We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful unspoilt coastal town and beaches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Datca Peninsula

Datca Peninsula
Book In Advance
More Info
US$335.00*
and up
7-Night Turkish Coast Cruise from Bodrum
Ranked #19 of 66 things to do in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mirfield
Level Contributor
163 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful unspoilt coastal town and beaches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Datca not yet open to tourists in the middle of May - main season does not start until later in June, so few bars, restaurants fully operational,few dolmus/ buses running except to outlying towns and cities over on the Bodrum peninsula.Many beaches still had winter debris needing to be cleared. Loved the laid back, unspoilt town of Datca, but may be spoiled as the new marina development gets underway in the next few years, when tourism will attract lots of 'yachties' trying to pose on their boats , just as they do in Cannes. Visited lots of little bays and beaches whilst travelling on gulet cruise sailing from Marmaris ,around the Datca peninsula and in a taxi whilst visiting Knidos, Palamutbuku and Mesudiye from Datca

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TitchMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    27
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not a lot of action”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Apart from Knidos there is not a lot to visit. But for a quiet break it ticks the boxes. Places such as Bozburun, Datca are pleasant places to say

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank robinhbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

beautiful, clean and paradise. Cant express in words how much I love this place. The sand is soft and white, crystal clear water, fantastic waves, be careful though, they are powerful

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank calderuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Magical Knidos and Dacta peninsular.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We approached the ancient city of Knidos on a gulet boat having passed along the beautiful coastline of the Dacta peninsular. Mooring in the bay we walked from the place where ancient galleons would have moored when trading with Knidos.
The view from the sea of the semi circular amphitheatre wets your appetite to stroll all the way up the steep streets and through the old ruins. The entrance fee is tiny and we had the place almost to ourselves as we wandered all over the hillside surrounded by pieces of walls and pillars and even an ancient sundial. You get a complete feel for what it must have been like when teeming with people. A group of ten of us sat in the seats of the semi- restored amphitheatre to see what it must have been like in its heyday. We then sang songs from musicals on the centre of the stage and experienced the wonderful acoustics. It is a beautiful place to see and afterwards you can go and sit under the trees at the seaside cafe for refreshing drinks and healthy fresh foods and fruits. We would all highly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank theresalwaysone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Maramis- Datca- Knidos, a great drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We drove the Datca Peninsula in mid-November. The weather was beautiful ~20 degrees, and it was sunny. The trip to the Knidos ruins at the end of the road takes abut 2 hours but can take longer depending on how long you stop along the way. It is definitely worth the trip, scenery is spectacular with the Aegean on one side and the Mediterranean on the other. There was no one else at the 5-6th century BC ruins of Knidos when we were there, likely due to the time of year but we were very glad we went. It is a large site that can take a couple of hours to full appreciate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Datca Peninsula also viewed

Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 
Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 

Been to Datca Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing