We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time visiting, there will be a 3rd and more”
Review of Grand Hotel Faros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Faros
Ranked #83 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd time visiting, there will be a 3rd and more”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was mine and my partners 2nd time visiting the Grand Faros, again for a fortnight, having first visited in 2012, I am delighted we chose to go back.

One notable difference was a great guy name Tamer who was bar staff on our first visit, is now service manager of the hotel. The main reason i enjoyed my second stay so much is really down to the staff. Cemil, Can, Tamer, Ali, Wysel, Mehmet, Islam everyone of them were fantastic during our stay. They are some of the most hard working group of people i've ever seen, needing to work ridiculous hours every week throughout the entire sumemr due to such a lack of work in the winter. To do this with a smile on the face and keeping all the guests entertained is comendable to say the very least.

We were all inclusive, one thing to be aware of is the Efes is not part of the all inclusive deal, and for the first 5 days when i was asking for beer i was being served Efes, which mounted up on our room bill. Some days i do believe i didnt wear my all inclusive band which may have been the reason the staff were serving me Efes, so make sure you're asking for Tuborg if you want a beer, this is part of the all inclusive package. The pool area was always kept clean as was the hotel. The room was cleaned every 2-3 days, however we noticed the shower wasnt once cleaned during our 2 weeks. The room is basic but catered for us comfortably.

The regular shuttle bus makes it very accesible to get the bus, literally a 5 minute journey for 2 lira per person. I would recommend getting onto the orange Ismaler bus when getting to Marmaris city centre if you're wanting the beach, as the beach is slightly dissapointing.

The food at the hotel was good, not loads of choice but i enjoyed it, the chef has the kebab skewer out at poolside o nthe night time and grills meat at poolside to, good to see the food being cooked fresh.

The entertainment was a let down, the girls who run it are lovely, but it was a bit 'flat' most nights. Some of the acts though are talented, the break dancers mroe than most.

I will definitely be returning to the Faros Hotel and would strongly recommed it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    131
    55
    37
    33
See reviews for
106
178
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

on arrival met by Barry nice chap. shown to a shabby pokey fith floor cupboard. tv bed wardrobe. air con which smelt like sewerage the bathroom
basic out dated compared to room. struggle to sleep in pokey hot room. food is on its bum. didn't want to eat or drink as poisened on first night in turtle bar marmaris. when we did order drink soft drinks the bar staff who seem to think all women want to be made to feel uncomfortable by blatant flirting and oggling. tried to get us to sign receipts so we would be charged to our room. which we discovered and had it out with reception who were zero help. by night six we had had enough we witnessed bar staff an security copping off for different desperate women. we packed up and got off. do not go here expecting anything but somewhere to dump your gear.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were told that this hotel was 4 star, it definitely was not. Half of the staff can't even speak english (they did not know what water was). How can you employ staff that do not speak english in a tourist destination.The bathrooms are absolutely disgusting, when we first walked in they smelt so bad, we booked 3 rooms and that smell was in every single one. the shower trays are so small hardly any space feels so claustrophobic and definitely not cleaned to four star level, more like 2 star. Our budget hotels in England like travelodge are way more nicer. The only positive thing to say about this hotel is the night dinner which you get with half board was very nice and had lots of varieties. The Air con dont even work half of the time. The balconies are so dusty and definitely not cleaned on weekly routines. Over all, very disappointed, unhygienic experience. To add, the photos are very deceiving

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sehar1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

By far, the best hotel I have ever stayed at abroad. Clean and modern, the rooms are a good size, free air con, flat screen tv, balcony. We were at first disappointed to have a land view room but actually it was better, because of where the sun was it meant it kept cool, and if you did go to bed before the entertainment finished you couldn't hear the music from this side of the hotel at all. The food was amazing, breakfast was typical Turkish so not what we are used to but plenty of choice, but lunch and dinner excelled. Plenty of choice and variety, healthy fresh salads and different meat dishes every night. The bar staff and manager could not be more helpful and friendly (whilst not "too much" as you sometimes find in turkey!) I would go back here a hundred times over, and recommend to everyone. I only wish we had discovered the bars and restaurants within walking distance sooner (down the road opposite the petrol station!) for a bit of a change for drinks or dinner. Our whole week was absolute perfection!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Amykinsypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastingd, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

stayed here from the 13th June to 24th June, on arrival we were greeted by the friendly night staff and in our room was a nice bottle of wine and fruit (due to a special occasion) the staff throughout our stay were very friendly welcoming and helpful, we stayed on half board which included breakfast and evening meal the food was of a very high standard and so much choice couldn't fault it in any way, the pool area was kept very clean and sunbeds were available throughout the day, you could also use the free hotel bus to take you to the private beach, we went into town in the evenings which was easy just waited outside hotel for the bus which ran every 10 min, only costing 2 tl, all in all this was a fantastic hotel, very friendly would highly recommend it, although the food was amazing within the hotel we did have a meal out in the harbour and found a restaurant Divella which also did fantastic food, we would just like to thank all the staff for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

this was a nice hotel. fairly basic but your in turkey. the staff are great especially the guys at the bar and around the pool. we would return in a heart beat. Dont be put off by the distance from the beach they run a shuttle bus 3 times a day and the doma bus comes every 10 min and is 2 TL in to town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Ignore the bad reviews they are just people who expected to much from a turkish 4 *, the hotel is clean, there is a ok selection of food, shops and restaurants are a short walk away. There is a bus directly outside the hotel that takes you to the town and beach it runs every 15 mins. The pool bar and restaurant staff are friendly and helpful, the bar manager will bend over backwards to help you with anything you need, my partner was ill while we were away, the manger was genuinely concerned and even went to the pharmacy to get him something. You cannot beat the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youwillloveitifido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmaris
1.8 mi away
Hotel Palmea
Hotel Palmea
#49 of 234 in Marmaris
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Viva Hotel
Club Viva Hotel
#33 of 234 in Marmaris
1,144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kervansaray Marmaris
Kervansaray Marmaris
#6 of 27 in Armutalan
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris
Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris
#164 of 234 in Marmaris
344 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Idas
Hotel Idas
#34 of 78 in Icmeler
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Orka Nergis Beach
Orka Nergis Beach
#143 of 234 in Marmaris
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Faros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Faros

Property: Grand Hotel Faros
Address: Cami Avlu Mevkii Cevreyolu Cad., Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Faros 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Faros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing