We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Faros - excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Faros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Faros
Ranked #72 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand Faros - excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My partner and I returned a week ago and our stay was so lovely we can give nothing but 5 stars! We stayed half board and the food was very impressive, dinner was different every evening, grilled fish, chicken, salads definitely try the Turkish pizza. Breakfast was a nice break from British weetabix! nice choice of bread, eggs cooked to your choice, fresh fruits, tomatoes and olives. The pool area is just right, we never had a problem getting a sun lounger, very clean and relaxing atmosphere. The service manager was the face of the hotel, not stuck in an office, he was friendly and very helpful. The staff, we take our hats off to, they work VERY HARD to make your stay an enjoyable one and are so efficient. As we were half board we ate lunch/snacks at the hotel some days, a baguette and chips 10tl (£3.00) Drinks were cheap, they had a cocktail of the day every day for 10tl, you must try these!

Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable and they are cleaned everyday plus every room has its own balcony. The hotel is 10 mins away from Marmaris beach via the free mini bus which runs back and forth at set times morning, afternoon & evening. One day we got the minibus into Marmaris and hopped on the no.4 bus to Icemeler which was only 5/10 mins away, we preferred this to Marmaris as it was quieter and the views were beautiful.
We went on a boat trip, 10-4pm lunch included and unlimited drinks we paid 35tl (£12 each) this was an amazing day out and would recommend to anyone visiting Marmaris.

We loved our stay - thank you to all at the Faros. We're looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    130
    53
    37
    31
See reviews for
105
175
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Grand Faros hotel made my vacation better. i tried another hotels before in marmaris and i had troubles but in Grand Faros everything was great. staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was so nice. it's a nice place to spend your holiday

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmw1150gsadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Grand Faros with my partner. We stayed full board simply for the security of having our meals paid for (I do panic! So just for peace of mind). Breakfast was quite disappointing, only 4 warm options each day usually baked beans, boiled egg, tomatoes and the 4th changed daily. There was the usual cereals, breads, fruit and cheeses. English breakfasts are available all over marmaris though from 8-20lira (£2.50-£7). Lunch and dinner was much better large choice of salad and pastas, then dinner also includes a bbq of some sort (although we were put off by the chicken he was cooking as he was piling the raw on top of the cooked on the bbq). Puddings Are amazing! Dinner is served outside around the pool so you need to get there when it opens (7:30-9) if you do not like to eat in the dark or want the flashing lights from the evening entertainment in your eyes.
Entertainment was fine, we saw some good dancers, a snake show, karaoke and bingo but this was from our balcony (as we were getting ready to go into the centre!) Silence within the hotel by 12, although the music was never loud.
Prices of drinks were reasonable - 5-6lira for soft drinks and cocktails etc starting from 10tl.
Our room was on the 5th floor which seemed to be all the double rooms. These were all built in to a loft conversion, so the room had (not technical terms I apologise to all the builders) slopping points from the ceiling to create the points that you may see in photos of the outside. This was really impractical for me being 5"11 as i hit my head moving around the bed in a compact room (if you are tall do not ask for a high floor, we do because they are usually quieter but it is generally a quiet hotel anyway). The room was decorated lovely, recently refurbished and had everything you needed for a base. Storage was ok, double wardrobe and 3 shelves. Had to store my suitcase under sink in bathroom though as there was no room else where. Bathroom was a little dated, but you can put toilet paper down the toilet which is one of the few places we found in Turkey that you actually could! Cleaners came every day, towels always changed and did a quick clean - never swept the floor though which was annoying when you were climbing into bed having to dust off your feet! Air con was free in your room and is a must! Safety deposit box was payable on arrival (believe it was 45tl per week) but it came with a big key instead of key code which you find in most hotels now, which isn't great to carry around.
The pool area was adequate, the main Pool is deep 1.6m throughout. Although there is a tiny circular pool for children that is very shallow. We found it very easy to get a sunbed each day we stayed at the hotel, although it does close early due to the staff having to set out the tables and chairs and begin bbq for dinner. Snacks served at bar until 4 were reasonable just the usual pizza, burgers, chips and pasta. (From 9-25tl).
The rest of the hotel was very clean and tidy and staff were very helpful and friendly. We never once felt that the staff were miserable or rude like other reviews state (its just the other people on holiday that we found to be the most arrogant!)
The hotel provide a minibus to the beach which is great. It only runs at certain times so we thought we would wait outside a bit before the time to ensure we had a seat! This went straight out the window once the bus approached, people flocked from everywhere and rushed on the bus! I don't like to say but we were the only Brits on the bus and this lack of knowledge of quing happened in most places so you just have to go for it to secure your seat and dinner! Although the driver did go back to collect the few people that didn't manage to get a seat. Bus journey is less than 10 min and drops you to another hotel where you have free use of their sunbeds on the beach. This part of the beach is long Beach which is where the cheaper bars are compared to Bar Street. I didn't venture to Bar Street as everything we needed was on long Beach (quieter bars instead of clubs too).
Outside the hotel is also where the bus picks you up (number 4) and takes you into the centre of marmaris for 1tl. They run regularly and quite late. Drops off back outside the hotel too.
The location of the hotel was nice for us as we could walk to the various bars, shops and restaurants within 30 min but we were away from the hustle and bustle. The main roads are very busy and they like the sound of their horns! But we couldn't hear very much of this.
Next to the hotel is a supermarket called Kipa (part of Tescos) this was great to buy a few bottles of water for excursions etc.
Places we visited that deserve a mention - summer breeze. Amazing restaurant with beautiful food for lunch or dinner and the staff are really lovely.

We booked our excursions through a travel agency Booth that you will see dotted all over the place. Some are fine, others are not so great (few stories heard of people not having a return transfer booked) We took a risk because I couldn't find the one that was recommended on here! But it paid off and we had some amazing experiences at very good prices compared to others (esp the reps from UK travel agencies almost three times more they were charging people to be on the same trip as us). As you reach the bottom of the road that the hotel is on, you will be on the main road. Cross over carefully! Facing the shops going right will take you to the main strip by following the road round but going left and following the road will lead you to a cemetery, just past this you will see the travel agency we used. Highly recommend, every transfer arrived on time and the trips were just as described if not better! We took a trip to Turtle beach, the water park and went scuba diving (beginners dive). You will be amazed at the price of the trips, most of the Booth agencies are roughly the same but our trips were between £15-30 each.
I can't fault our holiday to marmaris, the location and activities and food that was available was brilliant. Iv normally felt ready to go home by the last day on holiday but this is the first time I'd have happily stayed and explored more of just marmaris never mind the rest of the surrounding areas. Just brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kelly456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have always found it to be friendly and clean. The rooms have air conditioning, which is an essential asset. The staff are are very attentive without being familiar . The service manager Tamer Erol is excellent making sure that all guests are looked after well. The food is very good with lots of choice. The pool and surrounding area is kept clean, the music not loud or overbearing. Overall a place to relax. A free bus is provided if you wish to go to the beach or town as the hotel is situated away from the main hotel areas. This proved to be an asset, creating a peaceful environment and not at all inconvenient for families with children or groups of friends. A supermarket is within walking distance (5mins) from hotel for all needs if required. I would recommend the Faros and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CYnthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have just come back from holiday and felt I had to write about this hotel, from walking into the hotel the reception staff were very polite and helpful, the rooms are great with air conditioning and are very clean with clean towels and your room cleaned every day. The staff around the pool area are always very polite some speak more English than others, the service manager Tamer is so professional,and polite and nothing is to much trouble he would sort out anything you wanted the service was excellent and the whole experience at the hotel was excellent. The hotel is slightly out of the town and the beach which we liked there is a bus that will take you to the beach which is no hassle. The food at the hotel is excellent and anybody who has moaned about it must be very fussy eaters I will be returning to this hotel can't rate it enough

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoad59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

It seems to be the norm to arrive in the middle of the night on these cheaper package deals and I was surprised how helpful the staff were.(especially ibrahim)We hadnt eaten dinner and arriving at 6am the restaurant wasn't open for breakfast so it was a surprised to find sandwiches prepared and waiting for us in our hotel room .
I found the hotel to be a family focused hotel were it was easy to relax and chill out.In fact the one thing i liked was the waiters don't hover around waiting for a command but they are there if you need them.
I found the room clean and comfortable but there were some minor holes in the linen (no big deal).
There was a large selection of salads at dinner and a very small selection of vegetarian meals .
In August there was a BBQ every night by the pool and the main meals consisted of : turkey in gravey ,lasagne,lamb chops ,speggetti ,Turkish pizza and kebabs( meatballs ) with chips,frys,and roast potatoes. The food was nice but more canteen rather than top restaurant.I found the array of deserts to be very good and the breakfast buffet to be more than enough.(even though the coffee cups are too small).
The only negative point was sometimes we wanted to pay cash for our drinks at dinner time but the staff insisted we put it on our bill.
The grand faros hotel is situation 15-20 minute walk from marmaris seafront and the buses run very frequently ,but if you are using the hotels private beach at the seafront the sunbeds are FREE! But the waiters might try and trick you into paying or force you to buy a drink.You have been warned campers!
Overall we would recommend this hotel and will look forward to returning in the not too distant future..
Mr &Mrs Fitzgerald ,Leicester Uk

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper and have the windows open you might find the rooms at the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zohra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Very good hotel, clean and nice rooms, air conditioning made rooms comfortable. Staff were excellent very friendly, food was good standard plenty of choice, Turkish bath is a must. 10 minutes on bus from outside hotel to centre of marmaris. Kipa supermarket very close, excellent for a family holiday, will be returning next year. Arrived late and was offered food and a drink as had missed evening meal. All the staff always had smiles on their faces,

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are noisy when entertainment on a night, back rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boro1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmaris
0.5 mi away
Club Viva Hotel
Club Viva Hotel
#39 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Palmea
Hotel Palmea
#58 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Almena Hotel
Almena Hotel
#197 of 234 in Marmaris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kervansaray Marmaris
Kervansaray Marmaris
#7 of 28 in Armutalan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#31 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Anastasia
Club Anastasia
#4 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Faros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Faros

Property: Grand Hotel Faros
Address: Cami Avlu Mevkii Cevreyolu Cad., Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Faros 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand Hotel Faros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing