We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Rock Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week from 1-8 June 2012. They put us in a land view room which is just above the reception and quite noisy when you open the balcony door. The following day we upgraded to a side sea view room and had a brilliant time since. I strongly recommend all travellers stay in either a side or direct sea view rooms. And do some boat trips not bus trip to Pamukele as this sucks up all your sunny day on the bus.

The quality of food was so good that we did not have to go to any local restaurants and could not stop indulging in three course meals every day. This hotel may be new but hospitality, cleaniness and location has been spot on. If we both did not have to go back to work, we felt like staying behind for another week by the end of this holiday. A great hotel, you will not be disappointed and the staff are really friendly especially the father and son at reception. The reception father rarely smiles. When he does smile, it is like Turkish delight.

Room Tip: Upgrade to side sea view/ sea view, it is well worth the money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

for 20 years holidaying in marmaris this hotel is perfect true honeast opinon you will not be dissapoined

Room Tip: sea views are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kaz567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I went to the Golden Rock hotel with my family and can only describe the hotel as fantastic. The staff went out of their way to help/entertain us.The food was delicious and you had lots to choose from. Everywhere was spotless and you had security staff both at the front and back of the hotel which made you feel at ease that no-one apart from guests were on the premises.

The only negative thing I could say was that the resident hairdresser was very rude and persisent with trying to get our custom, if fact he was lucky we did not report him, he definately needs to change his manner trying to get custom, so be warned!

Apart from that I would recommend anyone to visit this hotel and it is definately 5*+

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank igiveupagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

never taken the time to write a review before but felt just had to say something about this fantastic hotel as its too good to overlook. We are literally just back and moved to the golden rock from the grand pasa which was just too busy for us. The golden rock was absolutely superb and we were made so welcome by the manager and all the staff. The rooms were outstanding, classy and special. All staff were superb esp the spa guy who helped on several fronts as did the hairdresser. Cobra at the bar was very friendly and entertaining and yes the entertainment staff made their presence known. Only comment there is the guys should leave you to sleep rather than waking you up to say hello????...and definitely no soaking guests with water pistols......apart from that they did put the effort in to make everyone feel welcome..jay especially. Food was really good and choices were plentiful. Drinks at the bar were also good. We are already looking to book up again for September so that in itself speaks volumes. Give this hotel a go as you wont be disappointed...Outstanding. the manager has done a great job here. Brian and Marion Glasgow

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have just returned from one of the best holidays we have ever had at the Golden Rock Beach Hotel Marmaris, the hotel is brand new with a luxurious feel and was officially opened while we there by one of the countries top politicians with the full red carpet treatment and a cocktail party which all guests were invited to.

Our holiday was made so special with the friendly staff at the hotel especially Jay & Charlie from the entertainment team who were fantastic and Cobra who ran the poolside bar who was funny and looked after us the whole time..

The food was 10 out of 10 and had enough choice for everyone including the kids, all the facilities at the hotel where excellent including the rooms, our sea view room had stunning views.(sea-view a must)

The hotel is ideally located on the beach-front and there are bars and restaurants right outside the door.

There is also a fantastic health spa at the hotel and the guy who ran this was another big plus for the hotel he did not hassle you he was extremely helpful, friendly and polite. We are definitely going to stay at the hotel again, it was ideally located, spotlessly clean,and fantastic entertainment.
The hotel managers were excellent very helpful, polite and professional.

Thank-You

Room Tip: sea views are excellent from room 336
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jayne233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed at golden rock on the 8th may after being moved over from grand pasa as I was unhappy with the view At grand pasa. Golden rock had just been opened on 1st may. As soon as I entered golden rock I knew it was modern luxury. I was given a room with a sea view and all the staff was very helpful. Only down point was the food wasn't the best a repeat of the same thing a la carte food was nice so try that out.
Entertainment guys were fab Charlie and Jay. And also the hairdresser Zohan.
I would Defo go back to golden rock maybe in 2yrs time and see how much has changed as we weren't of the first guests At this hotel. Room 430 was our room. An amazing view

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Missgill91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at the Golden Rock Hotel for 10 nights from 4th May to 14th May.  The hotel only officially opened on 5th May but we arrived a day earlier and we only the third couple to check in.  Of course, with this being a new hotel, we were worried that we would arrive to find that it wasn't ready but we needn't have worried.  We arrived at around midnight after a long day and were shown to a nice room by very friendly reception staff.

We realised that this was effectively a 'soft opening' so we had prepared ourselves to find a number of problems.  It is fair to say that there were some minor initial niggles but the hotel seemed to have considered this well by offering lots of help and some 'freebies', for example, all early guests were upgraded to sea view rooms regardless of what they had booked.

We had booked on the basis of pictures that were an artist's impression but we were surprised by how accurate the images were.  The finished article is almost identical to the web site impressions.

The rooms are nice, obviously very clean as we were the first occupants.  There is a lack of shelving and drawers for clothes but we were able to make do and I understand that the hotel is likely to rectify this by putting shelves into the wardrobes.  We had to keep some of our smaller items of clothing in our cases (socks, underwear etc.).  There was however plenty of hanging space although there were no hangers but this was quickly rectified even at 1am.

All rooms are identical with one double bed and one single bed.  We thought this was a mistake, it would be better to have some king sized beds but we can understand why the hotel has done this as it makes it easier to accommodate children.

For the first day, the restaurant wasn't fully operational so we were offered either the opportunity to eat at sister hotels locally or the chef would cook us absolutely anything that we wanted.  After the first day, the buffet restaurant was fully operational.  The food was very good but fairly repetitive with lots of turkey and chicken used.  Most people were very happy with the food but we usually make extensive use of à la carte restaurants so we found this to be a drawback.  With the opening of the à la carte restaurant, this won't be so much of a problem.

The à la carte restaurant wasn't due to open until after we left so we were offered a special meal either in a separate part of the restaurant or al fresco.  It really was very nice.

We were disappointed that the hotel charges 2 Euros per day for safe deposit boxes, we have not had this for about 10 years in 5 star hotels, although the charge for us was waived as the staff could not get the safes working and we had to spend time working it out for ourselves and then writing instructions for other guests - please don't think we are being dumb not being able to sort out how to lock a safe deposit box, the operation really is different to most others we have seen.

The hotel gives you bottled water in the room on arrival but after that, it is chargeable.  We feel that charging for safe deposit boxes and water is a mistake that the hotel will regret as it will attract adverse comments.

All of the staff were very friendly and efficient.  At the beginning of the holiday, they were obviously new to the job and you could see the looks of trepidation on their faces.  Over time they learnt the ropes and started to relax.  Bar service at the main bar was very much hit and miss depending on who was on duty but this was the only troublesome area of service.

Jay and Charlie, the local entertainment staff were excellent and very keen to ensure that you had a great time.  My wife tells me that they make every woman regardless of age feel special!  I am sure that they will break some younger guests hearts!  The pool was superb and the sunbeds very comfortable.  We thought that better sand could have been imported for the beach but that is just our preference.  It was darker and more singly than that at neighbouring hotels.

The hotel is well located, one of the last ones in Marmaris before leaving the town on the road to Icmeler.  The hotel is just a few steps across the promenade from the beach.  Icmeler is a nice 45 minute walk in one direction and the main centre of Marmaris a similar distance in the other direction.  This was great first thing in the morning as there was no rush for sunbeds.

Leaving the front of the hotel the dolmas for both Icmeler and Marmaris stops right outside and the cost is 2.50 Turkish Lira per person.  The water taxi back from Icmeler will drop you off about 200 metres from the hotel and the cost of this is 10 Turkish Lira per person.

If you want to venture out of the hotel, there are plenty of friendly bars and restaurants just across the road, also along the road towards Marmaris and on the promenade.  You really will not run out of options and the costs are very reasonable compared to other areas of Turkey.

Over the 10 days that we were there, new things were completed every day and by the time we left, nearly everything was operational.  We had a great time and are considering going back later in the year.

We can only really give the hotel 4 stars for the period of our visit because it was work in progress but I am sure that returning now, we would have no hesitation in awarding a 5 star review.  The guest relations lady was more than happy to sit down with my wife to listen to and act on feedback.  We thought that the hotel was very positive in this respect.  Many problems do not become apparent until things start to become operational and guest sleep in the rooms.  Things like needing a bin in the bedroom, a hook on the bathroom door etc.  we mentioned lack of bins one day and then suddenly 300 arrived for the next day.  We have to applaud their efforts.

We would probably not recommend the hotel for wheel chair users as there are a few but not many steps which would be difficult to negotiate.  Apart from that, there are no real problems.

We were particularly impressed that free wifi is available virtually anywhere in the hotel, including most rooms.  Downloading newspapers, listening to UK digital radio and using FaceTime and Skype to call home all worked well and usually reliably.  This might of course change as more guests make use of the services - when we left there were still well under a hundred guests in the hotel which can accommodate more than 600 people.

All of the fixtures and fittings were of high quality, lighting, seating etc., and a fortune has obviously been spent.  Given the quality of the decor, it would be better if some rules were introduced to ensure that these do not get ruined.  When the hotel is fully operation, for example, it would be better if wet swimwear was not allowed in the main restaurant at lunch time - as the snack bar was a few days behind schedule, all meals were served inside during the day.

Hotel management were walking around regularly asking if people were having a good time and this showed a lot of commitment to ensuring that this will become one of the best hotels in the resort.

My wife used the hairdressers and I used the spa for a Turkish bath and massage.  Both were professionally run and very reasonably priced.  We thoroughly recommend them.

The General Manager is very approachable and runs a good operation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank HolmfirthWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#21 of 234 in Marmaris
2,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
0.4 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Beach Hotel

Address: Siteler mah.Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:41, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: £48 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Rock Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Stayforlong S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Rock Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing