We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honesty about The Sunrise”
Review of Sunrise Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marmaris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunrise Hotel
Ranked #25 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honesty about The Sunrise”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Myself and my partner, and my Mum and Aunt stayed here mid September, we stayed for 10 nights and my Mum for 7. 5 other relatives and friends were staying at other hotels close by.
We chose this hotel after reading the many positive reviews in TripAdvisor, and also took the advice of holding out for a sea-view room at check-in rather than booking through the tour operator. We were given a part sea view room on the quiet side of the hotel and Mum was at the front over looking the road. We were told that there were no sea-view rooms available and to check back in 3 days, after 3 days we asked again but again there was none available. I would advise contacting the hotel directly some time before arrival to request this as we were disappointed. The rooms we had were good though, Mums was bigger than ours with a double and a single bed, ours was a bit small but very clean and modern.
The hotel is very clean and in a good location right on the sea front, however, the hotel next door plays booming club music all day and the sand here is very gravelly and stoney so we chose mostly to spend our days at Mr Ali's a few minutes further to the left for free and more comfortable sunbeds, smoother sand and excellent service.
Our family wanted to spend the last few hours of one afternoon at the hotel pool with us, we gathered sunbeds together but one of the waiters was quite nasty with us and kicked a bed saying we were blocking their way to the kitchen, the beach waiter also came over and wanted to charge my family 10TL each for the use of the beds. This was really embarrassing for us all as everyone round the pool saw and heard all of this, my family and friends had previously been spending lots of money in the pool bar in the evenings so were quite upset. The same happened on the beach, our friend came to sit with the four of us on the first day and he wanted to charge her 15TL for the bed, although next door all the beds and the pool were free.
3 of us wanted to try the Turkish bath at the hotel but there was only one person working as it was the end of the season so couldn't do all three of us at the same time so just Mum and Aunty had this, they both said it was excellent though. The cost is £23 or 65TL.
The food is good, we had breakfast only, freshly made omelletes and eggs, other food that was pre-made was cold. I had pancakes every morning which were pre-made and cold but i learned to heat them up on the George Foreman type grill and they were lovely. I was embarrassingly told off one morning for trying to take a peach out of the restaurant.
On the whole, a lovely hotel, with some some staff issues, but would recommend and return.

Room Tip: Pre-request a sea view room directly with the hotel prior to arrival. Or ask for a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    99
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
119
313
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Sunrise hotel from the 5th July for a week with the hubby and boy can I wait to go back! The hotel had been recently refurbished, both internally and externally. The Sunrise stood out from the other hotels on the strip due to its modern design. Rooms were spacious, modern and extremely clean. One of the main factors about this hotel were the attentiveness of the staff and the good quality of the food. We stayed bed and breakfast but had dinner in the hotel, which was amazing and to be honest would had been a better option to go half board. The only thing missing from this hotel was an outside jacuzzi or a more shallow pool for relaxing, but hey you can't have it all. Will we be back? YES, should you book? YES!! Thanks for an amazing stay sunrise!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxMax2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just got back from a wonderful week in the Sunrise Hotel, Marmaris, Turkey. We went the same time last year and wondered if it would come up to our expectations again, but it did and more. Excellent service, very clean and comfortable. Will definately be going back same time next year!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel was amazing the staff were all very friendly the location was brilliant the cleanliness of the hotel was immaculate I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay In Marmaris it is ideal for couples and I highly recommend the sister restaurant which is just along the beach the food is lovely and the staff are amazing too also the Blackpool bar had a free cabaret show every night which was very funny all round this holiday was an amazing experience

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel decent location but facilities limited and mainly couples and elderly people here, so not ideal for couple of single friends looking to meet others. Breakfast decent- I mainly had cereal and toast followed by fried eggs, sausage, fried potatoes, tomatoes, beans with tea and orange juice. Could do with a pool table or dartboard etc inside if it calls itself an english style bar. Needs wifi in rooms too but wifi ok in reception and pool area. Sauna and turkish bath facilities we didn't use as they're too expensive- get the same for a third of the price from a salesman on the beachfront (Reg by the taxiboats gave us great deals). If you are not full board here it's 40 lira for evening meal too expensive when many cheap good steakhouses by hotel. Hotel staff very helpful but on balance I prefer our all-inc hotel ideal premium 3 doors down due to bigger pool and more mixed clientelle and facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. We were originally booked in the Marbella and got an email whilst on tour informing us that Thomas Cook had overbooked the hotel and we were being moved to their sister hotel the Sunrise. We were annoyed about the late move but once in the hotel were more than delighted. They allowed us to check in early at noon and upgraded our room to a sea view and gave us half board when we had only paid B & B and also a free safe. The room was lovely and a decent size with above size bathroom and a lovely big shower, lots of pressure and always hot. Kettle also provided so we didn't have to use our own. They then arrived with a complimentary basket of fruit and a bottle of wine. Prior to that they delivered some Turkish delight and pastrys. The staff are lovely and very efficient. Food is lovely and we couldn't fault. Buffet breakfast and evening meal but plenty of choice and dinner dishes always hot not lukewarm like a lot of hotel buffets.
Drinks were extra at evening meal but prices no more expensive than outside. In fact a large bottle of water only 2.75 tl and yet we went for an Indian to the Taj Mahal one night and they charged 2tl for .25 litre.
The hotel doesn't have much entertainment but just outside there is plenty of choice with bars and restaurants.
Not really suitable for children as pool has no shallow part and would not be safe for non swimmers. Also nothing laid on for them.
The positives are as above and spotlessly clean, very hard working attentative staff , hotel recently updated.
Negatives: a bit lacking in bathroom toiletries. Only bars of soap and shampoo. If you want to sleep before midnight avoid right hand sea view rooms as next door has music booming out till midnight.
Great hotel and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southernpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our 3rd time at this hotel over the past few years, and we had a great stay once again. The hotel has been revamped , even though it was in a good condition in the first place. Our room was ace having 2 balconies with a great view over the mountains and the sea. The staff and especially the pool bar staff are so friendly and accommodating, and the property so clean. The breakfasts are fantastic , serving anything you could possibly want. Wouldn't hesitate to go back again and would definitely recommend . The location of the hotel is superb too , being straight onto a beach and plenty of bars and restaurants within close walking distance

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.4 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#33 of 234 in Marmaris
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Malibu Beach Hotel
Malibu Beach Hotel
#115 of 234 in Marmaris
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
0.3 mi away
Golden Rock Beach Hotel
Golden Rock Beach Hotel
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel

Property: Sunrise Hotel
Address: Kenan Evren Bulvari 21, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#13 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing