We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & quiet”
Review of Balim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balim Hotel
Ranked #140 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Spent 2 weeks there during August. Room was lovely with a smashing sea-view, it was very clean & the bathroom was recently re-furbed but a little small with no window.
Breakfasts were extensive but I found it difficult as I don't like cereal etc so had chocolate spread or boiled egg on bread most mornings from the buffett. Some food looked a little curled at the edges, especially the cold meats. Breakfast staff were great but bar staff during the day had a chip on their shoulder, told us no food available as the kitchen was too busy, not sure how when we were the only ones still in the hotel that day as everyone else had gone to the beach!
Swimming pool was generally quiet and no problem getting a sun bed even mid-afternoon.
Overall, a decent enough hotel which we will return to mainly due to its cleanliness and location and will only use B&B as others that we spoke to about the evening meals were not that complimentary.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topteach8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Balim Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

just got back from staying here on 11 sept 2012 spent 2 wks here the staff are so friendly and the hotel was spotless and quiet,lovely pool and outside bar, food was good, as an overall outlook we couldnt fault it in any way and will definately use it again next year.only down side was the bloody germans staying there were so dam greedy,well done balim

Room Tip: good location,good food,brilliant service spotlessly clean,we had room 301 overlooking the pool,love...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suemennaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just got back from Marmaris this morning and stayed at this hotel. The location of hotel is perfect for the beach, to go to the marina and to go out. The staff work so hard and are very friendly and helpful. Kurt he waiter was always ready to help and never complained. On the day we were leaving, waiters came out and saw us off to the coach and waved us bye, which was very nice and touching. On the other hand the managers were very unfriendly never smiled.

Negative - I have travelled round the world, even though this is my first time in Turkey, the food in the hotel is the worse i have ever eaten. Its exactly what 'robert c'(previous review) stated. The hotel did not cater at all for the English with the food. Breakfast was repetitive and cheap, just boiled eggs with bread, cereal, tea, coffee and diluted juice, dates, cucumber and tomatoes. Dinner was even worst than breakfast. Lots of salads( about 10 varieties but same daily) with a choice of either pasta, rice or couscous and you can count the grains on the plate as you are served by the chef. Chicken or meat was served every 2 days otherwise its vegetarian. I must say the Monday after Ramadan, there was a BBQ with rice and salads and that was the only decent meal in 10 days. Because we had 5 kids with us, we spent more money eating out, lunch and sometime dinner. WORST FOOD EVER.

The rooms are very small and even though we paid for 2 triple rooms and 1 double, we were given 3 doubles with a folding bed squeezed in for the kids. The hotel has triple rooms, very spacious on the fifth floor but for some reason we were not given that. When we got to the hotel on 24th August 2012 early hours, they couldn't find our reservation and spent more than an hour sorting it with no communication. The springs in the folding beds were loose and i had to complain to the maids who were kind to find me new bed. We were a party of 8 with 5 kids and were spread on 3 different floors even though we requested family rooms. Also there's no entertainment for kids which wasn't a problem for us because we always took a stroll down the marina or the beach in the evenings. On the plus, sunbeds were not a problem at all.

Overall i will recommend Balim Hotel for room only basis because of the location. I will probably stay again because of the staff, location and if something is done about the terrible food.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are larger and triple rooms. Don't be squeezed in a double as a triple
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsaw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

we have been going to marmaris for 5 years now.
first time in the balim hotel very disappointed.
would not go there again thay did not cater for the english with there food.
if you like rice or pasta every day.
you only got a choice of 3 dishes if you did not like them there was only salad.
the chef served you to make share you did not get too much.
one day we got chips he counted 6 chips on your plate.
we had to eat out on most evening meals.
would not go to the balim hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Hotel looks nice from outside, reception has big hD TV, pool is not too big but the surrounding area is clean and tidy.Rooms are quite small , mirror is only in bathroom, WE had mold on celling, the bathroom doors were broken, cleaners werent there too often . But it wasnt big deal for us because We still had amazing holidays. Hotel is situated on the main road so is very close to everywere.Beach and night life is just 5 min away !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iness1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel has an excellent location. It is 200 meters from the beach, very close to restaurants and night clubs. At night it is quite, not noise. It is located at the main street where you can easily catch dolmus. Staff is great, very helpful and friendly. Food is very nice, dinner better than breakfast. Rooms are little small but very comfortable and clean. We didn't use any safe boxes, but we didn't have any problems. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, especially young people. In any case, very good value for the money you pay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jovana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We originally were booked to stay in Selen Hotel,,,but on arrival were told we were going to Balim Hotel which was just 2 blocks along and still on the main road(which we wanted) The staff were very friendly nothing was too much bother,rooms were cleaned every day along with fresh towels,bed linen was changed 4 times in our 2 week stay,breakfast was the usual turkish breakfast,We would recommend a stay at this Hotel and hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mayd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alkan
Hotel Alkan
#59 of 234 in Marmaris
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cihanturk Hotel
Cihanturk Hotel
#96 of 234 in Marmaris
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ketenci Hotel
Ketenci Hotel
#127 of 234 in Marmaris
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#69 of 234 in Marmaris
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#55 of 234 in Marmaris
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosy Hotel
Rosy Hotel
#94 of 234 in Marmaris
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balim Hotel

Address: Kemal Elgin Bulv. No:13, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: £24 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Balim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing