We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the trip for a 'beach' holiday” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmaris Beach

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip for a 'beach' holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Pretty disappointed with beach - packed, scum around shoreline, nipping fish (drew blood on my ankle!). I understand the Turkish concept of 'renting' beach space by using bar/café loungers in return for buying refreshments there, but then I expect the loungers to be clean, not broken and to have decent shade umbrellas.

Seemed nicer & cleaner near centre of town but by then, I was over the Marmaris experience. Shops & cafes were fine, the usual resort town fair - reasonably clean & priced; covered market was fun but don't need to go through the whole thing as most shops repetitive (definitely caters for the English working class tourist market clothes & food/alcohol wise). Never seen so many tattoo parlours in one town!

Overall, it was fine - nothing terrible, just nothing outstanding of note either. Seen it now, no need for a 2nd visit. Far nicer up the coast at the local Turk resorts.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaY69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    395
    411
    178
    92
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good views from the shore & sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Nice area, easy to walk along the beach from / to Marmaris, plenty of shops of all types, select marina area with designer shops and prices, stroll to the castle, see the cruise ships in / out, the town square with fountains are very nice. Interesting to stroll around the area and take in some of the local living at the rear of the town.
The indoor markets are very busy and plenty of people selling ''genuine fake'' goods, take care in handing over money and taking change as British sterling notes look very similar to Turkish currency of a less value. Oh yes check items you buy and their quantity / quality before you pay - saves the problems that many people were having on the market when we were there.

All in all - a very lovely place

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackie_and_mark30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beyrut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Turkish Riviera”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

don't like he restaurants hustlers at the door trying to get you in
love the boat tips and the parking are so practical and leaniant

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pierre k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Not a good beach but we thought a little effort could improve it a lot like raking the fag ends and litter. The place we stayed did this and it made a difference. The sand is not yellow being more like sharp sand but could be all right with care.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sebastapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We went in half term 3adults 2 children. We stayed at malibu beach hotel. 3 star but was really clean and staff were friendly rooms cleaned every day. Towel's every other day. Breakfast had a nice variety. Toast maker boiled eggs tea coffee cereals other hot meals too also omelette made while you wait. .lovely with cheese mushrooms and tomato. Hotel was right on the beach front with bar service on the beach sun loungers free and a no hassle attitude.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank highgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marmaris Beach also viewed

Marmaris, Mugla Province
 
Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 

Been to Marmaris Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing