We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better”
Review of Sunrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Hotel
Ranked #28 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our fourth stay at The Sunrise, but first since the refurbishment. Still our favourite, excellent service and breakfast. All the staff have become friends. Ideally situated within easy reach of central Marmaris and Icelmar

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whiffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Having been originally booked into the Marbella we were somewhat annoyed when 6 days before we were due to travel, we were told that the hotel was over booked and were offered alternatives.We had booked the Marbella back in Nov 2012. However it was too late to change our plans and we accepted the Sunrise with an upgrade to full board. The Hotel and staff were fantastic, food was superb. We met lots of people who have been returning to the Sunrise Hotel twice a year for over 15 years - so it cannot be that bad. We loved the Marbella but having thought things over, we have decided to re-book the Sunrise for 2014. We were told that if one was booked in either of the Holels , you could decide to eat in which ever Hotel you preferred, however you must sleep in the Hotel you are booked into.. A GREAT holiday was had by all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Got back on Sunday after having two weeks at the Sunrise,I initially booked solely on the good reviews,I have know problem in saying that this hotel is a very nice building,not the best I've been to but still nice,I know I'm definitely in the minority for having any qualms at all but somehow I just do,the staff are fine it's tip top clean and the food isn't bad for a hotel but we very rarely ate there,the location is ok but I personally prefer the Elegance hotel end of the street,I think what it is for me I just found it sooo boring a soulless most of the time,probably due to most of the clientele being of a much more mature age shall we say although I'm getting there to,yes the smell of Raljex arose above any smell of sun cream most days,some May like the smell of Raljex in the morning,I never usually go away that late in the year as I can still handle the heat so maybe this is why the hotel seemed like Eastbourne with a roof, but as I say,nice building but I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Returned to the Sunrise in September. We had recommended this hotel to my daughter who was staying for 2 weeks. We just hoped they would enjoy it. There was no need to worry - everything was as it was last time and we ended up flying out to share the second week of their holiday with them.

We couldn't falt anything. We arrived to a lovely bottle of red and some Turkish delight and biscuits and the next day received a gift of a fresh fruit platter.

Breakfasts were great but if you go expecting bacon then you will be disappointed. There was plenty of food at the buffet breakfast, from cereal, fresh fruit, a variety of breads, biscuits, cake and eggs cooked to order - either fried, scrambled, or omelettes of your choice. Couldn't have asked for more.

The hotel has been re-furbished and they have added a lovely new decking area outside with a little moat round it. Gorgeous. This is where the low key entertainment is held, but plenty of bars within walking distance from the hotel. The New bar area is lovely but the piece de resistance is still the circular outside bar, where the staff can't do enough for you and you will make lots of new friends be it daytime or night time.

The majority of staff at the hotel are really pleasant but some reception staff could be a bit more friendly. Night porter lovely, manager lovely, cleaners work hard and also lovely.

The rooms are very comfortable and the new rain shower is fabulous. We also loved the new flooring, much better than the carpets that were previously down.

To sum everything up, we had a fabulous holiday, relaxing and wonderful. Now to book for next year. Thank you to all at the Sunrise.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ManchesterRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Been to Marmaris many times and must say the Sunrise is the best hotel we have stayed at. Staff very friendly and all areas immaculately clean. Rooms are of a very high standard and showers are excellent not a norm in Turkey. Beach area is lovely and you even get wifi here.
Could go on and on but suffice to say booked again for 2014.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ianharrison500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

One cannot fail to be impressed by this superb hotel.All previous reviews have said it all.Where else would you pay £7.00 for an Evening Meal...great value for money.Would have no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doormatAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Best Hotel we've stayed in.
We arrived at midnight to be shown to our room by the Porter and explained how the safe, mini bar and air con worked. Bottle of red wine on arrival. As previously mentioned, this place has undergone a refurb including all the pool and beach furnature. The beach loungers are for Sunrise guests only and the waiters will take orders for food & drink which is priced the same as everywhere else. There were plenty of beds still even at 12:00 when we surfaced each day. The beach here is made of shingle which was a tad hard on the feet but also kept clean as your lounger came with a bin for rubish and tab ends etc. The bar and pool areas were very clean and the staff very polite and efficent. Food spot on and the beer was as cold as your ex girl friends heart!
Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. The omlettes are a must!
We had paid for a sea view room but this was 70% obscured by trees. We did'nt complain as we only spent the last 20 minutes of the night sat on the balcony unwinding from the day with a glass of red and listening to the music from next door which if I may add isn't loud like some mention but each to their own. The music stops at 00:00 prompt as does every other bar.
The room safe is £1 per day and this was charged in GBP.
Exchange your money in the UK before you go as we heard too many stories of the Exchange places ripping people off charging Tax & Commission and although the safest bet was changing money in the Hotel, the rate was'nt as good.
Room cleaned every day by the wonderful cleaners with fresh bedding and towels.
There is also a kettle and hair dryer provided.
We used the very clean communural showers (2) just before leaving, Soap, shampoo & towels provided.
All the staff we met at the Sunrise were very polite and helpful. The army of cleaners do a fantastic job. Hats off!
This was our first time to Turkey and we were not dissapointed. What made it even better was there are no lucky lucky men peddling their crap in your face.
Restraunts and Bars were spot on all roughly the same price.
We are booking Turkey again for 2014 as fallen in love with it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yorkshirepud99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pasa Garden Beach Hotel
Pasa Garden Beach Hotel
#96 of 234 in Marmaris
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#15 of 234 in Marmaris
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ideal Panorama
Ideal Panorama
#23 of 234 in Marmaris
307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#63 of 234 in Marmaris
518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maris Beach Hotel
Maris Beach Hotel
#56 of 234 in Marmaris
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel

Address: Kenan Evren Bulvari 21, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#13 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £46 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Sunrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing