We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip”
Review of Rhodes

Rhodes
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.92*
and up
Independent Rhodes Day Trip from Marmaris by Catamaran
Ranked #11 of 71 things to do in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great day trip”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Traveled to Rhodes on the catamaran from Marmaris what a great day out, trip accross takes about an hour you do have passport control because you are entering another country but hay ho duty free ?? don't forget to take your visa print out with you ? and change money from lira to euro. We organised a coach sight seeing tour on the catamaran well worth the 7 pounds as it last a couple of hours and its very informative about the old and new parts of the city you also get a good history lesson going back to 4 AD. Had dinner at a cafe in the market area this was very disappointing as the food was rubbish. ? apart from that a very enjoyable day evan as the temperature hit 102 degrees. A beautiful city would recommend a visit .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    171
    72
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ripped off!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I took the boat trip to Rhodes from Marmaris. After going through border control we walked out towards a market. Just before you get to the market stalls you pass a small cafe on the left, which looks really appealing -DON't GO IN, WALK PAST - we asked for the English breakfast but got a German breakfast served with chips, we didn't complain, we just asked them to take the chips off. We were charged an ABSURD £29 for 2 orange juice and 2 German breakfast...which they were falsely claiming to be English by the image displayed outside on a board. We asked for a breakdown of the bill but they just started talking nonsense about the "FREE" bread that everyone else seemed to get free, so we walked away because we knew we were not going to get anywhere from the professional conman pulling passing suckers in!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank oldscool3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Day trip from Marmaris”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

£34 for the trip, pick up and return to apartments. The catamaran leaves daily from Marmaris and is about a 50 minute crossing. Rhodes itself has plenty to see, there is an open top bus that does a tour of the island. A visit to the old clock tower is a must, great for taking photo. Ticket to this includes any drink. p.s. you can visit the duty free shop

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bobimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Daily trip to Rhodes”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Myself and my girlfriend visited Rhodes for a 5 hour daily trip on Weds 11th june 2014.. It was AMAZING!!!! We are now talking about going over for a weeks holiday as there is soooooo much to see and a day trip just does not give enough time for us to view all the things we want to see..

If in Marmaris.. You NEED to do the day trip..You will NOT regret it!! I promise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_Lappin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super day out!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great day, so different to marmaris. Can buy a historical tour when on the boat. Well worth it, and not very expensive. Lots of historical information and can see some ruins, get a tour of the castle and some of the centre of the town. Tour guide was great too, just don't loose her! She's fast! Some nice shopping, especially along the beach front, shells and decorations and sponges. Got some henna done round by the pharmacy by the beach and it was rubbish, but lovely day trip overall. Just try to change money before you go, quite difficult to find places to change money as you leave the harbour on the bus quite quickly.

Don't book from Thomas cook. They are thieves, charge a lot more than locals, and will discourage you to book through locals. Takes their business away from them, it's disgusting. Exact same trips, so book when you're there! Much cheaper and supports local business!

Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhodes also viewed

Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 
Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 

Been to Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing