We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Rock Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just back last week from 2 weeks in the Golden Rock and had a great time. This hotel has only been opened since May 2012 and although I could find a few faults overall it is a really good hotel (not a 5 star but it wouldn't take much to fix any problems). Location is fabulous right on the beach with fabulous views, private beach but it's very stoney rather than a sandy beach. Rooms are really nice, try for a room with poolview then you will also get a seaview. We had paid extra for a side seaview as there was no option for a full seaview and when we arrived in the early hours of the morning found that our room, although lovely, overlooked both the road and the sea but was closer to the road view, my husband spoke to receptionist next morning and requested that we were moved. It was pointed out to him that they had given us a room as requested but they moved us without problem as the hotel was only half full.
Food was really good although predictably repetative, always plenty of choice and good quality. A special word of thanks to our waiter Ilyas who looked after us so well during our stay.
Drinks were fine probably weaker that we are used to but that meant that we had fewer hangovers. We mostly stayed in the lobby bar in the evenings and the staff there are brilliant especially the lovely Ela, Esra and Sadik who made our stay such fun.
The evening entertainment was not the best and was aimed more towards younger people although we did enjoy the turkish dancers, there was not much more that interested us and we spent most of our evenings in the lobby which I feel would benefit from some kind of entertainment to keep the more mature guests happy.
The animation team were lovely.
The spa is recommended we had a turkish bath, and massage on our first day and I have to say it was the best I've ever had and really good value.
To bring this hotel up to 5 star status would not take a lot, the things we felt should were not up to standard were bedding, no top sheets and just a small cover that was not big enough, no hand soap at wash basins and no cosmetics although we did have a shoe horn and a sewing kit! The safe also had to be paid for which we don't feel is acceptable, we have stayed in hotels before where you paid a refundable deposit and feel this would be a better option.
Overall we had a great holiday and met some lovely people.
This is a really good hotel with more positives than negatives, if I was going to Marmaris again I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a poolview floor 3 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerri37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    278
    135
    36
    29
See reviews for
242
384
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Me and partner have just got back from our holiday to turkey about a week ago... This was the first time to turkey. The hotel was great overall the food was brilliant but a bit repetitive. The staff were helpful especially reception manager ugur and the night shift manager... The hotel is beautiful and always kept clean and tidy... The rooms were good but we had to upgrade due to the road traffic even though the hotel was only 60% full when we arrived and the sea view and pool view rooms were empty but we had to pay to upgrade. The beds were very small our feet would hang off the end but all the beds were the same size in all rooms. The hotel has a indoor spa, photographer and a hairdressers. The HAIRDRESSERS were the most arrogant and rudest people we have ever met they were unprofessional and ill mannered. My partner had his hair cut from them they ruined his hair and when we tried to explain how we wanted it they were so rude apart from that they were drinking with other guests especially the Russians. They made us and other guests feel uncomfortable. The guest relations were extremely unhelpful when we tried to make them aware of the unprofessionalism of people employed by them and other guests they refered us to a form in our room! Apart from the hairdressers and a few little inconveniences caused due to the Russians the hotel was spot on...

Room Tip: The land view rooms arevfacing the main road which is extremely noisy but we upgraded to pool view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Have just come back from a week at Golden Rock, travelling with my husband and teenage daughter. Mostly excellent, there were a couple of things that could be easily sorted and then it would be extremely excellent. Not-so-brilliant things first. Beds were hard! There weren't enough bed covers or towels but getting them from the housekeeping team was very easy and dealt with on the spot. The pool is quite small and is 1.5m all the way round so isn't suitable for short non-swimmers; a separate kiddies pool is attached. The main pool was used mainly by swimmers rather than splashers-about so this might suit some people. I would have thought, given the age range of the guests, that there could have been an entertainment session in the evening in the lounge, perhaps with a singer and even some dancing. Entertainment was outside where it could get quite chilly. It seems like the entertainment team are catering for all ages but because they were young, themselves, they probably do a better job with the younger guests. Our daughter went off with them to Bar Street and had a fantastic time and made a lot of friends.

On the plus side, staff were great and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and queries were dealt with immediately. Food was very good and plentiful. The all-inclusive deal saves you a lot of money and we took full advantage of this. Shame there wasn't any free ice cream! The room and the whole hotel was spotless. Everywhere you looked, staff were working. Towels changed every day and no problem about water saving in this hotel. (There was a soap dispenser but no toiletries which you might have expected.) Definitely go for a sea view room. The room was large but we were on a corner so it was a small balcony with half walls between the balconies. Other rooms had a concrete divider all the way up. No problem for us but in the height of the summer might be a problem being on top of your neighbours. The hotel is in an excellent location with easy transport. Would definitely recommend Golden Rock to any age range except maybe large groups of young people as the hotel is very quick to deal with excessive noise.

Room Tip: Strange covers on the bed - more like a throw with no sheet. Ask for extra covers if you need them a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We arrived back home this morning after staying at the Golden Rock for 5 nights.
We were booked in to stay in a disgusting apartment in Icmeler and after one night decided we deserved something special so we planned to walk into every hotel along the street in Marmaris, but we walked into Golden Rock first and fell in love with it.
We booked straight through the desk and paid the advertised room rate which worked out as £50 each per night for myself and my boyfriend. This included ALL meals, snacks and drinks! We didn't spend one lira inside the hotel after making the booking.
The place was incredible, the rooms modern and well-kept. The pool area cleaned every night and kept tidy, the restaurant spotless. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The animation team were very entertaining. The only thing I would have preferred is a bit more quiet around the pool during the day whereas they played a lot of music or occasionally made announcements. But this is the only thing I can criticise.
Evening entertainment good, outside behind the pool area. Usually bingo or a quiz and karaoke, Turkish dancing or some kind of game show type games with audience members.
Loved the spa - thanks Fatima! Turkish bath was not at all rushed, not a production line but a personalised treatment for myself and my boyfriend.
Would love to go back.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool and ocean, the closer to the ocean you get, the closer to the ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This hotel is amazing lovely 5* beachfront location. There was always something to eat and lovely presentation with loads of choice. We ate out once and did not enjoy as much as the food in the hotel. Restaurant and bar staff friendly and efficient - again the choice of drinks plentiful with proper sprite fanta, coke, efes beer etc. Rooms cleaned on a daily basis. The entertain ment staff were amazing and made our holiday thanks to Jamal, BooBoo, Sonic and Bushra for looking after us on bar street!! Every night there is a free shuttle bus into Marmaris bars and clubs and a free bus back, the drinks are a bit pricey but is a brill night out. Always something on in the day like darts and table tennis competition and evening entertainment. We didnt have time to watch the tv in the room. Amzing holiday thanks again to all the staff at Golden Rock!! We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: we were at the front of the hotel and had sun and slight view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Just returned 2 days ago from Marmaris staying at Golden Rock Beach Hotel and already miss the place))) It's very hard to come back to reality after such a fantastic fairytale 10 days... everything about the hotel is excellent: staff are amazingly friendly and helpful, food is delicious, everywhere spotlessly clean, specially pool..I wonder, how they manage to keep it sooo clean)))) location is simply great, and if you take sea view room, then bingo!!! it's just a pleasure to sit at the balcony and..just look.... big, big thanks to all the staff for making our holiday such an unforgettable time..special huge thanks to entertaiment team; to Sonic for the great music, to Jamal, Bushra, Bugra for the amazing fun evenings!!! seperate big thanks for the reception lady- Nilay. Thank you all, and we are already planning to come again ASAP))))

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elegantlyrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We checked in for three days whilst staying at a self catering apartment in marmaris which was horrible . we had a room facing the road which was quite noisy I would def pay extra for the sea view as sitting on the balcony was not relaxing at all.our room was lovely and I really liked the huge shower cubicle. It was a bit cold at night and there was only a small throw no rugs. The food and drink were great yes a bit repetitive but lots of nice salads and desserts. I would have expected a bit more variety and themed nights I would have liked a Better selection off fruit but that will probably improve in the summer months. We always got a table in the dining room and we found the service was better after we had tipped.we tried the ala carte one night which was nice had to pre order our food in the morning which I did not expect .i had a hot stone massage for 30 pounds it was the best massage I've had. We did not think much of the entertainment finished at 11pm and consisted of bingo and karaoke.would def expect a bit more from a 5 star.i enjoyed my stay the best bit was the beachfront location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#18 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#23 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Rock Beach Hotel
Address: Siteler mah.Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:41, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Rock Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Rock Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing