We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third visit to Sunrise Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Hotel
Ranked #21 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Leverstock Green, Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Third visit to Sunrise Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We returned to the Sunrise from 9th - 20th July (our 3rd visit). The location right on the beach is fantastic and the views are absolutely beautiful. It is situated at the quieter end of Marmaris, near to the bay of Icmeler which is lovely. The Hotel is very clean and the maids do a fantastic job of cleaning the rooms to perfection, leaving flowers on our pillows and making our sheets into heart shapes. We stayed in Room 520 on the refurbished 5th floor, and the room was beautiful, big, with lovely wooden floor and beautiful walk in shower cubicle. The only problem was that being on the roof it was boiling hot and the air con didnt work very work. The temperature was 50-55 degrees daily and we had to keep the patio doors closed at night with the air con on all the time because the music from the Dora beach Hotel next door was so loud it kept us awake. The food is lovely too, and there is so much choice for breakfast and dinner, you just cannot fault it at all. On Sunday we even had roast beef! and porridge every day for breakfast. The Tuesday night BBQ around the pool is the best night of the week because the waiters put all the tables outside around the pool and it is a lovely setting. The desserts are gorgeous, especially the baclava and other pastries. We decided to go half board because the food in the hotel is better than the restaurants outside in our opinion. However, in saying that, Samdans across the road from the hotel is very nice too.

The pool area is lovely and there is never a problem getting a sunbed at any time of day. There are always a few spare beds around. The hotel beach area is lovely too, and the waiters will serve you drinks and food. The pool bar is a lovely place to sit if you want a rest from the sun, and the food at lunchtimes is great - the pizza and chips are lovely!

All the staff are exceptionally friendly and most of them have worked there for years and some remembered us from previous visits which is nice; apart from the female on reception who is sometimes quite unapproachable and unfriendly. Many other guests felt the same about her and said she shouldn't be on reception, but luckily we had a good Thomson Rep (Debbie) who sorted out any problems we had. A special mention goes to Mehmet in the restaurant who always greeted us with a smile every day, even though he had some difficulty understanding English -and "hallo" to all the other waiters too whose names I cannot remember.
Also Ali who does the turkish baths and massages is a lovely guy and I would highly recommend visiting him for a Turkish bath or massage, because he does a fantastic job. My partner had 3 massages during our stay which he says were the best he has ever had!

The only improvements we would like to see are:

1. More choice in English TV channels. At present there are only 2 news channels in English. The rest are in Turkish or German. This is a shame because these channels get very boring and repetitive after a while. They have gone to such trouble installing flat screen TVs, it is a shame they dont have more channels.

2. No WiFi access and the computers didnt work properly when we tried them in the Hotel, so we went down the road to an internet cafe for 5 TL an hour.

3. Feel they should have two chefs making eggs at breakfast, as sometimes the main chef making the omelettes/fried eggs at breakfast is so busy that queues build up and you have to wait quite a while to order your eggs. It would be a good idea if they let the other chef who makes the pancakes help with the omelettes as he doesn't seem to be as busy as the other guy. The omelettes are fantastic by the way so worth the wait!

All in all, we had a fantastic time at the Sunrise Hotel and would definitely return again next year. We met some lovely guests at the Hotel and some of them have been staying there for 15 years and more!

Sharon and Tom (Hertfordshire)

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side face the shop next door with a partial sea view. The rooms on the right face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    99
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
119
310
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

After to visit this city every year since 04, i can honestly say that this hotel is very, very good.
Everyone who works here are doing a great job, and you feel very welcome.

All the best
Gry and Trym
Norway

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grybolstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We recently returned to the Hotel Sunrise for the second year, the only time we have ever returned to any destination or Hotel.
The hotel is absolutely spotless and the maids make every effort to keep your room sparkling, the sheets often made into beautiful shapes and decorated with fresh flowers, just beautiful. My son had his sheet made into a bird with his sunglasses perched on top, ot was just fabulous!

All the people at the hotel from reception, restaurant and the people who kept us fed and watered on the beach in terrific temperatures were so friendly and helpful. Special mention to the night porter who is a complete star, so friendly and we always had a chat when we bumped into him.

The food was excellent, fabulous lamb and beef most nights, the salads were amazing and breakfast cannot be beaten for choice. Chef made fresh omelettes and pancakes every morning and the porridge is fab.

We had a Turkish bath/massage which was £30 each, not cheap but they allowed us to have our treatments together as a family which was such fun. The massage was just fabulous and my bad back was so much better for the whole holiday afterwards.

We stayed on the fifth floor (room 517) which had 2 balconies and was much bigger than our previous room on the second floor.
We paid £8 per night extra for a sea view which I booked direct with the hotel and was worth every minute.

I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KPNUTShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Arrived early hours of the morning, grabbed a couple of hours sleep before heading down for breakfast. Decided I'd book a Turkish massage for my daughter and I that afternoon as a treat. Although a little more expensive maybe than one of the organised trips, where the baths look like they get really crowded, we had an appointment. The treatment was glorious, we didn't feel at all rushed we had the turkish bath followed by a face pack and massage which was supposed to take 90 minutes - we where in there for 2 hours and felt completly pampered and relaxed when we walked out and your skin is so soft - ready to soak up all that sun and leave you with a lasting tan. Ali and Yusef where thoroughly professional and I can't rate them highly enough. It cost us £30 each.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fiona r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed there for 10 days with my wife and child in july 2012. The good things about the hotel are: (in general) excellent location, beatiful view of the bay, good food, very clean, nice staff, good service. I also liked the guests that stayed there during that time, polite and nice folks. What I did not like was that there was no wifi. We had to pay extra to use the pc in the lobby with internet access which was not convenient as I brought a labtop with me. I also did not like the fact that when I needed to use the phone to call our insurance company from the lobby which was a local number, I was not allowed to do that. I ended up buying a telephone card and calling from tel.booth outside the hotel. Finally, I did not like the fact that when we arrived, one lady guest was refused a room with seaview unless she paid 15$ extra per night which I later found strange considering the fact that hotel was half empty at that time. Also, I think waiters at the restaurant should learn manners. It happened a few times when a waiter would take an extra chair from the table where we were dining without asking if he may do so. This was very irritating. Not once had any waiter introduced himself while taking an order.
This is minor stuff but still for the money that we paid we expected better service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beck5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

First time to Turkey. Hotel superb - great service & atmosphere. Understand why guests keep returning. Hotel kept spotless. Ideal for couples. Direct onto beach. Situated between harbour & Ichmeler. Both great to visit - but Sunrise better to stay at. Overall 98% for us. Experience was all Turkish people in area hard working, pleasant to deal with and no probs with hawkers in streets or on beaches. Note located on Aegean - water crystal clear but cold. Stones on shore line into water difficult - other hotels have bridges over these. Food very good at breakfast with omelettes made to order. Dinner v good too. Recommend going to many fine restaurants nearby for lunch & dinner - such as "Mr Ali" & "Maymi" - Jan de Wit" at harbour v good - also at Ichmeler use sun beds on wooden jetty - associated super lunch time cafe. General disappointment was coffee - few places had decent ground coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view. Cheapest to take up full board offer & eat out most nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillStringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were booked at the Marbella hotel for 11 nights & on arrival at 2am we were offered a room at their sister hotel about 100m along the front with a sea view. Apparently, Thomas Cook do not have a contract for sea view rooms at the Marbella. We dont really know why we were offered this, but accepted, & were told we could use the facilities of either hotel. We were not asked for more money but were told it would have cost an extra £88. The Marbella is recently refurbished & looks fantastic. We were taken to the Sunrise by a porter & it was a great holiday. The hotel is spotless, the staff friendly & helpful, & the facilites excellent. They have their own beach & sunbeds, so no charge for those. Waiters, who will take your order & deliver your drinks or meals directly to the beach, what more could we want? There is a very nice poolside bar, again with friendly & helpful staff. Towels can be hired, however, we were expected to keep the same towels for the whole of our stay, unless we paid 10 lira each time, as they have no laundry facility on site. A little disappointing but not enough to spoil the holiday. The food is very good, but lacks a little in choice, but still something for everyone. The hotel faces the beach & promenade & backs onto a busy main road. There are plenty of restaurants & shops close by, for those on B & B. Marmaris town centre & harbour is about 40 mins walk along the promenade, or 10 mins on the bus, which costs approx £1 each & run frequently. A 20 min bus ride for a similar cost will take you to the next resort Ischmelar, which is also very nice. Alternatively, there are water taxis, costing approx £4 each. A restaurant opposite the hotel also features on Trip Advisor & the staff are superb. The meals arent bad either! They cater for the British mainly, & show all the sports programmes should you want to see those. We would definitely go back to this hotel. If there was one downside, it would be the transfer time - almost 2hrs, but they do stop halfway for 15mins, but at 1am most people would rather get to the hotel.
If its a relaxing holiday you're looking for, you could do worse than the Sunrise, having said that, temperatures in the 40's ensure you dont move far.

Room Tip: Depending which travel agent is used, depends on the location of your room. A lot of rooms have sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.1 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#11 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
0.4 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel

Property: Sunrise Hotel
Address: Kenan Evren Bulvari 21, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#13 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing