We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but bland boring food and unhelpful staff”
Review of Club Viva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Viva Hotel
Ranked #36 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but bland boring food and unhelpful staff”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

You really do get what you pay for, although we heard so many horror stories from Brits staying at other hotels, I think we were the lucky ones. The actual hotel is nice and the rooms are big and cleaned to a good standard. They have a pay tv package for £10 for the week which is worth getting. The pool is on the small side and the slide is really just for kids.  Right that's the good stuff, now the bad. The hotel staff are very unhelpful and unfriendly. Don't get a map from reception as they charge you and it's a terrible map!  The food is boring, bland, repetitive and processed. We ate out a few times as we got really bored of the food. If you want some really nice Turkisk food go to Minder Oscabar which is on the road to the beach.

Tips:
To get to the beach go out the hotel, walk to the right and take the first right (usually taxis parked on the corner). Its about a 15 min walk to the beach and you'll go past Minder restaurant which is good. Once you hit the main road cross over and walk down the side road to the beach.

To get to Marmaris town centre take the number 2 bus from outside the hotel.

At the beach the sunbeds near the Malibu beach bar are free and the staff are friendly.

On Wednesdays you can get the orange bus to Icmeler for the Market. You can get the bus from the main road near the beach or the town centre.

Don't eat at any if the nearby restaurants, all very average food.

The best excursion was the off road buggy ride. Really great value at £10 each and it's really good fun. Get prepared to get covered in mud head to toe!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kulsoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    262
    159
    89
    82
See reviews for
409
330
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HULL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Just arrived back Hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly & the bar staff were just manic.THe food was disgusting Chicken Pasta & meetballs every day with chips. All the food was cold even when the resturant had just opened with nowhere to reheat it.Not much choice of salad either.We had a room at the back which i dont think has been modernised yet a small balcony and a large brick wall.The Mosque next door only called out 5 times a day and the not for very long.Sun beds were a problem ( as anywhere never enough)

Room Tip: ask for oneoverlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Got back yesterday and having read some of the reviews before I left feel I should put my honest account. If you have booked to go to Club Viva and are reading these reviews on a regular basis (like I did) then you have nothing to worry about! The hotel was modernised during the early part of this year and our room was immaculate. The cleaner came daily leaving our room tidy.ALL staff were friendly, special mention to Gokhan, George, Denzil and of course Mastafa. They work extremely hard during very long days but always have time to stop and ask how you are. There are those who of course can not speak english but still smiled in your direction. I have always found people treat you as you do them. Yes the music is loud but it does add to the atmopshere and yes the guy in the Mosque does cry for pray at 6am but you are in Turkey!!! The food is OK and I managed to find a meal each day which filled me up. Both my wife and I paid less than £700 for the week which when you deduct the cost of the flight is very good value money. We had a great time and spent time with some remarkable people who I hope will now remain friends. Special thanks to Lol, Sonia, Lee, Kerry, Em, Phil, Lisa, Jess, Bobby, Andrew and the 3 Laurens all for making our holiday very special. Go there with the right attitude and you will have the time of your life.

Room Tip: Go with the right attitude
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Wakeyboy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Just returned from club viva and would not go back again.The hotel was very modern and the rooms in the new part (we stayed in room 415) was very nice. But the food at the hotel is very repertive, chicken. pasta and meat balls in every way shape and form breakfast was a joke,, but there is a bar just up the road where you can get a full euglish breakfast for £1.99 and its very nice.some of the bar staff are only intrested in serving you and been friendly to you if you are a young and single female....the noise from the bar was going on till 2to 3 in the morning then the mosque starts at 5.30 in the morning and it is loud.sunbeds think the pray from the mosque was a alarm call for some peole to get up and get there sunbeds signs all over hotel about not putting towels on beds befor 8 and they would be removed after an hour if not used is rubbish towels left on some beds all day and not moved...the entertainment is poor..
would not reccomend club viva,,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyboyHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We arrived at 5am and were greeted by friendly staff, which we found continued throughout the holiday. We read the reviews before we went so were aware of some of the down sides !!!
Yes the Mosque next door did wake us at 6am every day, and their loudspeaker pointed towards our hotel, but after a while you do seem to be able to ignore it to some degree. It became a bit of a joke after a while, and he became known as wailing Abdul. But, after all we were in Turkey !!!
The food was good, BUT, there was not much variation. That again became a bit of a joke. Chicken & more chicken !!
The pool area was slippery, but so are most pool areas ??
We got what we paid for, and enjoyed our holiday. In our case the flights were a bigger problem than the hotel. We had night flights both ways !!!
Overall, the hotel was clean, the staff were friendly, the food quality was good !
Pete Ex.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the pool, unless you like loud music until midnight !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Please ignore all the bad reviews and if your thinking about going, go see for yourself!! We were supprised so you might be too!
This is a genuine review. Im not blagging (Just trying to give you an idea) but weve stayed at 5* in the Carribean to 2* in Europe. We come to Viva for a cheap getaway. Payed around £400 which we thought was quite good. 
The Hotel is nice. Newly refurbed, modern. 
Our room was massive but balcony was tiny (Big enough to sit out for a cigerette in the morning and to hang your towels out) Just what you need it for really. Ours had two big rooms. One double bed and two singles. 2 aircon units, Dressing table, wardrobe, shelving unit, side board, fridge. The bathroom was big enough too. 
The staff are all friendly and will do anything for you.
The food is good but not excellent but there is enough range. There is a few nights when the chefs do specials (Omelettes in the morning which happend twice when we were there, crepes for lunch - 3 times, kebabs - once, stirfrys - once and bbq - once in the evening) so in 7 days not bad i dont think. Try resturants outside the hotel too!!
Pool area is big but quite busy and you do have to get up earlyish for a sun lounger. There is only one bar but they cope and i didnt have to wait more than 2 mins for a drink. Also soft drinks are in dispensers so help yourself. 
Drinks are in plastic cups (But they are in most bars around the Pool! You dont want glass in your foot do you!!) 
There is a mosque next door but its not a problem ... Think of it as an alarm clock. We never heard the early call, from what i remember it then sounded just before breakfast started, then just before lunch, then at about 4-5 to tell you to go upto your room to get ready, then around 7 when evening food was ready and by the next call your a little tipsy and quite like the sound of it! Athe the end of the day, its Turkish culture and if you dont like it dont go to Turkey!
For the location, Its about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach front or about £3-4 in a taxi.
I hope ive explained enough for where the bad reviews were made. Ha ha. We would definately go back!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mattierwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

When we arrived the asthetic value of the hotel was brilliant it looked very modern. The room its self was lovely for the two of us. Very up to date and clean. They were the only good points of the hotel.

Staff were not very helpful, and always seemed miserable. Service at the bar was poor. Pool area when wet was dangerous. Pool its self was nice but cold (can't really blame the hotel for that though)

Food at first was great I am a huge lover of chicken and pasta... but thats all they served. We ate out for 4 of the 7 days we were there. No great choice of food at all. Very salty and greesy.
same breakfasts everyday no choice again.

The hotels facilites are not very good at all. Pool table is expensive, Turkish bath is expensive and very invasive especially when your a woman.

I loved Marmaris it's my 10th time there but the was by the one of the worst hotels I have stayed at and the worst service and staff i have experienced. The cleaner and the man that worked in the market where the only people that smiled and said hello.

I wouldnt reccomend club viva at all.

Room Tip: ask for pool veiw they are the newest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.8 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#43 of 234 in Marmaris
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#50 of 234 in Marmaris
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#31 of 234 in Marmaris
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Club Anastasia
Club Anastasia
#7 of 234 in Marmaris
1,979 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
#46 of 234 in Marmaris
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Cettia Hotel
Grand Cettia Hotel
#16 of 234 in Marmaris
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Viva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Viva Hotel

Property: Club Viva Hotel
Address: Adnan Menderes BulvarI Armutalan, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#21 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Viva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Club Viva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Viva Marmaris
Hotel Viva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing