We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quiet hotel on the edge of town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Faros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Faros
Ranked #71 of 233 Hotels in Marmaris
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good quiet hotel on the edge of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

A mixed experience so lets start on the positives:
The Good Bits
The hotel is in a very quiet area on the edge of town so there is no racket if you want to sleep at night. The rooms are tidy, clean, well maintained and the staff friendly. There is a regular and cheap bus from the door to the waterfront which drops off just 200 yards from bar street. The pool is tiny but properly maintained and clean. A good 3 star standard, ignore the claims it's any better than that.
The bad bits
The food was very basic and rather monotonous. The food safety was very poor, raw and undercooked meat being served twice in one week that we saw.
The pool area doubles up as the outdoor dining area which means lots of noise each evening as they get set up, and the same again at 7am when they lay out the sun loungers. Don't take rooms 100 - 110 unless you are okay with this.
Marmaris was great, and the hotel would be too if you eat out.

Room Tip: Go for a room higher than ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greygra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    130
    53
    37
    31
See reviews for
105
175
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

just home after holidaying at this hotel and was so disappointed, our friends have been three times before and thoroughly enjoyed it but this year was big let down, rooms very small and not very clean insect splatted on walls behind bed and drawers filthy, we had our bed changed once in eleven days, maid came in every day only to mop over floor and leave towels (only if you left others on floor or they wouldnt get changed), never once seen her with cloth or cleaning toilet ended buying cleaning products ourselves, breakfast was quite poor either boiled egg or omelette cereal, toast and preserves were ok, lunch seemed to be leftovers from the night before and the evening meals were so mundane and repetitive everyone was sick of looking at chicken, couple of helpful staff but the rest were not interested, very noisy at night especially in corridors , mentioned this to reception and manager but taken no notice of, seriously considered booking flight home early, the noise the staff made in the morning was a joke scraping chairs across floors banging doors, no consideration at all, no entertainment at all no wonder bar area was empty, towards end of holiday bar had no beer cola lemonade they just said oh the were closing at end of week. We paid for a holiday that we did not get and are very disappointed. oh and the cats are everywhere

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizf362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Me And my family been on 16 of oct 2013 the staff are friendly rooms are clean and service excelent.i will recommend it to every one.This was first time i been but the staff were always there to help and the weather was so nice i will definately go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liaqat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend. Weather was excellent 29C / 30C. Grand faros is average compared to uk hotels but probably above average to other 4stars in turkey.
The hotel is situated in a quiet area 20/25 min to city centre in my opinion to far...(taxi 12 /13 TL ).
Room was small but nice decorated .Bathroom, toilet looks old... need renovation. Room have air con, safe (but you need a pay for that ) , minibar with drinks (fanta,coke 4TL, ,water 2TL ).You are not allowed have food and beverege from outside ,signs then appeared around the hotel. They expected us to buy ALL drinks from the hotel bar/mini bar, I m travelling a lot... sometimes I like try some local products drinks/sweets...from small shops I dont like drink all the time fanta/ coke or stuff from bar .But it's good business for hotel.The breakfast was ok, nothing special, same food 7 days.If you want orange juice, you need to pay 7 TL ! Stuff working hard but some stuff making comments about you in Turkish. Extra charge for late check out ( 35TL till 4pm and 75 till 9pm ). Nice Spa. Overall good value to price, and I will recomend this place to people on buget holidays.
Marmaris is a very small town, and if you stay there too long will get quite monotonous. Everything to do is based in the small marina district which you can walk in half an hour. The best take some trips:
boat trips/jeep safari/rhodos/ :) ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stopped at this hotel for 1 week it was good extremity clean. Breakfast was ok nothing special .
But diner was very nice I would stay here agin .the bathroom was very dated and dark. The beds were very comfy and clean. The pool was average size. This hotel is not to far from the town it is only a 5-10 minute walk and about 10-15 to the beach. The hotel has its own free bus which takes you to the town 3 times a day. The hotel also has a restraint with a privet beach witch you can use for free.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brooklynk_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just back from our 2nd vist to the Faros very enjoyable,just a few points lack of night entertainment possibly due to being end of season,food was fab but a bit more choice at breakfast would be good.Special thanks to Tamer and his staff who looked after us had a laugh.all in all a great holiday see you in 2014 hopefully.x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stay in Faros for week on my holidays in Marmaris. I check in late ( 11pm ) as I have late fly from London. Nice and quick check in with no problems. Room really small but nice. Bathroom look old. Water is not that hot, but after couple days is fine - there was really hot outside. Breakfast very simple - can be problem for British guest as there is no hot food apart of omlets. No changes been made with food for whole week and extra charge 7TL for orange juice - not nice!! Dinner always busy but on my opinion really over priced. Pool small, nice - but really cold. Hotel really far from town - 30 min walk or 10 min by taxi ( cost - 12/13 TL ) Extra charge for late check out ( 35TL till 4pm and 75 till 9pm ). Nice Spa. Service friendly but some times little rude in some situations - you need to understand Turkey culture.

Overall good value to price, and I will recomend this place to people on buget holidays. Perhaps that was 4 stars hotel in early 90s but no any more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palmea
Hotel Palmea
#58 of 233 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#30 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Banu Hotel Luxury
Banu Hotel Luxury
#27 of 233 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Almena Hotel
Almena Hotel
#197 of 233 in Marmaris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#29 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Turquoise
Club Turquoise
#44 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Faros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Faros

Property: Grand Hotel Faros
Address: Cami Avlu Mevkii Cevreyolu Cad., Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Faros 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Hotel Faros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing