We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romance Hotel Marmaris
Ranked #49 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have returned after 2 weeks holiday Staff very friendly, rooms very clean, food very repetitive,
not a big selection of fruit at any time,breakfast poor,no pool bar as stated in holiday advert,the beach bar you had to pay for your drinks plus extra for your so called entertainment, we all were told if all inclusive your drinks were free?.
We book with Thomas Cook and paid for high sea view but was told it was a standered room we had my Wife had taken our booking info with her and produced it to Management as proof they then gave us a low side view as they said there was nothing more they could do. Two people we met from Wales had booked and paid for same and were put in a side room with no sea view, they complained and was told they could do nothing about it. They will never go to that hotel again. No Thomas Cook rep to complain to just a number to call in a emergency.
We and other residents were wakened up in bed in the early hours in the morning three times by girls who were knocking and trying to entry the rooms, they were also phoning rooms and laughing down the line when you answered, I complained to the reception and was told to leave the phone off the hook at all times. There is no front door security in the daytime and during the night to patrol the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    62
    42
    25
    13
See reviews for
84
94
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from a week all inclusive at this hotel and to say we are disappointed is an understatement !!! We found the staff rude and unfriendly to us on the whole especially the girls on reception, they didn't make any effort to even acknowledge any of our concerns and was much better towards other guests mainly from Russia. There is no entertainment and if it wasn't for the music playing from the waterpark next door the pool area was very quiet. The food was basic and cold, the drinks was extremely limited and they ran out of diet coke more than once. The towels wasn't changed daily as advertised in the brochure and balcony very small with only two chairs no table and there was 4 of us in a family room. On returning last night was the first time we actually seen a Thomas Cook rep and when I said to her about the hotel her response was " I could have told you that about the hotel" the final straw had to be when the maids mixed up all off the towels and folded them to pass off as new fresh towels the only way I spotted they wasn't was when I noticed make up on the towel and they was wet !! I spoke to the lad on reception who said he couldn't get me towels till the next day. I explained I wasn't happy and eventually got new towels but the next day came back to a snotty note about towels only been changed every two days. The same lad on reception couldn't help me with my return transfer to the airport and I had to find the information myself as he didn't know where it was kept. !!! Just poor on the whole and definitely wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trishyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent a week here in May 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves throughout. The hotel really is above average and does look stunning. There are, however, a few small things the hotel could do that would make the hotel perfect.

The Good:

1. The staff are friendly and helpful throughout, and even though there are a few that don't speak much English, they do their best to help.

2. The pool and public areas of the hotel are absolutely fantastic - spotlessly clean and was maintained very well.

3. There is a private beach with sun loungers for use by hotel guests. It's not exactly white sands but it is clean and (if you're willing to pay) they will bring drinks down to your table.

4. The room and bathroom was very clean. Maybe a little tired around the edges but nothing that a touch of paint wouldn't sort out and certainly didn't affect our stay.

5. The food, overall, is quite good however the selection isn't the widest, but that's to be expected in a hotel of this size. The chef in the evenings is very friendly, welcoming and always made the time to ask how our day had been. He actually spoke more English than many of the waiting/reception staff.

The Not So Good:

1. The 'All-Inclusive-Concept' that they promote, is clearly still a concept rather than a finished product and we did see a few people complaining about this during our stay. So, bear in mind that all-inclusive does NOT include: drinks at the beach bar, drinks on the beach, anything other than the local Beer, Vodka, Gin, Brandy and Whisky. It also does not include any ice creams etc.

2. The food choice is very continental, especially at breakfast where there is a wide selection of meats and cheeses, but very little in the way of an 'English' breakfast, unless you count chopped up hotdogs in tomato juice.

3. The TV lounge has a bigger range of English speaking channels including the Fox networks, but for us, was overpowered by the lobby music which is piped into there and apparently can't be switched off. Watching an episode of Homeland with someone murdering a Vivaldi track isn't ideal.

4. There is no entertainment, or at least, there wasn't when we were there. The only entertainment to be had was at the Bianco beach bar, and if you go down there for a drink, the cost of the entertainment is actually added to your bill.

5. The hotel is right next to the waterpark. Now for us, this wasn't a problem as we actually visited the waterpark a couple of times and quite enjoyed the music. The only issues we had were that there was no discount for hotel guests as had been previously discussed, and for some reason they didn't switch off the waterfall elements at night, so it was like sitting directly next to a fountain all night long.

6. Bit of a minor one, but there are no tea & coffee making facilities in the room as advertised. Only an issue as I like to have a coffee when I wake up and sit on the balcony, but accomplished the same by sitting by the pool.

As a quick side note, by far the most friendly, helpful and welcoming was the 2nd Manager (I believe his name is Gocan - apologies for spelling as that probably isn't right). He took the time out to introduce himself, shake our hand and welcome us to the hotel on the second day. It's the little things that make a holiday special and this was one. For the remainder of our stay, he was extremely helpful in pointing out markets, places of interest and even preparing us a cocktail from local ingredients which made the 'local alcohols' much more bearable!

Also got speaking to some lovely people which made the last few days of the holiday much nicer, as some of the Russian visitors weren't particularly friendly.

Overall, we would definitely stay again, but unless the All Inclusive Concept is rolled out to the beach bar, and includes a few more drinks, then we'll probably be going Bed & Breakfast instead.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little extra noise, rooms facing the waterpark make for an interesting view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reece F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I spent there a week in May. The hotel is not so bad but nothing special. Furniture in the room seem to be quite old. There were a few TV channels but you could feel happy if you know Turkish otherwise there is nothing to watch except CNN. The entertainment programme almost doesn't exist so you can sleep very well listening some live music. The restaurant staff don't speak English at all except one who spoke not so bad. Internet in the hotel had a good range but the speed was extremely slow. It was impossible to watch any films, youtube, etc. I tried to download a few hundred meg file from my cloud so it took me over 20 hours to complete the transfer. The food tasted fine but very monotonous. The positives are the personnel was very friendly and the price was not high.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Checked in here as our first hotel was a flea pot so we changed. Immediately made to feel very welcome and were more than happy to show my wife room before we paid and checked in. Her smile coming out of lift was all I needed to know. Lovely pool and breakfasts are ok if you like continental. Bar reasonably priced. Now for bad point. Showers badly designed and throw water around the screen making floor very slippy. So much so that my wife slipped and broke her hand and ended up in plaster. Didn't ruin our holiday but please be careful as could have been much worse.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel itself is nice but very boring at night no music and they stop serving drinks about 11.00pm no exception. Bar staff unhelpful, rude. Chef was very polite and friendly. Hope management will actually read their reviews and solve their situation soon. After this experience I don’t really fancy to go Turkey every again.

Room Tip: Simple choose different hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuzana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

i have written lots of reviews on here and unfortunately this is going to be my first negative review. this was my first trip to turkey with some girlfriends instead of family.firstly let me say the hotel is absolutely beautiful and furnished to a high standard and the pool area down to the beach was lovely.the all inclusive food was quite nice but the bar was not we got our drinks served to us in very well used plastic beakers!! the service was very slow and it actually seemed an effort for the barstaff to serve us on one occasion i asked for some ice and the girl poured some of my drink out picked some ice up with her hand and put it in my drink that is not ok.the managers would sit in the bar area in the evenings as would us customers one evening they were watching tv and as we were sat behind them chatting one got up glared at us and turned the tv up in the end we went and sat in the lobby as we felt uncomfortable. when we arrived we had 4 coathangers between 3 of us we asked if we could have a few more the girl replied tomorrow we never recieved them.whenever i needed any information i actually used the transltor on my phone as reception would look blankly at you but when she looked at my translation replied in english!!!! so unfortunately a lovely hotel is totally spoilt by the attitude of its very unfriendly staff and whereas i normally think yes i would use this hotel again for the first time ever i can quite honestly say i will not use this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jax24cams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.1 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
0.1 mi away
JDW Design Hotel
JDW Design Hotel
#45 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kahveci Alibey Hotel
Kahveci Alibey Hotel
#84 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#15 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#53 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#29 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romance Hotel Marmaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romance Hotel Marmaris

Property: Romance Hotel Marmaris
Address: Uzunyali 242 Sokak, Marmaris 47800, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Romance Hotel Marmaris 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance Beach Hotel is a place where an ideal holiday can be spent considering its spectecular design, its fabulous district, delicious gastronomical services, its cleanliness in and out the hotel and the joy it represents. Romance Beach Hotel is unique with its location being situated on a very important and beautiful touristic district of Marmaris. It is located at the heart of Marmaris directly at the beach where nightclubs, bars and various restaurants are found. Just from a walking distance, it is available to access to many shops, world cuisine restaurants and entertainment places varying from dance clubs to pubs and shopping malls. Romance Beach Hotel offers different types of accomodation to different types of pleasures. There are 22 standart durax-cube pavement covered rooms in which a television with satellite tv system, split air-conditioning system, a minibar, a telephone, wi-fi, an integrated shower, a personal safe box, a dressing table, a hair-dryer and a see-view in part are provided to our guests. In addition to the facilities we provide within the standart rooms to our guests there are additional a-plus features supplied within the 12 deluxe rooms which are renovated in 2011. These additional amenities are see view in full, a leather sofa, a wardrobe, an lcd tv, complimentary tea and coffee service. Besides our standart rooms and deluxe rooms, we offer 17 tripple room and 10 family rooms for our guests who would like to enjoy Romance Beach Hotel holiday as a family. Room service is 24 hours available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Romance Hotel Marmaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing