We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Sunrise Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marmaris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunrise Hotel
Ranked #25 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Friendly helpful staff, good quality food all prepared and cooked onsite. This hotel is for couples really but it has an excellent location, just far enough away from the main area but close enough for a cheap bus ride. You can walk directly onto the beach and walk along the promenade.

Entertainment can be found along the beach area as the hotel is fairly small and quiet, which is good for me

Marmaris itself can be hectic and noisey but prices are generally good with some good local places to eat.

The people are friendly and not so aggressive as Egypt for selling the endless fake goods. Not for me but it's a choice as to whether you buy or not

Overall an excellent hotel in a good resort with wonderful weather

Room Tip: Have the Turkish bath at the start of the holiday as it helps your tan
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    99
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
119
313
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moray
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was our first time in Turkey and after checking reviews of different hotels in Marmaris decided on the Sunrise. As soon as we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, taking our bags to our room which I don't usually like but very nice all the same. We had pre booked a 5th floor sea facing room as we had heard that the 5th floor had been refurbished and very nice it was. Our room faced directly over the pool area to the beach, fantastic view, two balconies, couldn't have been a better start. Unpacked and went to view the rest of the hotel. Pool area very nice, no problem with getting a sunbed and generally quiet. Even when I went to put the sun brolley up (it was scorching every day) the staff came running to do it for me. Most days we used the pool bar for drinks and food which was very good and again the staff were excellent. Think you might be getting my drift on the staff!!! Did not stay in the hotel at night to see the entertainment so can't comment. We were on breakfast only and the comment from my better half (with which I agreed) was that it was excellent and the best we have ever had at any hotel we have been to and enough on show to feed an army. When we retired for the evening the hotel was very quiet and we heard no noise from anywhere. Now having complimented the hotel so far I must point out a couple of negatives. From the day we arrived the air con was not working as it should. The temp was generally in the 40s and when we were in the room it never got cool and although we asked 2 or 3 times we were told that there was a problem and it was being fixed. Spoke to a few guests who complained about the same thing. Also at weekends it seems the pool is open to visitors/locals or it seemed that way as a couple of families next bed down were and they brought in their own food and drink which residents were not allowed to. Minor detail but thought it merited mentioning. Overall a very enjoyable stay in a lovely hotel and I would have no hesitation in recommending to friends and would go back to.

Room Tip: 5th floor refurbished rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Paco35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Sunrise. We weren't happy with our room but we were offered a different one straight away which turned out to be a family room with 3 balconies!! The staff are friendly especially the waiters at the pool bar and on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank suentoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER, ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have had many holidays in Marmaris over the past twenty-odd years and have stayed in many Hotels including The Maritim Grand Azur but we have to say that The Sunrise is far superior for the quality of staff, food and ambience, we can not find any fault with it.

We would have liked a sea-view but didn't get one although 90% of the rooms would appear to have some kind of sea-view, however, the room we were allocated was in no way inferior for facing inland, it was very large with an equally large balcony and beautifully fitted out so don't be disappointed if you too are allocated one of the rooms at the rear.

The restaurant fare both at breakfast & dinner is superb and the quality would stand the test of any restaurant around the world, one couple told us that they had counted no less than 62 starter options one evening. The staff compliment the restaurant perfectly with their courtesy & proffesionalism. I would recommend taking the half-board option.

I can only assume that anyone who gives this hotel less than ten out of ten would not be happy anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ALGARVEFANCLUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

Hotel was in the perfect location, 1st time travellers to marmaris, I must sey I was very not disappointed. Hotel and pool area great,very clean and a great service, only let down for marmaris is the beaches as not sandy, but can not have it all, but we still stayed on the beach, need something on your feet to go in and out of sea, we came back after a week on the 18th June, we have had a very hot week. You can travel into marmaris by bus down to harbour 10 mins 2 lira or go the other direction to islama which is 10 min and 2.5 lira, so hotel location is in the middle, plenty of great places to eat. Samdams is opposite hotel, very good food, great service, but there are many others places to eat which the food and service was very good. Just to let you all know the sunrise is being refurb in the winter, so all rooms will be refurbed like the top floor. All I can say is my husband and I had a great time, will probably go back.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ThaiTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed here for a week at the beginning of June. I was disappointed by the size of the room, which was rather small, but the room amenities (cupboad space, TV, mini-bar) were good. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the maids did a great job. All beds seem to be single, so you might have to ask for them to be pushed together if you're travelling with a partner. It's at the quietier end of Marmaris, about 30-40 mins walk to the harbour and around an hours walk from Icmelar along the coast. It has it's own section of beach on the doorstep, sunbeds are free but towels are chargeable - £10 deposit per towel for a week. It's got a nice pool area with plenty sunbeds and a nice bar/cafe area. Hotel breakfast was first class, a great selection and very good quality - there's also a nice area for sitting outside which overlooks the lovely bay. On the downside, I thought charging for the in room safe was a bit mean and also the fact that coffee/tea bags were provided for welcome only and not for the rest of the holiday! Also the aircon was really noisy and pretty ineffective.

The hammam (turkish bath) was a lovely experience and again it's spotlessly clean. It's very good value for money, we did a package which cost less than £30 for one and a half hours. It may seem expensive compared to the public hammam, but that included the full wash down, face mask and 40 minute massage. The 2 guys who did the whole thing were great.

Room Tip: Get a room number higher than X12 (e.g 412) as these will have better views of the bay.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank albief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from 10 days in the Sunrise Hotel. It if a fantastic hotel very clean and the staff made every one very welcome they can't do enough for you. We made good friends and will be going back again. Lovely location. Breakfast was very good we did not have an evening meal but the bar b q night looked amazing what a lot of work was put in by the staff we will go to it next time. Samdam across the road and Mayin were the best 2 restaurants near by. Avoid the restaurant called Blackpool on the sea front it was the worst meal we had.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveholidays47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#28 of 234 in Marmaris
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#23 of 234 in Marmaris
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
0.3 mi away
Golden Rock Beach Hotel
Golden Rock Beach Hotel
#22 of 234 in Marmaris
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel

Property: Sunrise Hotel
Address: Kenan Evren Bulvari 21, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#13 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing