We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We goodam love it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Maris City Hotel
Ranked #139 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We goodam love it!!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We paid £333 for 10 nights all inc, it's not gonna be the Ritz is it? What a fantastic little hotel. Rooms small but immaculate (if you want your room cleaning just hang the sign on the door). Not that we were planning on spending much time in the room, we were on holiday! A bed and a bathroom was all we needed. Yes, there was restrictions on the drink, just stock pile it under your table (it's not hard is it?!). Food was nice but yes, basic. But look at the price. There's some great restaurants including the one at the end of the road (the one with the monkey), what an amazing meal we had there and a top breckie too. Only a couple of mins walk to the beach and Long Beach nightlife has something for everyone, Bella Beserk the drag artist is a must. Had a few brilliant nights in Santana, Karaoke bar. The whole of Long Beach is nowhere near as pricey as Bar Street and much cleaner.
The staff are great and work really hard and long hours. If you spend a bit of time getting to know them you'll see how lovely they are will do a lot for you. The socialising areas are small but this creates a nice atmosphere and if you're a friendly person who likes a chat and a laugh you'll get along great.
I would say the people disappointed with this hotel were probably expecting something with nice gardens and a large pool. But what it lacks in gardens and pool it makes up for in atmosphere.
We met such a lot of fantastic people of all ages while we were there and feel we probably wouldn't of if we'd been in a large complex.
Overall, do not read too much into the negative reviews, if you're looking for a cheap cheerful but clean hotel then this is the one.
It's got so much character, we're going back again next year for our honeymoon and taking all our mates with us.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Linsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    46
    38
    21
    84
See reviews for
51
83
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

First holiday with all the 6 grandchildren. Had booked the Sun Maris Central but was taken to the Sun Maris City and told this is our hotel.( The Company has 6 in Marmaris). Both hotel's seemed to be very similar. The rooms very basic. The food was doable for the week and Local drink free to 10:30. The kids loved the Pool but it was cramped for the amount of people there. The beach is just a short walk. My daughter and partner stayed in Sun Beach Right on the beach 8 Nights for just £160 they seemed to get the better deal.Holiday is what you make it and the Children loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishop71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

hey everyone, Me and my friends booked this hotel AI back in november 2010, we had fully paid months in advance but when we arrived at the hotel we were told there was no room without any explanation and was told to go to other hotel....I didnt have a clue what he was on about but luckily the transfer guy was still with us and took us to the "other" hotel.....luckily for us we were moved to the sun princess and had a brilliant holiday.....it would have be nice to have been informed of the move, and treated a little nicer, we could of paid much less for a holiday that had allocation on arrival which seemed to be what happened to us!
(we met about 5 other groups whao had exactly the same problem from the sun maris)

Room Tip: book else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nejlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marmaris hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

first time in turkey! and found the hotel just fine! food was ok, although we were all inclusive we were out quite alot as there is lots day trips to do, but when we wanted food we got it. always something you can eat, even if rice,chips and chicken everynight , slept in most days or out to early skipped breakfast but one day we had pancakes and scrabbled eggs. which was soo nice! lol.

drinks were from 10.am -10.30 althought all inclusive, imported drinks are not free! smirn off, red bull, cocktails etc! so we drunk there vodka and coke which waas fine. and then got fish bowl after 10.30 which are 30L small! which is like 12 quid, so cheap! they are like 70L in barstreet same size! but you can haggle buyonegetonefree like we did :)

also bugers snacks etc. arent free! but tells you this when you get there! but we just ate free food considering we did pay for it! and our deal was 345 each! for week all inclusive,

our room was for 3 girls. on the 5th floor. so lift everyday! lift was small but we fit in 3 people lol. our room was ok size, as all inclusive its just really for sleeping in and getting ready which was fine! cleaned regulary if sign was left on door. new towels etc. room average size, bathroom ok size, shower water temp just fine. lots of toliet roll regulary ,soap. and a hairdryer. only downfall to our room was only 2 plug sockets! and one of them was the tellys one. not that we ever watched telly! but with 3 girls just had to take turns on straightners etc!

weather was lush! always hot. although the pool is quite small. not many people go init. as the beach is 5min walk if that!. but you can get sun later in day! when sun is higher! if you can get a sunbed. but we prefered going out and about. we heard. theres a local pool thats free to use if you buy a drink run by a liverpool lady, but we never found it lol.

theres so much to do out there! so enjoy! perfect hotel for what we paid for..
staff friendly. and entertainment most nites. would go back! x oh and you get a free bus like everywhere lol it is true there are alot of russians but there are some english! and most turkish speak quite good english! we did the jeep safari, dalaman boat and lazy boat trip! would recommend. altought one the boat trip days was soo long! x

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hanja20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverclyde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Booked a weeks stay at sun maris city arrived 1.00am got told there was a problem with the rooms so got transferred to sun maris beach got to reception they told us that we would be staying there, but we would be in there other block ,this is a load of bull because we where sent across the street to the sunflower hotel when we needed food and drink we where supposed to cross over to the sun maris beach to be fed and watered how very inconvienient for us,in the morning we met other people by the pool all been through the same as us so beware stay away go self catering it will cost less money.Also if you like to sleep this area is a no sleep zone music on till 4.00am and the sunflower hotel is filthy they dont put on clean bedding will not change your towels u have to leave them soaken wet if you wanted fresh ones,the shower is so small you cant even bend down for shampoo etc,the pool is nice area they only had 1 umberella which was all torn then it disappeared so we had none,asked where it went but no explanation they dont want to be bothered.Also reported the balcony door would not lock we are still waiting for them to come and see it,the toilet door would not close so beware of these places you do not get what you pay for im not a fussy person. this place has got an award from trip advisor 2011 i would like to know how they got it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joymcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I just got back today from my stay. Me and my partner got 1 week all inclusive at this hotel for £260 each. On that basis I did not (and others should not as well) expect to be treated the same as a 5* in Dubai

We got there mid afternoon, and were taken straight to our room, the guy on reception took our cases up for us and showed us our room.

Rooms

Our room was pretty good, free aircon, balcony, and it wasnt a bad size for 2 people. The only two downsides of the room would be there are only single beds and that the bathroom is small, if you're tall like me then the shower can be a struggle - but I was still squeaky clean at the end of it.

Food

I've stayed in Marmaris twice now, different hotels, but both lots of food have more or less been the same, pretty standard meals, but there is normally always something for every bodies taste - people who are very picky may struggle. If you want fish and chips, and good hearty english food then either pay more for your holiday, or stay at home.

Bar

The bar is ok, I'd agree it seems the drinks are watered down, and the drink times are a bit strict 10am til 10:30pm. The beer is Becks, and it isn't bad at all.

Pool

Yes, the pool is very small, and there aren't many sun loungers. But the pool is nice if you just want to laze around in it and cool off. - You can use the other hotels of the Sun Maris branch if you want to do some olympic lengths

The staff

We all know what turkish guys are like? Right? Then dont expect anything less! Some are nice, by far the nicest is Omar (Not sleasy, makes and effort and has pride is his job) Umit (Why Not) is a good laugh. The rest are ok, but they dont chat as much, so it would be wrong to slag them off.

The hotel

The hotel is in a great location, and I mean great, 2 minute walk from the beach, 2 streets away from the main road so hardly any noise, most of the noise is from people inside the hotel. The hotel does have a lot of Russian/Eastern European people in there, but we never had any issues with them. If anything they livened things up now and again with the weird dancing or strange outfits :)

All in all, a great hotel and holiday. I'd happily recommend it to anyone other than families with children older than about 4.

Room Tip: Realise you've paid for a budget holiday and that's what you're getting - not a 5* in Du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We arrived at 1:30am only to be told that there was not a room available for us and we would be spending the night in another hotel, We were transfered to another hotel of very poor standards and was not allocated a room at Sun Maris City Hotel until the next morning, Unfortunately this was not a isolated incident and I witness the same treatment given to others during my stay. The rooms are very small and the bathroom had a damaged door and the shower flooded.The food was very poor with the only plus being the salads. On the plus side the position was great being very central but not too noisy. The staff did their best but I could not excuse their practice of over booking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coralasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.1 mi away
Sun Maris Central Hotel
Sun Maris Central Hotel
#128 of 234 in Marmaris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Selen
Hotel Selen
#177 of 234 in Marmaris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karen Hotel
Karen Hotel
#186 of 234 in Marmaris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sonnen Hotel Marmaris
Sonnen Hotel Marmaris
#89 of 234 in Marmaris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Myra Hotel
Myra Hotel
#59 of 234 in Marmaris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sesin Hotel
Sesin Hotel
#103 of 234 in Marmaris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Maris City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Maris City Hotel

Property: Sun Maris City Hotel
Address: Cildir Mah 103. Sok, 21 | Cildir Mah, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Maris City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Maris City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Maris City Marmaris
Hotel Sun Maris City
Sun Maris Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing