We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good, but staff need customer service training!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bay Classic Hotel
Ranked #74 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mostly good, but staff need customer service training!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed here with my friend for a week in September 2012. Overall the hotel was kept very clean, rooms clean and decorated in a nice modern fashion but rather on the small side. The pool was nice, very clean and big enough to accommodate all guests. The food was pretty ok, quite a good buffet selection. By no means a la carte, but we didnt expect that anyway considering how cheap the holiday was. The hotel entertainment is the usual thing that you would expect so I would suggest going into Marmaris town if you want something a little livlier.

The hotel is very close to the beach (although the san on the beach is pretty gross, you would be better staying by the pool) and its a pleasant 20/30 minute walk into Marmaris Old Town, the Harbour and Bar Street, but you can take a Mini Bus for 1 Turkish Lira if you dont like walking.

The thing that lets this hotel down is the staff. We arrived after an exceptionally long transfer form the airport as the coach driver got lost, and I think a porter must have been covering the hotel desk because he was utterly useless at checking us in. We werent given any information about facilities, werent told about the times that meals were served, didnt get our all inclusive wrist bands until we asked for them after being turned away at breakfast and we had to ASK several times to be given our room key.

A lot of the staff at the hotel are stroppy and rude and a number of times we werent treated as guests, rather as inconveniences. If you can have as little contact with the staff as possible then you will probably enjoy your stay here!

Room Tip: They only have two types of rooms here - standard double/twin or suites. We were duped by the travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlsontour30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    76
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
128
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend have just got back after a week all inclusive at the blue bays classic. We had a fabulous time, the weather was great, the hotel was very clean and the food was very good considering how many different people they are trying to cater for. There are only two negatives i could give about this hotel, firstly they double booked our room and we were told we had to go to a different hotel, well we didnt budge one bit and were adamant not to move to another hotel. All of a sudden a room appeared, i thought this was a bit of a joke considering it is a 5 star hotel and hotels of this standard shouldnt be double booking rooms. The only other thing was the entertainment, i dont blame the entertainment staff, they really were doing there best. But the entertainment next door at the blue bays platinum seemed far superior. All in all though, i would recommend this hotel to anyone and had a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have just returned from a week at the blue bay...we are 4 adults all under 30 and loved every minute of our holiday!! Amazing Hotel, Amazing Staff, Amazing Food and drink!!!

The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and well equipped. Our room was cleaned with fresh towels daily. We paid 40 liro for a safe which we thought was a far amount to ensure that your valuables were safe. The food was delicious a good variety every day, and every evening there was a starter choice to have before the main meal and also plenty of deserts! The waitresses and waiters cannot do enough for you in the restaurant, by the third day our waitress had memorized our drinks and would have them waiting for us at the table!! There was entertainment during the day such as water games, dates and bar games, Natalia from the animations team was brilliant very friendly and helpful. The evening entertainment was very light but enough for us...this would be shown in the pool bar. All the entertainment involved everyone and got you in holiday spirit. The alcohol was well varietIed the only fault was that it finished at 11:30, however, this was only a fault to us being four young party goers!! this wasn’t a problem for us though as we carried on our evening along the beach bars.

The beach is a stones throw away which specific beds for blue bay we choose to stay around the pool most days as opposed to the beach. There is also a water sports stand right near the hotel, that we booked jet skis through, they also give you a good deal for staying at blue bay. There are bars and restaurants within walking distance and we had breakfast at a bar called faros on a number of occasions which cost us around £7 for 4 full English breakfasts at drinks!!!

All staff are very helpful, friendly and smiley they also speak very well English which is very helpful!!

We would recommend the "Clo Castaway" trip which was fantastic!!

Be sure to hip the Turtle Bar along the beach front for cheap drinks and a giggle!! Avoid Bar Street if your in couples the drinks were expensive and it was a young single hangout.

100% would recommend this hotel! and would deffo go back here if I returned to Marmaris!!

FAB FAB FAB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charley338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

had a fab time once again lovely hotel spotless excellent food staff including entertainment crew friendly and helpful plenty of beds by the pool a few minutes from the beach nicola the manager is english and so friendly and approachable

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenmiller174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hubby and myself visited 25/7/12-5/8/12.We had an excellent time.This was my first holiday abroad although my hubby has visited turkey before.The hotel is clean.The staff are excellent,friendly and very hardworking.There are plenty of sunbeds around pool and on a decking area.A short walk to the beach,the view from our room was the sea and beach.30 minute walk into marmaris centre or couple of minutes on bus(which was only 2tl.80 pence)one of the local boat trips is definitely worth a whirl.All day for only £12 each including food and drink.Demi our rep was very friendly and helpful.She made me feel relaxed on my first holiday abroad.The only thing we could nit pick on was the food was a bit repetitive chicken chicken and more chicken.However they did offer a snack mid afternoon,made to order of a basic menu which made a change to the buffet meal with chicken.I should add the food was all lovely and the restaurant staff excellent,could not do enough for you.We would definatly go there again :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Myself and three friends, all of us 28, fancied a girly week in the sun and stumbled upon this hotel purely as the resort was on special offer the week we went to the travel agent. None of us having to been to Turkey we were mildly aprehensive but the Blue Bays Deluxe was such a pleasant surprise that it really set the tone for a great week!
First of all, if you consider this hotel ask for a room on the fifth floor. A lot of people have complained about the room sizes and our room was fabulous: two balconies, bedroom and small living room where beds were made out of the couches but still plenty of space, wardrobes, drawers etc. Great getting toiletries and water in the fridge too.
It amazes me how people are complaining about having one key that works the air con! We left one key in and asked for another one - easy!
Food was surprisingly good! At least 5 dishes to choose from each meal as well as beautiful salad and fruit bars and one of the largest bread selections I've seen. Something for everyone for sure.
The hotel clientel was a great mixture of people: young groups, young couples, older couples, parents with elder teenagers and loads of different nationalities... not at all rowdy but a vibrant atmosphere. It was fantastic that cocktails were included in the all inclusive and the 11.30pm cut off didn't bother us as it was a 1-2min walk to the beach bars if we wanted to carry on.
The Turkish Bath package is a MUST! You'll find the wonderful Mehmet who can help you out and negotiate a great deal - the spa is run by brothers who are charming and very professional. We had a two hour pampering session for what translated to £35 - so worth it; the tans were amazing afterwards!
The free wifi in the lobby we were still able to access by the pool and the pool area itself was clean; the cool water was a god send!
One small downside is the unattractive dirt track to the beach but I doubt there is anything the hotel can do, I don't think it's their land.
Ladies, stick together as the local men can be quite full on but the beach bars near the hotel are excellent. We were NOT impressed with Bar Street but perhaps we were showing our age...
Overall we were delighted with the hotel! Really allowed us to relax and enjoy our time in a new place.

Room Tip: Top floor room was fabulous - our sea view room was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy_t_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Good points-
Location- beach is just across the road; mainroad just on the otherside of hotel- great for shops, restaurants, buses to Icmeler&bar street -great for evening stroles, same as the beach.
Staff- polite, generally cheerful, ready to laugh&converse with you (most of the time, but could provide a better, more customer friendly service in the canteen)
Cleaniness- the housekeepers did a great job of keeping our room clean, with fresh towels&bed made up everyday.
Food- although slightly repetitive, always tastey, always had a varying choice&good quality meats/fish.
Pool- clean, lively& a good size. The entertainment team tried hard to keep a good atmosphere.
Negatives-
Rooms- extremely small! Barely enough space for our clothes in the wardrobes&no where to hide our suitecases. Only 1 room key which operated the aircon. Bathrooms extremely unsound proofed. You could hear everything nextdoor&upstairs -it provided a few laughs, but v noisy& often got disturbed in the morning.
Gym- or complete lack of one! Do not expect a full gym- there are a few free weights, & a few cardiomachines that have seen better days. No mats, no gym music & a few broken machines, making it not a nice gym experience. With the added confinements of closing around 7pm. We ended up going for run along the beach in the evening a few times.
All inclusive- very disappointing! All inclusive drinks finish at 11.30pm, after this time you have to pay even for water. We found this extremely frustrating as many bars, restaurants & clubs within walking distance are open to a lot later. There was a snack time&a midnight soup however we never managed to locate these&were not notified about where these were. The midnight snack time was also only for half hour before midnight.
Wifi- extremely slow&only available in foyer&sitting room.
Overall, the hotel was obviously a very good hotel at one stage but gives the impression that it has been neglected&needs an injection of life&care. Not a five star, at a push a four star, in our opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClifSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.0 mi away
Sol Beach
Sol Beach
#60 of 234 in Marmaris
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#28 of 234 in Marmaris
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
2,590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
1.1 mi away
Ideal Pearl Hotel
Ideal Pearl Hotel
#11 of 234 in Marmaris
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Classic Hotel

Property: Blue Bay Classic Hotel
Address: siteler mah 209 sk. No.16 | Marmaris Mugla, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Blue Bay's Hotel Deluxe)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#30 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#40 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bay Classic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Bay Classic hotel sits just off the beach, overlooking the spectacular bay of Marmaris. The hotel was refurbished in 2012 and has a slight oriental feel to it. It offers an adult only concept (over 16 years old) on a half board basis with an all inclusive option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Bay Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bays Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing