We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Time Visiting- Amazing!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Faros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Faros
Ranked #72 of 233 Hotels in Marmaris
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“1st Time Visiting- Amazing!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is my first time staying at the Grand Faros, went with my family WHAT A HOLIDAY!!!!!!
My room was great looking over the bar area, where I could watch all the interactions. The hotel and rooms are clean, the pool area is looked after well with non slip mats to prevent people falling over. Nothing is too much trouble where the staff are concerned and I have to say the service manager Tamer is the ON THE BALL, so helpful and making sure his staff are attentive and professional even though some may not speak a lot of English, What a shame he has a long standing partner! Stayed all inclusive and the food was good and plentiful, with lots of variety. I really enjoyed Marmaris, the night life is great and the shopping is fab. Planning my next trip! Fab Holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    130
    53
    37
    31
See reviews for
105
175
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was my 3rd time to turkey and staying at the Grand Faros and all I can say is what an amazing time we had, the hotel rooms are lovely not huge but really clean, air conditioning which is a must, shower room was great hot water all the time, The food is excellent with plenty of choice we went on bed breakfast and evening meal some people were all inclusive, great snacks at the pool bar. All the staff are very helpful and polite even though they don't speak a lot of English, and especially the service manager Tamer who is so helpful and professional, and speaks very good English, He seems to be there all the time (does this man ever sleep). All I can say is that we will be returning I have never had such an amazing time.

Room Tip: Pool side is lovely no loud music
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoad59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Tiny room, meant to be double bed ended up with two singles, overpriced drinks, few of the staff were pretty rude. Cleaners left the balcony door unlocked while we were out for the day. Hardly spent any time there in the end because of how unhappy we were about the place. Terrible.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leelee9412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was mine and my partners 2nd time visiting the Grand Faros, again for a fortnight, having first visited in 2012, I am delighted we chose to go back.

One notable difference was a great guy name Tamer who was bar staff on our first visit, is now service manager of the hotel. The main reason i enjoyed my second stay so much is really down to the staff. Cemil, Can, Tamer, Ali, Wysel, Mehmet, Islam everyone of them were fantastic during our stay. They are some of the most hard working group of people i've ever seen, needing to work ridiculous hours every week throughout the entire sumemr due to such a lack of work in the winter. To do this with a smile on the face and keeping all the guests entertained is comendable to say the very least.

We were all inclusive, one thing to be aware of is the Efes is not part of the all inclusive deal, and for the first 5 days when i was asking for beer i was being served Efes, which mounted up on our room bill. Some days i do believe i didnt wear my all inclusive band which may have been the reason the staff were serving me Efes, so make sure you're asking for Tuborg if you want a beer, this is part of the all inclusive package. The pool area was always kept clean as was the hotel. The room was cleaned every 2-3 days, however we noticed the shower wasnt once cleaned during our 2 weeks. The room is basic but catered for us comfortably.

The regular shuttle bus makes it very accesible to get the bus, literally a 5 minute journey for 2 lira per person. I would recommend getting onto the orange Ismaler bus when getting to Marmaris city centre if you're wanting the beach, as the beach is slightly dissapointing.

The food at the hotel was good, not loads of choice but i enjoyed it, the chef has the kebab skewer out at poolside o nthe night time and grills meat at poolside to, good to see the food being cooked fresh.

The entertainment was a let down, the girls who run it are lovely, but it was a bit 'flat' most nights. Some of the acts though are talented, the break dancers mroe than most.

I will definitely be returning to the Faros Hotel and would strongly recommed it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

on arrival met by Barry nice chap. shown to a shabby pokey fith floor cupboard. tv bed wardrobe. air con which smelt like sewerage the bathroom
basic out dated compared to room. struggle to sleep in pokey hot room. food is on its bum. didn't want to eat or drink as poisened on first night in turtle bar marmaris. when we did order drink soft drinks the bar staff who seem to think all women want to be made to feel uncomfortable by blatant flirting and oggling. tried to get us to sign receipts so we would be charged to our room. which we discovered and had it out with reception who were zero help. by night six we had had enough we witnessed bar staff an security copping off for different desperate women. we packed up and got off. do not go here expecting anything but somewhere to dump your gear.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were told that this hotel was 4 star, it definitely was not. Half of the staff can't even speak english (they did not know what water was). How can you employ staff that do not speak english in a tourist destination.The bathrooms are absolutely disgusting, when we first walked in they smelt so bad, we booked 3 rooms and that smell was in every single one. the shower trays are so small hardly any space feels so claustrophobic and definitely not cleaned to four star level, more like 2 star. Our budget hotels in England like travelodge are way more nicer. The only positive thing to say about this hotel is the night dinner which you get with half board was very nice and had lots of varieties. The Air con dont even work half of the time. The balconies are so dusty and definitely not cleaned on weekly routines. Over all, very disappointed, unhygienic experience. To add, the photos are very deceiving

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sehar1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

By far, the best hotel I have ever stayed at abroad. Clean and modern, the rooms are a good size, free air con, flat screen tv, balcony. We were at first disappointed to have a land view room but actually it was better, because of where the sun was it meant it kept cool, and if you did go to bed before the entertainment finished you couldn't hear the music from this side of the hotel at all. The food was amazing, breakfast was typical Turkish so not what we are used to but plenty of choice, but lunch and dinner excelled. Plenty of choice and variety, healthy fresh salads and different meat dishes every night. The bar staff and manager could not be more helpful and friendly (whilst not "too much" as you sometimes find in turkey!) I would go back here a hundred times over, and recommend to everyone. I only wish we had discovered the bars and restaurants within walking distance sooner (down the road opposite the petrol station!) for a bit of a change for drinks or dinner. Our whole week was absolute perfection!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Amykinsypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palmea
Hotel Palmea
#58 of 233 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#30 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Banu Hotel Luxury
Banu Hotel Luxury
#27 of 233 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Almena Hotel
Almena Hotel
#197 of 233 in Marmaris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#29 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Turquoise
Club Turquoise
#46 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Faros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Faros

Property: Grand Hotel Faros
Address: Cami Avlu Mevkii Cevreyolu Cad., Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Faros 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Faros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing