We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You are just paying for the view!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropikal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropikal Hotel
Ranked #53 of 233 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You are just paying for the view!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Just came back from this hotel with my boyfriend its certainly not the place for young couples! We had a perfect view of the sea from our 3rd floor room,323 but the bed was made of stone and he had trouble sleeping most nights. We found the staff around the hotel extremly rude as the hotel is closing now for the season they didnt want to replace any stock they had run out of, we ran out of almeretto, soda and then lemonade during our stay (very poor) and the drinks choice was as basic as possible anyway. There was no evening entertainment and no music anywhere in the hotel! we listened to the neighbouring hotels entertainment mostly and went wondering along the beach to find entertainment. This holiday was a big bump, dnt think we shall be visiting again! Take note of the bad reports i wish we did!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher room for the best view and visit the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chezz1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    83
    26
    5
    8
See reviews for
69
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I have just returned from a 10 day holiday here which started on the 1st October. The weather was excellent even down to a splendid thunderstorm on our first night. The temperature was 32 degrees except for 1 cloudy day when it was 23 degrees.
For a 3 Star Hotel, the food was great. (I'm sure Thomson say its 4 Star but anyone that holidays abroad knows that means good 3 Star UK style accommodation) If you want A La Carte eveynight, then I suggest you go 5 Star, you get what you pay for. Also, if you are the type of person that wants cooked English breakfast every morning then I suggest you go to one of the local bars but if you don't mind trying new things then you will enjoy. (A TIP: if you want toast, turn the toaster up to setting 3 - you don't have to be a rocket scientist to work things out.
The hotel itself is geared towards couples, older guests and those wishing to relax. This is not the hotel for Party People, Thank God. I did hear some people say that they would prefer backround music by the bar but honestly I'm glad they don't as It's really chilled the way it is.
If you want a sunbed by the pool be prepared to get up early to put out your towel. This is normal procedure when holidaying abroad so don't be upset when you're up before 7 to beat the Germans at their own game (no racial hatred here just saying it as it is).
The Hotel is situated perfectly, a 2Tr Lira trip to Marmaris and a 2.50Tr Lira trip to Ismeller on the little shuttle buses that pass the front of the hotel every few minutes, both less than 1GB £.
You can also take a walk into both towns via the promenade if you are feeling energetic. A tip for the air conditioning - unhook your key from the plastic fob so that it is left on all the time you are out of your room. I don't think you're supposed to do this but hey, its hot out there.
The staff were great, especially Oskar. I think he may be leaving next year for pastures new but I think the Hotel should give him a pay rise just to keep him. (Yes, he's that good)
I think that's it, I would most definetley recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, not the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeclanSammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This was our second visit - we went all-inclusive this time, as it was the only option we could find.

Location: Located right next to the beach, in the quieter Siteler area of Marmaris. The centres of both Marmaris and Icmeler are short dolmus journeys away, or you can stroll along the promenade which stretches all the way into both towns.

Facilities: There's well laid out swimming pool (which is 1.4m deep throughout with a shallow walk-through pool on one side). At the time of our visit (early May) there were no problems with finding sun beds or shade, although it was starting to get a lot more crowded on our last few days. Indoors, there's a TV room, with a large flat-screen TV, which doesn't offer any more channels than those in the rooms. Next door is the gym, which looks in need of some attention, and was rarely used. There's also a Turkish sauna and beauty salon on site. The reception area has free wi-fi (but nowhere else) - you need to ask for a password to access it, or pay to use the internet PC's there.

Rooms: The balcony has a great views of the bay. Air-conditioning was quite effective, but needs your key fob inserted into a slot near the door before you can use it. There's a small mini-bar/fridge, which is re-stocked every day to ensure there are always 2 bottles of water in it, although you won't be able to use it as a freezer. The in-room safe was just big enough for our camera, mp3 player, phone, and money/passports. The TV has 17 channels with only a couple of news channels in English. The bathroom has a modern shower, and a hair dryer attached to the wall which needs to have the trigger depressed all the time you are using it.

Dining: The all-inclusive rules included all soft drinks (inc apple, pineapple, orange. & lemon concentrate, plus Pepsi) and local brands of beer, wines and spirits. You could also help yourself to tea, coffee and hot chocolate. The included 'snacks' only consisted of some strange shaped sweet & savoury biscuits. At other times chips and savoury pancakes were available, but that was it. Ice cream bars and crisps were available (at a cost) at the pool bar. Breakfast was also a bit disappointing - different types of egg (including freshly made omelettes), but no bacon or beans (despite being available in just about every restaurant in town). Bizarrely, a hot vegetable dish from dinner was another breakfast option (one day it was chips!) as well as olives, cereals, & the ever present salad that appeared at all meal times. Although fresh crusty bread was offered, it was too small when sliced to make decent toast using the inefficient conveyor-belt toaster. Dinner was hit and miss too, as there was no menu, just a picture of an animal (e.g. Cow, turkey etc) to tell you what type of meat was in each container - you had to guess what everything else was. The desserts were better, consisting of fresh fruit, ice cream, blancmange, honey-soaked baklavas, and some impressive cream cakes (often shaped into items such as animals, a car, and even the Turkish flag!). Despite the monotonous choice of food, we were able to find enough to eat, and spent very little on food outside during the holiday.

Staff at all levels (including the manager) were friendly & helpful, and most spoke and understood English. We found most guests were Russian, German or Dutch, with English guests in the minority, but still enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a seaview - we heard from other guests in road facing rooms who found it too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sahbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just came back after a week's all inclusive at this hotel during late May/early June 2012 - After reading the reviews, was a little worried however I can say we enjoyed staying at this hotel. Initial impression from road side is not that great, and although it does not look as modern as the other hotels we passed, the waiters & staff were really friendly & our room on 3rd floor had a fantastic sea view. Rooms are basic but then you dont spend your holiday in your room.... Pool is good size, had to get sun bed round the pool really early most days however you do have a free beach sunbed just in front of the pool so not all bad. Location is quiet & is a fair 1hr walk to the marina area, however you can get the bus for 2liras to the marina in 5mins which run all night there & back. This hotel does not have any entertainment, music or kids club. Food was fine although as all inclusive, you didnt get ice cream & the "snacks" during the day could have been a little better. Trips - dont always book with your holiday provider - we booked via the seafront kiosks and got a great deal, would recommend the buggy safari, also recommend the thomson/first choice Dalyan check out trip on the last day to turtle beach area/mud bath.

my opinion - Negatives:

Needed some music around the pool area
Could do with a little updating with decoration
Walls are very thin - you could sometimes hear next door flush toilet
We had a noisy bunch of bulgarian end of year school kids who were sometimes distruptive late at night
Air-con was not swictched on until 15th June so initially a little hot at night but then we got used to it
Not a lot for kids to do/play with other than a ping pong table

Room Tip: Floor 3 had great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

went here last sept - first impression awful from road far out from restaurants/bars decidely shabby neighbourhood. luckily dolmus easily acces. to marmaris a little far to walk daily
Room on arrival ok only bed didn't have any spring ( at home likened to slleping on divan base with no mattress - bedding awful scrachy luckily had pjs and just used nedspread if turned chilly. one redeeming feature was lovely view watched sun rise as didn;t arrive until 6.30 am!! which is normal with night flights getting delayed ( ours was delayed 6hrs) so choosing day flight didn't help. went to breakfast first mroning as no point going to bed thought we had booked into local convalesent home elderly, wheelchairsand less mobile predominent - not a problem in itself but whole hotel had feel of oap home - indeed in day time in shade there seemed to be table upon table of elderly russian/eastern europeans just playing cards and smoking making use of all inclusive - thought would be good value but quality of food not brillient - better half board with better ingredients!! anyone with youngsters should avoid no facilities except grubby pastic wendy house on poolside !!
like marmaris been year before and stayed grand maritim - should have gone there on h/b
Sunworshippers beware - sun disappears behind hotel early afternoon have to stay on beach for sunshine garden trees lovely but need timming back don't waste your money location on beach/ view only redeeming features all in all not a quality option

Room Tip: high floor only as lower ones have only partial sea view through trees - poolside of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SarahT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

well they just can't do enough to help during your stay - you have heard of "NO PROBLEM" WELL THIS IS VERY MUCH THE CASE.. We were there in June & had a brilliant time. Hotel excellent with beach just in front of hotel. Situation great as you can take an evening stroll 30-40mins to Marmaris or 30-40mins to Izmeler along the coastal path.Would recommend this hotel & will be returning every year....:-)

Room Tip: High floors have better sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leriche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Myself, husband & our 2 boys aged 6 & 3 & our friends with 2 girls aged 15 & 9 came back from this hotel a few days ago. The hotel needs to be updated, its very tired. As we were on hol with our kids it was really disappointing as they weren't catered for at all, this is not a child friendly hotel. The room was ok a little small but manageable. Some of the staff were great but there were quite a few who weren't. The food was good the 1st week but as we stayed for 2 wks it got very boring & repetitive & at the end of the 2nd week we were eating out. Its in a lovely spot with beautiful views of the sea. Usually my kids spend every hour of the day in the pool but the pool was so cold that they managed about an hour a day & I was waiting when they came out with towels to wrap them up in. Their were alot of german & dutch guests which was hard going as they were very rude, if you intend to go to turkey go somewhere else!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.5 mi away
Alibey Hotel Luxury Concept
Alibey Hotel Luxury Concept
#85 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#26 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Hotel
#57 of 233 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
#41 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#29 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropikal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropikal Hotel

Property: Tropikal Hotel
Address: Kenan Evren Bulvari No:49, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#35 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropikal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropikal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmaris Hotel Tropical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing