked much better. Turkish Food is a big let down - not as good as other Med food - not sure why hotel do not offer fresh fish - given they are next to the sea! Suggestion to the hotel : Have BBQ ever night (offer fresh fish, meat etc), refurbish the rooms & bathroom, offer proper safe deposit boxes in reception, lighten up the reception area, ensure under beds are hoovered after each guest leaves! Send your chef back to cooking school! Dont use the reception area for collecting dirty beach towels!! Its off putting. Find creative ways of promoting your massage, spa eg., information of prices in thr rooms, consider buy one get one free deals, Train your masseur please, Train your waiters to be more attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nazzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We have just come back from a week in the tropikal in marmaris,We have had the best family holiday ever,The hotel was spotless,staff are very friendly,And the food was OUTSTANDING,will be going back again in 2012,Very cheap to buy clothes and other goods would suggest taking GB Pounds as most of the shops will give you a much better deal for the £,We did the day trip to rhodes and this was a good day also although greece is some what expensive,

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for 11 days and on the whole it was very enjoyable. Our first impression of the room was "looked a bit basic".however, the gorgeous view from our balcony did make up for it. Yes the bed was firm but we found it very comfortable and clean, changed every day as were our towels.The only couple of things we would complain about were
1) tea making facilities would be nice
2)the 14" tv only had one english channel (euronews)
The food we found very good
All in all a very well run hotel very tidy very clean

Room Tip: It seems that all rooms have sea view as far as we could see
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maharajahDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Just came back from one week at hotel tropical with kids, ok the beds are a little hard and the aircon could be better but the staff are great, the rooms were much better than expected with outstanding veiws of sea and mountains and the food WOW, it was incredable.
If your looking for british food you will be disapointed but if you like a huge and diverse range of turkish dishes (like me) then you will love it.
Everything was spottlessly clean and the staff very helpfull
There was no entertainment and the kids got all little bored but you dont have to travel far to find something to occupy them.

I would go again....

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank toxicSquirell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

In fact, we happened to stay at this hotel by chance. The thing was the neighboring Flamingo hotel we had actually booked had not been open by the time of our arrival to Marmaris. Thus our travel agency offered us three night stay at Tropikal.
We got a nice room with balcony and magnificent front sea view. The room seemed to be recently renovated and it was quite cozy.
The own territory of the hotel is not big but green due to palms and other tropical trees around the pool area.
We liked the location of Tropikal very much. It seems to be right between the noisy centre of Marmaris and quiet Icmeler, about 40-50 min to walk.
The hotel worked on all inclusive basis. The food was quite tasty. A nice surprise for us was that they offered dry red wine of really good quality what is not often for all inclusive hotels.
The hotel staff are friendly people, most of them can speak English.
To conclude, I should say I would recommend the hotel for those looking for not too luxury but comfortable stay in Marmaris.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Maxx_smart_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
2,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#22 of 234 in Marmaris
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
#48 of 234 in Marmaris
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropikal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropikal Hotel

Address: Kenan Evren Bulvari No:49, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#27 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#35 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £39 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropikal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tropikal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmaris Hotel Tropical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing