We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my expectations, very pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balim Hotel
Ranked #116 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations, very pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I went to Hotel Balim in the summer of 2011 with a family member - it was our first time in Turkey and we didn't know what to expect, especially from a 3 star hotel. However, the hotel turned out to be a pretty good deal considering the star rating.
It had been recently refurbished so everything was clean and in good condition. We had our own balcony, which was lovely to sit on and enjoy the view (we had a view of the main street, but it was relatively quiet at night after midnight). The beach is round the corner and the center is a 10-15 min walk away, so no need to use dolmushes (mini buses). The staff are friendly and helpful, and you have meals seated by the swimming pool, thus creating a relaxed atmosphere.

The weakest point about this hotel was its restaurant - there wasn't much choice concerning good food. I reckon a lot of it was recycled for the next day, because bread rolls weren't fresh and certain meals repeated twice in a row. The spreads and drinks were not tasty, so I suggest that you altogether skip meals at the hotel and eat somewhere else.

All in all, a very good hotel to stay in while visiting the lovely town of Marmaris for the summer, so I strongly recommend it to those who are looking for a budget-friendly option without losing out on location and quality of service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleksandraP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    24
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

when I read the reviews about this hotel before I went I was a little concerned. On arrival the staff where very helpfull. The hotel is very very clean, the rooms were spotless and cosy,beds were comfy too. Some of the reviews on this site may be a bit too far fetched. The food was Turkish...after all you are in a Turkish country, it was different but quite tasty. Breakfast was good and plenty choice. The staff and Manager were all very friendly and made us welcome. The pool area is very nice with a pool bar. I would recomend this hotel to any one, It is in a very good location near enough to the bech, nightlife, marina and shops but not too noisy on an evening. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Spent 2 weeks there during August. Room was lovely with a smashing sea-view, it was very clean & the bathroom was recently re-furbed but a little small with no window.
Breakfasts were extensive but I found it difficult as I don't like cereal etc so had chocolate spread or boiled egg on bread most mornings from the buffett. Some food looked a little curled at the edges, especially the cold meats. Breakfast staff were great but bar staff during the day had a chip on their shoulder, told us no food available as the kitchen was too busy, not sure how when we were the only ones still in the hotel that day as everyone else had gone to the beach!
Swimming pool was generally quiet and no problem getting a sun bed even mid-afternoon.
Overall, a decent enough hotel which we will return to mainly due to its cleanliness and location and will only use B&B as others that we spoke to about the evening meals were not that complimentary.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topteach8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

just got back from staying here on 11 sept 2012 spent 2 wks here the staff are so friendly and the hotel was spotless and quiet,lovely pool and outside bar, food was good, as an overall outlook we couldnt fault it in any way and will definately use it again next year.only down side was the bloody germans staying there were so dam greedy,well done balim

Room Tip: good location,good food,brilliant service spotlessly clean,we had room 301 overlooking the pool,love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemennaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just got back from Marmaris this morning and stayed at this hotel. The location of hotel is perfect for the beach, to go to the marina and to go out. The staff work so hard and are very friendly and helpful. Kurt he waiter was always ready to help and never complained. On the day we were leaving, waiters came out and saw us off to the coach and waved us bye, which was very nice and touching. On the other hand the managers were very unfriendly never smiled.

Negative - I have travelled round the world, even though this is my first time in Turkey, the food in the hotel is the worse i have ever eaten. Its exactly what 'robert c'(previous review) stated. The hotel did not cater at all for the English with the food. Breakfast was repetitive and cheap, just boiled eggs with bread, cereal, tea, coffee and diluted juice, dates, cucumber and tomatoes. Dinner was even worst than breakfast. Lots of salads( about 10 varieties but same daily) with a choice of either pasta, rice or couscous and you can count the grains on the plate as you are served by the chef. Chicken or meat was served every 2 days otherwise its vegetarian. I must say the Monday after Ramadan, there was a BBQ with rice and salads and that was the only decent meal in 10 days. Because we had 5 kids with us, we spent more money eating out, lunch and sometime dinner. WORST FOOD EVER.

The rooms are very small and even though we paid for 2 triple rooms and 1 double, we were given 3 doubles with a folding bed squeezed in for the kids. The hotel has triple rooms, very spacious on the fifth floor but for some reason we were not given that. When we got to the hotel on 24th August 2012 early hours, they couldn't find our reservation and spent more than an hour sorting it with no communication. The springs in the folding beds were loose and i had to complain to the maids who were kind to find me new bed. We were a party of 8 with 5 kids and were spread on 3 different floors even though we requested family rooms. Also there's no entertainment for kids which wasn't a problem for us because we always took a stroll down the marina or the beach in the evenings. On the plus, sunbeds were not a problem at all.

Overall i will recommend Balim Hotel for room only basis because of the location. I will probably stay again because of the staff, location and if something is done about the terrible food.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are larger and triple rooms. Don't be squeezed in a double as a triple
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsaw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

we have been going to marmaris for 5 years now.
first time in the balim hotel very disappointed.
would not go there again thay did not cater for the english with there food.
if you like rice or pasta every day.
you only got a choice of 3 dishes if you did not like them there was only salad.
the chef served you to make share you did not get too much.
one day we got chips he counted 6 chips on your plate.
we had to eat out on most evening meals.
would not go to the balim hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Hotel looks nice from outside, reception has big hD TV, pool is not too big but the surrounding area is clean and tidy.Rooms are quite small , mirror is only in bathroom, WE had mold on celling, the bathroom doors were broken, cleaners werent there too often . But it wasnt big deal for us because We still had amazing holidays. Hotel is situated on the main road so is very close to everywere.Beach and night life is just 5 min away !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iness1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
Cihanturk Hotel
Cihanturk Hotel
#91 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ketenci Hotel
Ketenci Hotel
#96 of 234 in Marmaris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#50 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alkan
Hotel Alkan
#51 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candan Beach Hotel
Candan Beach Hotel
#94 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosy Hotel
Rosy Hotel
#111 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balim Hotel

Property: Balim Hotel
Address: Kemal Elgin Bulv. No:13, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Balim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing