We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anything but a boutique hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
Ranked #47 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Anything but a boutique hotel...”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Some words in tourism business are so over- and misused: like eco-tourism or boutique hotel.

Spent recently couple of days at Orsmaris Boutigue hotel expecting the charm of a small and quiet boutique hotel with friendly and personal service, comfort of a home and impeccable style. Found none of this. Have had the pleasure of staying in some of the most delightful boutique hotels in Asia, Europe and South-America, so needles to say, was truly disappointed.

All possible went wrong starting with arrogant and offending attitude during check-in, during which I was blamed to have booked and paid only for a single room and my travel partner and colleague was treated like a street prostitute. Of course, the manager then realized having made a mistake herself, but din´t even bother to say sorry.

We were given a room that was totally unfinished and unlivable. It was an attic room and to enter you had to climb narrow stairs. There were two or three square meters of space to stand without constantly hitting your head on the ceiling. The owner should have provided us with helmets. There were no darkening curtains, only some decorative straps, which were one meter too long and the ends were lying on the floor.

To watch the TV (placed in a corner 20 cm above the floor) you had to sit on the floor.

The bathroom had a toilette seat, which was placed in a corner so close to the washing area table, that it was impossible to sit in it (and I am of normal size...). I wonder who was this brilliant architect?

The room was not properly cleaned in 4 days (once we witnessed that the cleaning lasted about 1 minute just to change the towels). No bed linen were changed during the whole stay.

Breakfast: no brewed coffee, no real juices (just some colored water) no sweet bread. If you like olives for breakfast, this was your feast: there were 10 different kinds.

And all of this was for the price that in the rest of the world you could stay in 5 star luxury... and what matters really, is the attitude, the service mentality, the kindness - or the lack of it. This hotel was badly over prized and badly managed. Pity! No value for money paid. If you can get a room for 30-40 euro, go for it, but not for the rates offered.

Positive? The tranquil location in the end of the Marmaris beach was quite nice. Taxi to downtown costs about 10 euro (14 USD) oneway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    79
    31
    16
    10
See reviews for
66
159
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Hotel location is almost perfect. You are in the city if you want shopping or nightlife, and it is out of the city if you want to sleep in a quite room or beach. Rooms are very very comfortable and big enough. If you are lucky enough you may have a sea view room with balcony. Their employees are very kind and they all have smiley face. Meals are delicious and portions are big. Ask "nar ekşisi" for the salad. Enjoy your trip as we did.

Room Tip: sea view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonerSezgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed for one week at the Orsmaris Boutique Hotel. .. highly recommended!
- Location is on the beachfront on the end of Marmaris: You will need to pay extra for a sea view room, but it is well worth the extra money. Use of beachtowels (for a refundable deposit), beach chairs and umbrellas is free. Easy trip to either town by dolmus (shared taxi). 1.75 TL each direction. Please note thart Marmaris taxis are very expensive, and not recommended as the dolmus is inexpensive and easy to use. If you are interested, there is a reasonable Turkish bath (20 TL) 1 block away that includes oil massage in the price. Plain bath but excellent service.

- Rooms: The hotel has a new wing with a standard room being spacious, and with a balcony. My room only included a nice shower; if a bathtub is important to you, please inquire.
- Hospitable staff: stayed during my birthday and the manager recognized that from my registration and provided a tray of fruit on my birthday.
- Food: Good breakfast buffet included in room price. Did not try the half board as there are numerous restaurants in the area and the trip to town is easy and inexpensive.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tableforone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This hotel is small and extremely friendly. The rooms are modern,light and spacious. The staff are so helpful, Kamal jokes and laughs all the time with the guests. Jay has a permanant smile behind the bar and Saleem is always professional and attentive.The staff work long hard hours but remain cheerful at all times.
This was a nice quiet area, the beach had plenty of free comfortable sunbeds and was always kept clean. Good choice of restarants nearby, though the hotel itself had fabulous food.
A short bus ride takes you into the main part of Marmaris with the harbour or to Icelmer
equidistance away.
We plan on returning next year for more of the same
Bonnie and Alison

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniethebadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyneside
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

As a regular visitor to Marmaris we knew the location of the Orsmaris would be ideal .
Disappointing start as we had asked and paid for 2 sea view rooms together to be next to the kids . We were given 1 double room with a specatcular view of the bay and one side view on a different floor . We asked why the rooms were not together as requested and were told that it is only a small hotel but the kids could move on to the same level in a couple of days . Rooms were modern but the cleaning was poor , bedding was not the cleanest , bathroom was modern and quite new but again let down by the standard of cleaning . Basic things really .The beach side pool area was good and the bar staff very friendly.
Big let down was the pool ,we knew it would be small but it looked dirty . Most modern pools have a constant flow of water to take the top few inches away and get rid of the sun creams etc that we leave behind . This one did not have this so it was like a bath that had been filled for a few weeks and left a scum mark on the tiles at the top water level and you could see a sheen from an oily film on the top . The management insisted they had a pool water certificate but we were not prepared to risk ear , throat ,eye infection . We checked out after one night .
Great location but needs some work on the cleaning and the pool .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alsmith111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Orsmaris Hotel. The location is fantastic, this is one of the last hotels on the promenade before you reach Icmelar, and about a 30 minute walk to the central 'strip' of bars and restaurants in Marmaris. The staff are very friendly and cheerful, pool quiet and relaxing, however the food was disappointing. We opted for the half board option. We were not given any options for what we wanted to eat each evening, and instead told what we were having. The meals were very repetitive, the starter was always soup and the desert was a plate of watermelon. After a week we had eaten meatballs 3 times, and chicken 4 times. However, the menu offered to outside diners was extensive, offering pizza, pasta, fish and steak, so we were baffled as to why we were offered no option, but instead told what we were having each day. Towards the end of the second week, we ate out to give our taste buds some variation.

As for the breakfast, this is a buffet. The food is served outside, and on several occasions the freshly cut water melon, cheese and ham which was served in large trays, had flies around it. Nothing was refridgerated, the milk for cereal and hot drinks was warm, as were the large bowls of jam. Ridiulous when we were staying during a heatwave, and temperatures at that time in the morning were over 34 degrees.

If you are a fussy eater, travelling with children, or just like some variation in what you eat, I would avoid the half board option. We had not vistied Turkey before, so did n't realise how cheap it was to eat out. For £15 a head, you can have a delicious meal in the marina and a glass of wine.

Based on the food, I would not rate this hotel above a 2 star.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer2010Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Just so you know, Orsmaris is THE FARTHEST THING from a Boutique Hotel.

To my knowledge, Boutique Hotels are (often) located on the outskirts of the hustle and bustle, they're meant to offer QUIET accommodation vs. the 'ra ra' of Marmaris.

We were there for 3 nights on our way to a gullet boat cruise.

Although it's at the end of the beach strip you are still very much a part of the action.

And by the way, there is NO private beach. That's a load of cr*p.

We were trying to escape the typical pikey-ness of Marmaris but at this hotel, we were unable to do so.

They were blaring dance tunes at 8am whilst you were trying to each your breakfast.

(the food leaves nothing to be excited about)

Then, mid-day when most boutique hotels would be playing chilled out music, they were playing the FOOTBALL GAMES on the outdoor TV's!

(Again, we were trying to escape the pikey-ness of Marmaris. How can you do this when there's football everywhere you go!?).

Do yourself a favour...

If you want to be a bit further from all the action of Marmaris (don't worry, you can get to the centre of town on these lovely little buses that pick you up for 1.75 Turkish Liras and come every 2 minutes)...then try:

Marmaris Park

or

Marmaris Palace

Both are in much nicer areas (we saw them on our morning run).

I cannot stress to you enough....Orsmaris is NOT a boutique hotel.

Don't bother wasting your money there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitness_Chickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.9 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#28 of 234 in Marmaris
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Malibu Beach Hotel
Malibu Beach Hotel
#106 of 234 in Marmaris
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsmaris Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsmaris Boutique Hotel

Property: Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Bulv. Siteler Mah. No:59 Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orsmaris Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marmaris sehir merkezi ve Icmeler arasinda bulunan Orsmaris Butik Otel denize sifir konumda olup, sehir merkezine 5 kilometre uzakliktadir. Misafirlerimizin tercihine bagli olarak oda&kahvalti, yarim pansiyon (set menu) secenekleri mevcuttur. Otel sicak atmosferi ve konuksever anlayisiyla misafirlerine rahat ve huzurlu bir ortam sunmaktadir. Profesyonel bir yaklasim ve mukemmel servis kalitesiyle Orsmaris Butik Otel misafirlerine unutulmaz bir tatil keyfi yasatmaktadir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orsmaris Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing