We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would go back”
Review of Tropikal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropikal Hotel
Ranked #54 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“would go back”
Reviewed 11 September 2010

we ended up here after reading reviews of other hotels in the marmaris region decided this was the one to go for. the transfer is about 1 1/2 hours to marmaris but this hotel is about 2 miles out side of marmaris so you will be one of the last to be dropped off and probably another 20 mins

the hotel is friendly, clean, near the breach, shops and restaurants/pubs. the food is good, different every night, and something for every one as there are some basis foods for the kids, and plenty of snacks. the drinks in the all inclusive are the local ones and are drinkable, (we have been on an AI in egypt and the local drinks were terrible). the soft drinks are good also. you get a bottle of water every day in your mini fridge (not the coldest but does the job) but keep the bottle to fill up at the water coolers, as you only get cups of water otherwise.

the beach is right next to the hotel, and after walking along the beach front we realised that there are not to many hotels this close to the beach. it is clean, tidy and manned daily by staff. you do have to pay 3 TL if you want a mattress for the sun-bed. the beach is stone/shell and a pair of water shoes are recommended.

the gym is not worth going to and get a Turkish bath out side the hotel as it is cheaper and a great couple of hours away. We had a night flight and booked a day away to dalaman which is well worth in and food, transport and accommodation is included. Otherwise your check out time is 12 noon or you can pay to stay till 6pm and still use the pool and shower in the gym. But depending on the time of your pick up (ours was 12 midnight) is worth thinking about the day trip as it is a good day out.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    83
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
70
76
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Well, this review is coming for a teenager, of 14, so i think it would be a good idea to hear it from my point of view, especially if you're taking teenagers of your own!

Food + Drink
There was always a lot of choice, it was usually quite the same for breakfast, but me and my friend enjoyed the food a lot! Especially the burgers at lunch/dinner, and the flatbreads imbetween. You can never not have enough food, as there is breakfast, lunch, snacks, tea and biscuits, and dinner, so we were never hungry! Breakfast was from 7am-10.30am, lunch was from 12.30pm-2pm, and the snacks imbetween were from 2pm-7pm and dinner was from 7pm-9pm. There were always quite a good variety of drinks that were included in the "all inclusive", but i think all the drinks should be included, as you have to pay EXTRA for most imported alcohols, but soft drinks, juice, squash and water, and some alcohol was free, and my mum loved the Vodka and diet coke, and that's included too.

Pool Area
There are quite a lot of sunbeds around the pool, and the pool itselfm is round, quite big, and it has like a tree in the middle of it. It has a rail round one side with steps to get down, and a ladder the other side, like you would find in a normal pool. There is also a large seating area and a pool bar, which you walk up to any time you like to get your drinks, which stop being free at 11pm. The pool started of to be quite cold, but the sun usually warmed it up, and by about 5.30pm, the whole pool was in the shade. The disadvantages of this was the area all around the pool is very wet and slippery and i feel over a lot! They should wipe it up often, and the fact that, before breakfast, people used to reserve sunbeds, because you can't use the pool from 9am-6.30pm, so they used to put they're towels on the sunbeds, so by the time we had eaten breakfast, there weren't any sunbeds, but that didn't bother us, because my mum sat around the pool area, and me and my friend were in the pool. We went in it every day, it was our favourite part!

Evening Entertainment
If you have seen ANYWHERE that there is "occasional evening entertainment", then ignore it. There is NO entertainment whatsoever, which kind of annoyed us, because we usually like that sort of thing. Though, shortly down the road, there are a lot of shops, bars (that offer entertainment) and restaurants, which did slightly entertain us, though the funniest thing is their attempts at spelling English words, things like postcard-posdcard, very-wery and photos-fotos! So, go out as much as possible, towards Marmaris is better than towards Icmeler, as it gets louder towards Marmaris, and quieter towards Icmeler.

Accommodation
WELL! There is a lot to say about our room. We were lucky, as we got to be on the first floor, number 104, and when you arrive at the hotel, the reception staff, carry your suitcases up to the room for you, so that helped my mum a lot, as she had a bit of trouble, doing so. We had one double bed, and a twin bed, as there was me, my mum, and my friend, who was a boy. There is also a phone, which you can set an alarm in the morning for, a television, which has satellite channels, and a balcony, with two chair and a foot rest. There is a bathroom, with a bath/shower, a toilet, sink, mirror and hairdryer. (plus a wardrobe, forgot about that!) Now, our hairdryer EXPLODED 3 times, but i guess that was our fault! The first time, my friend was wet, so of course it fused, and the lights went off. The second time, I accidently done the same thing, but the third time, me and my friend were brushing our teeth in the bathroom and it just went off all of a sudden! We didn't even touch it! My friend realised he burnt his shirt, then lifted his sleeve up to realise the fuse had BURNT HIS ARM, and went straight down to reception to complain! (Don't let this put you off, this only happened in our room!) Beds are quite hard, and the a/c is rubbish, so sleep with the balcony door slightly open.

Hope it helped!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Hotel itself is quite small, the cleanliness is brilliant.
Reception staff very rude if u have a problem and are no help whatsoever.
Bar staff & waiters fantastic - couldn't do enough to help, lovely people :o)
Air-Con.....Appalling, the unit was actually held away from the wall with a toilet roll and a wedge of wood?? Health & Safety being notified by Travel Rep Steve.
Fridge not even worth having...a waste of space, the lack of Air-Con & Fridge coolness is NOT due to taking the key card out of the unit as ours was in there constantly and it made no difference at all!!
Was on the 5th Floor and neither Front nor back doors had locks....with a 3 year old this is not acceptable!! Arrived on the sunday and the Friday evening they eventually got round to putting a door lock on....very poor.
Food Ok....bit boring and certainly not enough choice for Children, altho the Rep did say that it should be ok as there was Chips!!!! Hmmmm sorry but my kids dont want to eat Chips all day every day.......not a good enough answer Steve.
NO Entertainment at all, not even background music - entertainments licence taken away from Tropical Hotel 6weeks b4 we got there but was not informed.
Rooms spacious enough if there are only 2 people sharing a room - our family consists of 2 adults, 1 teenager and a 3 year old, the rooms are so not big enough for more than 2 people.
Trips - Do not book thro Travel company u came with as they are a rip off....go out hotel, cross road and go right, walk a couple of blocks to find Jack at St pauls he does great deals....trip to Dalayan great but smelly(less than half the price), Talk of the Town an absolutely Fantastic show highly recommended. Market dont do it as a trip just jump on the bus thingy it costs 1.75lira one way n 2.00lira the other way whereas £15.00 to book trip thro travel agent.
Beach a few footsteps away with volcanic sand stuff & stoney beach - sea lovely & salty but beware of the nipping fishies....tho very funny to watch others screa while getting nipped - they cause no harm really apparently just take off dead skin tho did draw blood on my husbands leg, didnt laugh much tho...lol.
I would recommend this hotel to a friend if they were a couple but definately not a friend with a family.
Oh...no doctor on site or on call for that matter.
Weather was amazing but sadly too many problems for us to totally enjoy our holiday-travel agent should have informed us of no entertainment or the fact there is absolutely nothing for the kids to do, except 1 table tennis game.
Sadly not a hotel for families!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sals_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Check in at the hotel was quick and efficient. we were shown straight to our rooms, where a roll, peach and a drink awaited us.Rooms fairly spacious if only two of you with double and single bed but would imagine it could get cramped if 3 adults were staying. Mini bar was totally useless as it didn't keep anything cold. This was NOT due to taking out the key card from the energy saving point as we left ours in there for the whole week and it didn't change.
Air conditioning was poor, OK late afternoon when you got in from beach etc but very inefficient at night. Room was still baking at gone midnight despite air con having been on since 10.30pm when the hotel switch it on.By our last day the air con unit in the room was leaking water badly and pooling on the floor.Our rep Steve said this was due to the unit requiring cleaning.
Despite the air con and fridge problem the hotel was very clean, food was great with a lovely selection of salads, hot food, desserts, fantastic fresh fruit especially the melon.Breakfast was cereals, various breads, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, pastries,great selection of jams, honey, nutella etc etc. Freshly cooked eggs, omelettes to order. There was variety but not if you pile everything on your plate at every sitting!!as some people did and then complain that food is repetitive.
Restaurant staff were all very friendly, serving drinks at your table, always asking how you were and couldn't do enough to please, as were the bar staff and the maids.
The hotel is in a great location, far enough from the centre of Marmaris to escape the noise but close enough with the dolmus right outside the hotel. Just a few minutes into town and they run until about 1am.We did walk a few times in the evenings but at over 30 degrees late into the night this might be a problem with kids.
There was NO entertainment at the hotel, NO music whatsoever. We had heard that the hotel had lost it's music licence several weeks before.We understand having spoken to the rep on our last day that this is due to Marmaris council cracking down on hotels that don't actually have a licence to entertain. We had previously brought all our issues up with a rep filling in for the usual one, only to be told by her that occasional entertainment could mean once a month, once a year. What an absolute JOKE she was!!
This is something we feel we should have been told about before travelling as we had only booked 6 or 7 weeks before. As we told the rep, had we been told that the fridge wouldn't work, nor would the air con and there was no entertainment, at the time of booking, we wouldn't have booked.
Having said that, we think that it would be lovely at a different time of year when air con etc wouldn't be so essential.
Beach so close to the hotel you can get your drinks from the hotel bar and take them to the beach, where there are more loungers and only 3 lira for a mattress. Hotel pool water was so warm it was awful, much preferred the sea but our teenagers all loved the pool.
Great views from 4th floor where we were, Icmeler market on a Wednesday worth a trip, fantastic fun to be had hiring a speedboat. Waters are so clear.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekersue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Very good hotel, loved lasering off the balcony, anyone here at this time leave me a message.
was very clean and maids were more than happy to clean properly everyday
food was repetitive but this was no problem. air con wasnt that good but i didnt care. mini bar / fridge does nothing, not even worth having in there
NO entertainment around the pool or of an evening but oh well Marmaris town centre is buzzing anyway.
quality holiday, ideal spot.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balconylasertommewse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Pleasantly surprised by this clean comfortable hotel. Constant supply of food which offered variety and choice. The bar and drinks were plentiful and quality. Staff were curtious and kind. In all a very good all inclusive deal.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolihullMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Having read some of the reviews before departing these shores it was with some trepidation that we stepped into the lobby

Initial thought was "okay this isn't too bad"

Was pleasantly surprised to find good sized rooms which were spotlessly clean as were the bathrooms

The location is great, far enough
from the centre of Marmaris to be peaceful but close enough if you want more excitement

The staff are wonderful and couldn't do enough to help, especially the waiters and cleaners. Reception staff didn't have great English though and as my Turkish is non-existent this was occasionally a problem.

Those complaining of lack of air conditioning and warm drudges - it was due to taking the key card Thimbu out of the powersave unit when you left the room which after a minute or so cut the power . Taking the key off the card thing meant it could be left in the room and the room stayed cool as did the fridge!

Overall a great holiday was had by all (even our 16 year old daughter who didn't want to go!)

And one other tip - don't book up trips with the tour company you go with - they are HUGELY inflated android get a far better deal going and seeing Danny at No Name Tours just along the road

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxingissues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.6 mi away
Kahveci Alibey Hotel
Kahveci Alibey Hotel
#84 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
#41 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#23 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropikal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropikal Hotel

Property: Tropikal Hotel
Address: Kenan Evren Bulvari No:49, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#35 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropikal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropikal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmaris Hotel Tropical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing