We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defo comming back! ;)”
Review of Seler Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seler Hotel
Ranked #81 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
1 review
“Defo comming back! ;)”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I went to seler hotel this august with mum for two weeks. It is an amazing place. Dont understand those people who talking bad about seler hotel because there is not even one bad thing about it. Is cheap, clean, good location, staff is amazing! Very caring and nice. I was actually crying when leaving :p everyone feels like at home there, totally relaxed and chilled :) i will definitely come back, I hope maybe even next year :) hope so! Ps. To those who said is noisy, if yous looking for pace and quite stay at home, holiday must be noisy, sleepless and not fogettable ;))

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicja21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    103
    42
    28
    66
See reviews for
124
153
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north lanarkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The seler hotel is not up to much in my opinion, when we arrived we could not believe the place on first impression very run down and shabby .... the spiral staircase leading up to room is very dangerous and even more so as the lights only come on and off and i fell and hit my knee... the room is very small the toilet did not flush properly , there is only one electrical socket in the whole room and one wardrobe , so the space for clothes is very limited. it was clean though, and the maid did keep it tidy and got clean towels daily...... the english breakfast was good for 6.50 lira.... THE STAFF!!! well if u want to stay in the hotel every minute of the day and night spending money on drinks they will love u ... and when i say love u it is for ur money most likely... myself and daughter went out every night and did not stay in hotel and therefore we were shunned lol... rambo aka Jimmy who is behind bar is a ignorant man, gwen is only interested in u if spending money and if u say u are going on and excursion he gets annoyed with u if not booked it with him, then u have a couple of really young boys working there who are totally ridiculous jst messing about all the time. then we have the main man mermet who is jst a joke..... when leaving we paid for xtra night when booking as we were not leaving till 6pm and when handing in the keys the reception lady asked for an xtra night... phewww. all in all was glad to get out the place, i really dont understand how there are so many good reviews .... and to end the location is a pain also the road leading up to hotel from main road is very dark, not very safe . all in all would not go back, am sure if u r willing to spend all ur time and money there you will be treated well if not ... it not a good experience .ps also very noisy...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabethmckinlay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Me, my friend and her mum stayed in this hotel in August. We arrived at around 8pm at night, got shown to our room (406) was on the top floor which you had to reach using with an uneven spiral staircase. Room was basic which we expected but there was some stuff which we didn't.

The balcony door didn't lock, didn't even have a lock in it, the walls were dirty, the air con was in the twin room instead of the living room, the wire which powers the fridge had black tape on it so must of been faulty, sometimes we would have to take out the fridge to plug in the iron as they wasn't any more sockets in the living room, when you took the plug out you would see blue light flashing out the socket. Instead of the wire being around at the back of the fridge then out to the socket, it was out at the front so would of been a hazard if they was small children.

The bathroom was small which was fine but the toilet was leaking every time you flushed it in which the water would gush out the back and run down to the shower area, had to complain many times to get the guy to fix it. There is a plug socket right next to where the shower is.

Some days you could get a good shower but other times you either didn't have hot water or cold water, sometimes when having shower, the hot water would suddenly overpower the cold and you would burn your head with boiling hot water, this happened a few times to my friend, other days there was no water, only drops coming out, then you would have to go and tell the reception, this seemed to happen a lot on the top floor as the people next door has the same problem.

The 'maid' would come in, sweep the floor then mop it with a dirty mop and bring everyone hair in and drag it over the floor, we asked for the bedding to get changed and she said no, it gets changed once a week, every Friday, you would get clean towels every other day, sometimes daily, sometimes the towels would get so dirty that we had to ask to get them changed as they hadn't been changed for two days.

At night when we would return to the room, the toilet would smell so bad, we got cockroaches sometimes. The only good thing about this room was that we had a fridge. Couldn't get a sunbed unless you just left your towel down for the full two weeks.

We ate in this hotel a few times, once we got chips, and they were so greasy and undercooked, we couldn't eat them, ewan took them back and said it was because the cheese, and got new one with the cheese not melted but they were still the same, then he blamed it on the fryer not working properly. I got beans on toast, and the toast is cooked on one side and not the other, the beans were so full of vinegar it was disgusting.

If you don't spend any money in this hotel, then don't expect to be spoken to a lot, the only one that spoke to us Ewan, and you could tell it was only because he had too. The rep was lovely and tried her best to sort everyone's problems with the hotel, I really don't understand the brilliant reviews about this hotel at all.

The wifi connection in this hotel is really poor! sometimes you couldn't even connect when sitting in the lobby which is right next to the router! At 4.20am every morning the mosque would go off and wake us up. There was two dogs in the hotel which didn't bother me, what bothered me was that one dog, the taller of the two, was literally walking around skin and bones, I think he is near death, so be prepared to see this dog, every day me and my friend would go over and nudge him to see if he was still alive!

The stairs are quite dangerous with my friend falling down them and other people had slipped too. At night, we had young Turkish guys playing music, telling you to shut up, throwing things at you from across the balcony! we told Ewan and he said that we most of been encouraging them! When it gets to the end of your holiday, the maid will put a tip box in your room as well..

Would I ever stay in this hotel again even if it was free? NO I would not!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickialivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I have just returned from a week at the Seler Hotel where I went with my son. Going by the photos I was a bit sceptical, however what a pleasant surprise!
The staff are amazing, friendly, entertaining and do all they can to make your holiday a great one.
The rooms are small but are much better than they look in the pictures.
Rooms cleaned every day, the drink is cheap, so is the food and the food is lovely!
Everyone who stayed there when I went was so friendly, and loved the food also.
Entertainment was good most nights, but I would avoid the bingo nights, quite boring.
It is around a 15 minute walk to the beach, which I preferred because it meant it was not too noisy, you could sleep easily, but the pubs, restaurants and bars were close by.
This was a great hotel and really great staff.
I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Only thing I would say is that the stairs are very steep and I was on the top floor, no lift. For a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyxx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We first booked at the Seler in 2012 for our summer holiday just by chance, as we'd never been to Turkey before. On first arrival, late into the night we wondered what we'd booked as it looked small and up a side road. We were welcomed by two of the staff who took our bags to our room where we went straight to bed after ten hours travelling to get there.

Next morning we were welcomed by blazing sunshine and temperatures in the 40's (July), and could see the layout of the hotel much better. It actually looks like it's been two hotels at one point with one being taken over, so benefits from two swimming pools, a small one to the front, and a larger one to the rear between both hotels. The front area between the hotels has a roof going across creating an alfresco bar and eating area. There is also another alfresco area in front of the other half of the hotel where breakfasts are taken.

The hotel is kept very clean by the excellent cleaning staff, a husband and wife team, and all the staff are very friendly and welcoming. In no time at all you feel like you've become part of a big family for two weeks. As nice as the hotel is, the staff really make the place, and are an asset to it.

We enjoyed it here so much we've actually been back again this year for our July 2013 holiday, a lot of the guests seem to keep returning, so there much be something about the place and the people. Even though it's a cheap hotel, we noticed they've invested money in it over the closed season, new sunbed mattresses, and new doors on the rooms, with some new aircon units too.

Back to about the hotel, breakfasts are taken alfresco (never seen any rain when we've been, hardly any clouds). The included breakfast is a turkish breakfast which consists of bread, jam, honey (golden syrup to us), feta cheese, olives, melon, cucumber, tomato, and coffee, all served buffet style. It really is filling and sets you up for the day. Cooked full english breakfasts are available if you want to pay for one.

The rooms are basic, but clean, and have everything you need. Twin or double beds, bedside cabinets, wardrobe and a balcony. The bathroom is a walk-in wetroom style shower room, and very functional. Air conditioning is available for a local charge, currently £30 a week, and safe deposit boxes located in reception for £12.50 a week (July 2013 prices). This may seem expensive, as a lot of hotels include this for free, but you have to bear in mind the very reasonable costs to stay at this hotel, so the overall price is still good, and if you can manage without the aircon, then you save more.

The bar lets you run up a tab if you want to and settle it whenever, but we've found it best to pay as you go, or at least daily, as there can sometimes be confusion over what you've had, which stresses everyone.

The hotel is a short walk to the beach, straight down the short side road, over the main road, and down another short narrow road to the sea front, literally five minutes away. It's close enough to everything, but far enough away that it's quiet apart from it's own noise. Everywhere in Marmaris is within walking distance if you're fit enough. We've walked to Icmeler one way, and right down to the Marina, and up into Armutalan the other way.

It's a really fun hotel, because it's a small hotel everyone gets talking to everyone quite quickly, and it really is like one big happy family. We met a couple there last year, who have became good friends, who we've twice been on holiday, and for weekends away with since.

Mehmet, the bar manager even gets groups together to go to the nearby go-kart track at a discounted price (30 laps instead of the normal 20). Mehmet and Cem keep everyone's drinks flowing and nothing is too much trouble. The other lads that work there are really good fun and mix in with the guests, but aren't pushy if you don't want to join in, and would rather spectate.

I won't go on about Marmaris, as this review is about the hotel, just to say, there's is loads to do there, lots of trips available to have a bit of adventure. A really great place to go.

This hotel has got to be one of the gems of Marmaris, and should be a best kept secret, so don't know why I've just wrote all that. Don't book there, or we won't be able to get booked next year! :-)

PS: For anyone getting married, Mehmet, the bar manager also organizes beach weddings which are proving very popular!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just returned from a week at Seler with our 6yr old son.... who cried pretty much most of the journey home as he didn't want to leave!

Yep, rooms are basic, no storage, only one plug socket and shower literally soaks the whole bathroom. Breakfast is Turkish (unless you order from the menu) which was disappointing, a bit of toast and cereal wouldn't go amiss and no cold drink.

BUT..... It was absolutely brilliant! The staff made our holiday. Particularly Guvan (sorry if this is mis-spelt but is pronounced Ewan). He looked after us from morning til night. Made us laugh and provided non stop entertainment. My son absolutely loved him and was the reason he cried all the way home. Guvan worked so hard and is a credit to Seler.

We wanted a small hotel whereby we made friends and this was it. I wouldn't hesitate to book again, in fact, my son is already asking to go next year.

We ate out most nights but itched to get back of an evening to meet up with everyone. If you are looking for a family holiday, whereby you can sit and enjoy the pool and evening entertainment knowing your child is making friends, having fun and is safe then this place is for you!

Thank you for making our holiday and hope to see you soon x

Antonia, Craig and Woody (Guvan's BFF) x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoniaCraigWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth/sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Me & my partner stayed here for 1 week in July we arrived in the early hours checked in & got shown to our room (604) this was our 4th visit to Turkey & certainly the best!!
staff will do anything for you even tho they work long shifts
The food is lovely we ate here every day couldn't handle been harassed on the beach front!!
The only thing I'd say let it down for us was the room wasn't the best iv stayed in & you have to pay for the air con which isn't great when it's still 30c at night last thing beds weren't comfortable canny beat your own bed :)

(there is 2 blocks to this hotel the main block is the betters rooms, but we were placed in the other block above the restaurant)
It certainly hasn't put us off I'd just pay more for a better room & go half board it's well worth it for the food - were already thinking of going back next year

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mackembiatch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
Melodi Hotel
Melodi Hotel
#55 of 234 in Marmaris
434 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#46 of 234 in Marmaris
740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloe Apart Hotel
Aloe Apart Hotel
#131 of 234 in Marmaris
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#67 of 234 in Marmaris
293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#32 of 234 in Marmaris
457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozturk Apart
Ozturk Apart
#35 of 234 in Marmaris
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seler Hotel

Property: Seler Hotel
Address: Sirinyer Mahkraranfil SOK 26, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seler Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seler Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing