We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Seler Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seler Hotel
Ranked #75 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the seler hotel in august this year.i went with my 15 year old daughter and was a bit unsure as we have never went on holiday alone before but once in the hotel we had nothing to worry about as the staff looked after us n took really good care of us both.such a friendly hotel and we will be returning next year

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiarahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

First of all i'd like to set the scene, we are two couples aged 30 - 33 who like a good laugh and a drink, we're from the north so used to a bit of banter and not stuck up in any way shape or form. We booked this hotel going off the reviews on here and boy, has that taught me a lesson.

We arrived at the hotel about midnight, went up to the room to drop our bags off before heading to the bar. The room was small, very small. Two plug sockets, one at the head of the bed and one in the bathroom over the sink. The balcony was about 5ft by 5ft with just enough room for two chairs. Wardrobe with plenty of coat hangers which makes a change and 4 drawers. No tv. We went down into the bar and ordered 4 efes which were 7 lira each and one of the staff came over and explained that the kitchen was shut but he would order us kebabs which we were very grateful for after a long journey, they were 7 lira and very good. Had a couple more drinks and headed off to bed. As it was so hot and I'm allergic to aircon we had no option but to leave the door open in the room but as it was around 2am the music from the bar had been turned down but we could still quite clearly hear the noise from guests in the bar which wasn't too bad, we were in 701 by the way, 59 steps up to it with no lift. We didn't realise that there was a mosque so close by so I was awoken with a start at 5am when they called to prayer, it sounded like it was in the room it was so loud. But anyway we got up the next morning, we were b&b but decided on a full English as the breakfast was Turkish and not to our liking. the full english was good, if a little on the greasy side, milky coffee from the machine behind the bar was nice. the member of staff that ordered our kebabs from the night before came over and said that he could book our trips for us if we wished but wasn't able to book the mega Diana so we said that we would book this elsewhere and come back to him for the rest, I personally would've preferred to book them all with the same company for the discounts but everyone else felt bad as we said that we would book through him. we then went out for a wander to try and book the Diana, ended up quite drunk due to the many pit stops! when we got back we booked the water park and turtle beach with skinny, water park was £14 and the same for turtle beach. We spent the evening at a bar we went to last year. Again, as we got back late the music was low, but could still hear clearly everyone in the bar. One thing we did notice was towels on the sunbeds in the evening and it soon became apparent that the staff allowed people to leave their towels on them the whole time.....not much chance of a sunbed then! The next day we went to the water park and had a good day, got back about 4 and sat and had a few drinks. We decided to go out again that night but have an early night, when we got back the music was pumping and very busy in the bar, when we went to bed it was like sitting in the bar, zero chance of any sleep! We were then woken up at 5am with some girls screaming and shouting in the bar, then on the corridors, slamming doors and just generally being noisy. When we went for breakfast in the morning it seemed that there were many unhappy people and a fight had broken out between the girls and another woman. Anyway that day we mooched around the pool as we did manage to get a sunbed and got talking to some of the other guests who were telling us how noisy the hotel had been the whole time they had been there, and to be honest we were beginning to realise the same. We started drinking quite early again that day, the boys decided to go on vodka fanta's and had had about 6 before I decided to needed an hours sleep, when I went back down they were up to 11 each but weren't as drunk as you'd expect which seemed strange, I tasted one of their drinks and there was definitely no vodka in it! Me and my friend went up into the other part to have some food whilst the boys challenged Mehmet on the vodka's, he was adamant that it was because they'd got used to the taste of it, well i'm sorry but that doesn't wash and the drinks that came after he had complained certainly had vodka in them it nearly blew my socks off when I tasted it! After that, as we had spent so much money in the bar and had been ripped off, we didn't eat or drink much in there, we spent our money elsewhere. the day after we did the mega Diana which was good, although not as good as last year. We decided to cancel the turtle beach as another guest told us that it wasn't great, too long on the boat, no turtles and the mud baths stink so as it was our last full day there we cancelled it and went into icemeler instead. There was something going on in the bar every night, the staff show wasn't up to much really, there was karaoke, break dancers and belly dancers etc.. no Turkish night which was unusual. The night before we left there was another kick off in the bar with the same girls at 5am by which time i'd had enough and so had every one else, it was the talk of the hotel but the staff didn't really seem to care. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed which was a god send as the whole bathroom flooded when you had your freezing cold shower in the morning. A lot of the guests were going across the road to the shop to get drinks and pass them over the wall which we clocked on to half way through the holiday. Oh and keep an eye on your bill, we paid ours every day. Drink prices change, we were told by some guests that they started drinking strawberry cider, it started off at 7 lira and went up and up and up to 15 lira.

The air con was £30 and the safe was £12.50. The exchange rate started at 3 lira, went down to 2.90 then back up to 3.10 whilst we were there.

So in summary, if you don't mind much sleep, watered down drinks, a free for all cos the bar doesn't shut, small rooms, no sunbeds, a murky pool cos they'd forgot to put chlorine in then this is the place for you.

Oh and a little tip for you: we got told 3 days in, watch out when you're walking down the road to the beach as there is an area of waste land where wild boar live, you're ok if there's a few of them together as they'll just run off, not so sure if there's one on its on, i'd probably be off like a shot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leese987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just home yesterday from a month in this hotel and had a great time. No complaints at all. Staff were friendly and helpful nothing was a problem always there to help if needed. Rooms are spotless clean. Food is delicious. Location is great only 5 min walk to main road. I will def be going back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

just got back from the seler hotel in marmaris we have been 8 times and dident think it could get any better but it has.mehmet keeps the place going like clockwork there is something for everyone entertainment every night from kareoke quiz night fire eater breakdancing bingo this place has everything .is very child friendly .with ewan and ali two great entertainers .the rooms are cleaned and the bedding changed every day.afantascic place .i have allready booked for next year and if you go in sept you can meet the legeng that is robert not to be missed please give it a try you wont be dissapointed

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmythejudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

just ending our holiday at the seler otel marmaris . Yet another great holiday enjoyed by us all we return here time after time. Small friendly family orientated hotel with fabulous staff, Mehmet,Nalan,Jimmy and Johan not forgetting Mustafa and all the management they are all so helpful and cannot do enough to ensure you have a great holiday. Rooms are clean and two great pools to relax beside, evening entertainment means that you don't have to go far to enjoy yourself. Food is delicious with everything cooked fresh at your request. Missing this place already we will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Finishing off our last day here.. me and my son aged 12.. had a wonderful time.. Thank you to all the staff.. Mehmet the manager.. Jim, ewan.. ali and all the rest of the seler crew.. youve made our holiday. Small hotel but nice and cosy 2 well kept swimming pools.. rooms are very clean but basic. All you need for your holiday. If you need anything at all Mehmet is youre man.. looking forward to coming back next year.. good place great people.. fantastic atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbadron2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

went in june going back soon and cannot wait to see their friendly faces.the staff are so friendly the food is excellent the drinks are good and not expensive rooms are clean the entertainment is good not far to the beach and the restaurants in the area are good alot of people like this hotel and go back year after year .we are going back for our 5th time soon and will see some regular faces.roll on holiday yeeeeee

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#47 of 234 in Marmaris
750 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloe Apart Hotel
Aloe Apart Hotel
#109 of 234 in Marmaris
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#70 of 234 in Marmaris
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
High Life Apartments
High Life Apartments
#58 of 234 in Marmaris
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sinem Hotel
Sinem Hotel
#73 of 234 in Marmaris
318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apart Green Park
Apart Green Park
#25 of 234 in Marmaris
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seler Hotel

Address: Sirinyer Mahkraranfil SOK 26, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £11 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Seler Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seler Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing