We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
90
97
40
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
97
40
7
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Tropikal Hotel. The Hotel is in a good location - the hustle & bustle of Marmaris & the quieter village of Iclemer are both easily reached in different directions within 30/40 minutes as a gentle stroll. ROOMS - If you are booking a 'Land View' room beware.. the land view includes overlooking the very busy main road right outside your bedroom window. There is double glazing but this is not soundproofed. We arrived at 6.30AM and crashed out in the room, but the noise was so loud we asked to be moved. We had to stay 2 nights in the landview room before being moved. The upgrade had to be paid for which the reception staff kept reminding us of this fact. The room with the pool, sea view & balcony were much nicer and quiet. BEDS - these are very firm & the pillows even more so. I ended up using folded bed covers to put on the beds to sleep on to make them a little more comfortable. SHOWER - hot and powerful, but it can take a long time for the water to drain away. FOOD - Always a good selection, but it can be a similar mixture every night, and it's not always very hot even when the restaurant had just opened. Salad is plentiful & fresh. Pudding - not their strong point! BAR - self service for soft drinks all day & night, plastic beakers for around the pool & if you are going on to the beach. Local beers & spirits are very good. The cut off for all-inc drinks is 11pm ON THE DOT, even if you are half way being served a round of drinks. We hooked up with 2 other couples; 3 drinks were served, but the other 3 weren't as it had gone 11pm. We had to speak to the manager who grudgingly served the other 3 drinks, but they were firmly placed on the table... BEACH - nice, small pebbles and kept clean. The sun bed man was friendly & always provided mattresses if you wanted for 3TL each. You do get hassled by beach sellers offering you grapes. They will even wake you up to flog them to you! Sea is clean and inviting and you can feed the small fish if you take some bread with you!
STAFF - Bar & restaurant staff generally very good. The majority of guests are German & Russian and the staff were very friendly with them, but not so much with the English. The reception staff were a little frosty. We didn't use any of the spa facilities so can't comment on these. Overall, we were happy with the Hotel - a week to relax & unwind and that is exactly what we got.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairepeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Having been to the Tropical on B&B for many years,we went back again after they went all inclusive and was not impressed . Hotel was as good as ever,clean,friendly staff,the beer was not watered down and other drinks were good measure. Breakfast was good but the main meals were a let down,bland and almost the same every day. The evening meal times were to early ( 7to 9) We are to used to B&B and finding our own meals outside. Will not go back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flightman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

OK, first of all, let's get this straight - Tropical (or Tropikal as they sometimes write it) Hotel is officially a 4 star hotel. However, it's a little bit far-fetched. In reality, this is a 3 star hotel, and a good one at that. So, if you (and you should) think of it as a nice 3 star hotel you won't be disappointed at all.

We were there in the beginning of September and, if you haven't been in Turkey before, that's the best period to visit. Water is warm and, although it's still hot (30-37C) it's quite enjoyable because it's not humid. We were told that they had few really hot weeks prior to that (and I'm talking really hot, as in 45-47C) so be aware that July/August can be that way.

Hotel location is great, right on a beach and not in noisy downtown but still close enough so you can even walk to it (it's 4-5km, so very frequent dolmuşes are recommended if you are not much of a hiker). Hotel beach is ok, but it's gravel and small pebble and not sand which I prefer so it's a minus from me. Also, parasols/sunshades are quite small so have in mind that you will have to move around a lot if you want to avoid the sun. On a plus side, hotel bar is so close you can easily bring drinks and snacks to the beach.
They also have a pool of you are, for some inexplicable reason, into that.

Hotel is quiet, clean and nice but not very luxurious and that's ok because you are in Marmaris and not Hawaii and remember, it's a 3 star hotel. Rooms are also kept very clean and the sea view is great.
Important note: air conditioning is centralized and intermittent so you will have periods of warm to hot room. In all fairness, they tried to schedule those breaks presuming that you are out of room during them but still, it's a really bad and stupid idea and a big minus. Be smart and remove the key from a key card which you will leave in room unit. That way you will at least somewhat prolong the cooling although AC is quite weak.
Mini bar is just a tad below room temperature, and that should be fixed. Also, I've heard rumors that you should stay away from hairdryers as they tend to explode. No, really. Luckily, we had no such problems.
Beds are quite hard but I prefer that so no problem. You might feel different about that.

Staff is really super polite and they always try to be helpful and at your service. Nothing is too difficult for them and that should be commended. Speaking foreign languages (English, for example) is not their forte so be aware of that - most of the time they will just smile and nod a lot. You will have better luck at reception desk.

Food was good (lots of vegetables, salads and fruits) and varied (for a 3 star hotel that is; it is a bit repetitive - if you like pizza or french fries you will hate it by the end of the holiday, it's served every day. Sadly, you cannot say that about fish which was rare.) although it's Mediterranean-based, so there's not much bacon, sausages, beans and roasted meat but if you want eat that at 35C then... well, you will have to eat outside.

Entertainment is virtually non-existent and that's a really big plus from me although I'm aware there is a considerable number of people who will find the lack of animation unacceptable. Same thing goes for kids - you are on your own. However, I'm really thankful for not having to listen to drunken tourists trying to sing karaoke and dance around like demented bears. You can find plenty of pubs and bars for that.
So, hotel is quiet. No entertainment.

There is free WiFi internet (and some sort of internet cafe) but wireless is only available in hotel lobby and not in the rooms. That's a big minus in my book as for a few days we had to finish some business things and send some e-mails and it's kind of pain when you have to go to the lobby every time to do that.

So, what do we have here? Great location, clean rooms, beautiful water, good food, nice staff, interesting town. Sounds great and it really is. Sure, there are a few drawbacks and a few serious flaws but if you are aware of them and try to fix them beforehand, with just a bit of luck you can have a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nikola_simic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Actually I've been there twice, once in september 2007 and second time in october 2009 and we had a great time...

The hotel is clean, no problem in the bathroom or with the sheets, well positioned, with most of the rooms, if not all of them, with seaview...
Staff very frendly, speaking english, german and rushian... and well trained... everything by the book.
The pool is not that large, but is clean and, if you're alone, rather boooooring. go there with some friends and you'll like it.
The food is the best (i'm from romania, if you're a briton you might disagree... but not too much), plenty of vegetables, cakes, meat (chicken, pork, beef, fish), all fresh and very good...

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gdragos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

hotel mainly looked after the german people better then the uk people.menu was mainley salards.you had to go out to eat if you wanted a meat dish.no entertainment at all ,at the hotel.hotel clean,but do not use hair dryer in the bathroom as they get hot,we had a great sea view from our room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews