We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday base”
Review of Candan Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candan Apart Hotel
Ranked #90 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Candan for the hottest 2 weeks ever, 45 deg. The Candan Apartments are a 5 min walk from the beach and 15 min walk to the harbour. The apartments are clean but not huge, there were 4 of us 2 adults, a teenager and a 10 year old and we struggled to put all our clothes away. We were in block B which is past the pool away from the main reception, not much noise at night just prayer time at the local mosque !
Food ok at the Candan but 2 mins walk is The Queen Vic where you can get full english breakfast for £1, great food and excellent hosts.
Pool area clean plenty of beds, no towels allowed befor 8am and if beds are left towels are removed to allow them to be used. Water slide which amused both kids and adults.
Would definitely recommend as a base for your holiday in Marmaris.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoolsSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

Just got back from what has been a really good ten days away in the Candan (Pronounced Jandan) mostly positives, very few negatives!!

If your a group of lads or girls looking for a good drinking time with plenty of sun, well the sun yes, the party lifestyle is not so much! Bar street is great but very expensive (18tl for a vodka red bull about £6) It is also full of locals and other foreign people so quite tough to mingle. Best advice I can give is to do the bar crawls and school disco's to get the chance to hang out and get drunk with other brits!!

The apartment was ok but for 4 lads a bit too small. we were originally sold the holiday on the understanding that it was full of young groups which it was far from. This is very much a family and couples hotel. The rooms are basic but fine for getting some kip. there arent 4 single beds in the room for groups as we were originally told and there was only air conditioning in the bedroom as appose to the kitchenette area. The other 2 beds aren't comfortable. one is a sofa bed and another is a chair bed which all fold out. This leaves very little space in the room and makes it difficult to get out to the balcony area. We had problems in the room where there were 4 of us in the room and only 2 towels. We asked for an extra 2 which was not a problem and they were brought up to the room really quickly, however, when the cleaners (who came every day) changed the towels, they only put 2 fresh ones back in the room. There was also an issue with only 2 pillows available and no others available when asked at reception

If your an early bird, then you will be one of the lucky ones who will get a lounger around the pool. If you aren't down by the pool with your towels by 8 AM then you wont get a bed. My group found us to be sitting on the edge of the pool until some one would leave at least A bed to put all our belongings on.

If your hungry in the hotel then the menu in the restaurant area is quite vast and is great for a snack. Portion sizes can be small sometimes so it may well be worth ordering extra chips or something else. If you have a large drink, this can be a little more expensive than other places. we usually went into the shop by reception and buy a litre bottle of sprite, coke, fanta for 3 lira as apposed to 6 lira for a pint. The staff that work behind the bar are absolutely fantastic. They make you feel so welcome and are always making you laugh and smile. They all work 7 days a week with no days off and is amazing to see them in such high spirits without a single day to themselves!!

Just across from the apartments every Thursday is a market. This is great for all your clothes, bags, wallets, purses, fresh produce however they can be very pushy. Dont feel however that you have to look as they will make you buy something without you even saying yes. dont be afraid to say no when they try to haggle you in. If you do see something you do like, dont be afraid to haggle! I bought a purse for the girlfriend. the bloke wanted 80tl for it and i got it down to 20tl which is a brilliant bargain!!

If your looking to go for a nice evening meal and some night life, then there are loads of different places to eat! You will always have the people on the fronts trying to get you to go into their bar or restaurant. The menu's all look very similar and if you like steak then you will love it out there. we did a different restaurant every night. Our favourite was just down opposite an excursion booking office (Azur Travel) the food here was very good value for money as well as the drinks. Took a while to come but tasted good, and was a good portion size. The only bad meal we had was the day we arrived. This was at a steak house called tiffany's. The service was great but the portion sizes were extremely small for the price.

Right next door to tiffany's was another steak house called which did a 32oz T Bone steak. This was a great place to eat but they are very sneaky. All the restaurants do a pitta bread type started (most places dont charge) with different dips and butters. We were asked if we would like it so accepted. when the bill came, there was a charge for this as well as the dips and butters for it and also the sauces for the steaks were also charged separately which made a good meal very disappointing considering everywhere else did not charge.

If you are looking for a bit of a shopping experience then the Bazaar is the place to go, over 700 stores selling everything you can think of from watches, and clothing to magic boxes and turkish delight. All of these products are the 'Genuine Fake' which is great if you want a named brand watch or t shirt for a cheap price but there will always be the imperfections when you look closely at it.

We also booked a few excursions to do as we had a long ten days in marmaris. we went to the near by Azur excursion office to book where we sat down and booked a few things. This included a jeep safari which is a fun day out. It involves a huge water fight so dont take anything valuable or electrical with you as it WILL get wet. With this we stopped off for a free meal. Drinks had to be paid for extra and also chips but wasn't too expensive. we also got to stop off at a few different beaches and also a go karting track. This experience also got video'd by the staff working it as well as some fun little bits of off road driving.

The second excursion we booked was quad biking. This was completely mis sold to us. we were told that it involved 3 hours of quad bike riding through different terrain but only did half an hour of quads and 3 hours of travelling. This also ruined a lot of clothes so make sure you have extremely old clothes with you if you plan on doing it!!

we also booked the water park but accidentally forgot when it was and missed the day. As we booked 3 excursions we were given a moonlight cruise for free which we were all looking forward to as it was something different. We were told to be at the office for 7pm to be picked up and taken down to the cruise. When we arrived we were told it was 7:30. This was not so bad as we stopped off for a drink in a bar to pass the time. When we returned at 7:30 we were told that the cruise was not going ahead because of a festival happening in that particular harbour. When we enquired about this it appeared we were lied to and it had not been booked with the cruise. As it was free it did not bother us too much but put all our plans out of the window. My advice would be to stay away from the Azur company and try booking with your rep or another company!

I hope this has given you a bit of an idea of what to expect. Please do not let it put you off because it was a lovely place and the Rep stacey was outstanding. Always about if you needed her!

I hope you enjoy your time in marmaris and Candan Apts if you are going!

Room Tip: take a pillow if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CullenWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I booked these apartments after all the excellent reviews. This review is very truthful. when we arrived at 4.00am we were greated with a security man who showed us to our room, After opening the door and showed us around he kissed both me and my mother, Which i thought was a bit strange! We thought the apartment itself was great has everything that you need. Towels were only changed once in a week and even when our towels were dirty and i left them in the shower for them and they hung them back up! Also our room wasn't cleaned everyday. They night before we left there was an envelope left for us to tip the room maid. Apart from that the apartments i found were nice inside and on the balcony. There is a safety deposit box for rent in your room i think it is about £10.00 a week. There is an ironing board in every room but no iron they suggest you bring one. If you book with Thomson air condition in included in your room price. All other visitors pay a fee of around 77 euros per week. You can change money at reception which is good. There is a mini market within the reception area. It sells bread, milk, juice, toilet roll, newspapers etc. Please buy toilet rolls as they are not provided. It was a nice place to stay because it is near the beach and the center but i have stayed in better places in Marmaris.

Room Tip: Chosse a room high up as there is a lift. You can get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ttmoursi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just arrived back yesterday after 2 of the hottest weeks we have ever experienced.
Apartments great. Yes the AC is in the bedroom but it soon cooled down with the door open.
Staff polite and did not hassle you about anything. Wifi available, better closer to the reception, just ask for the pass-number at the desk. Extra GBTV channels not available. Ironing boards and airers just arrived as we were leaving.
Even Elvis made an appearance for 2 nights (sorry if we annoyed anyone xxx)
Only noticed the 5am mosque call about 3 times, and found out some of the market stalls are open on Sunday - but not for clothes, bags etc.

We had free breakfast but got a bit fed up of Turkish ones so ate out several times as it was so cheap. Never had a bad meal all holiday. Had a great one at Pierre Loti, steak dinner with starters for less than £10, but the second time we went back, it wasn't quite as good as it was packed and very slow service. The steaks weren't quite cooked to our preferences but it was still great value.
It is our 3rd time in Marmaris in 3 years and it was great to go back to our favourite bars and have the staff recognise you. Love Dilek Cocktail bar

Travelled with Thomson and everything was just perfect -THOMSON KEEP THIS ACCOMMODATION PLEASE. We want to go back next year.

Room Tip: Didn't hear any complaints about the rooms at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizideeCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

got back from candan apart a week ago after spending two briliant weeks there (1st july/16th july) it is a very clean and friendly place to stay. the staff are so helpful the rooms are very nice with a safe air-con in the bedroom and everything you need fo a comfortable stay, we had our beds and towels changed about 7 times in two weeks, the food is excellent and not expencive the drinks are cheap too 5tl for an efes (£2) spirits are 10tl (£4) that is imported drink house ones are cheaper, the pool is great its big and has plenty of sunbeds the whole complex is very well looked after. marmaris is a fantastic place i have never seen weather like it (between 40 and 53 ) while we were there,its cheap and very friendly you could get a meal for £6 breakfast was less than £2. all i have left to say is I CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK :).

Room Tip: block b is not so close to the bar and music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyg2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We arrived back from Marmaris early hours of this morning, We booked through Thomson as there was a group of 8 of us, and found the Thomson's staff both here and abroad helpful and friendly.
The rooms were apartments sleeping four - one bedroom, one pull out in the lounge. The only downside to this was that the pull out was not very long, and the aircon unit was in the bedroom which meant it took a while for the apartment to cool down.

We were Self Catering, and the hotel has a fridge, a toastie maker, and a mini hob, along with saucepans, plates etc. Just remember to buy washing up liquid and cloths, not something we'd thought of the first day!


The hotel is clean, well kept and the staff are friendly to everyone - some reviews say that the staff are ignorant if you dont eat in the hotel, which we didnt find, one night the staff even saw us in a club and bought drinks for us!
The only attitude we'd received was fro the exertion rep - we'd been offered a turkish bath in the hotel for £20 each, and found her incredibly pushy, we had a wander down to the beach front while we thought about it and found another guy who's company sold us a turkish bath, and 2 boat cruises (day and night, inc. dinner) for £18 each. When we arrived back at the hotel, the Rep asked us if we were ready to book and we explained that we'd found it much cheaper elsewhere she was extremely rude to us, walked off, and ended up storming out of the hotel (which may have been unrelated to us, but she was very rude).

But we found eating out very affordable - average for a meal between 10-15TL, and drinks along the beach front were very cheap - we went to Andy's Bar, just up a sidestreet before you get to VIP, and the staff were incredibly friendly, and the drinks very good value - 15TL for 2 cocktails, and they were very strong.

We also found the staff at Paradise Dream lovely, across the road from the hotel - very helpful and found the time to talk to us, even called and spoke to our exertion company for us because the helpline was in Turkish!

All in all, we found the whole holiday very enjoyable. The staff in the hotel, and in the local bars and restaurants, were all extremely friendly. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ttraveller365365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Just back from Candan apts for the second year and although enjoyable two weeks, was a bit disappointed with several aspects of the apts from last year. The pool staff are not of the same enthusiasm as last year so this effects the cleanliness of the pool area. I had to mention to the manager that the pool area was not being cleaned daily, drinks and rubbish were left till the next day causing ants and bugs around the pool. We ate out every night as the food was not very nice, we had breakfast one day and the sausages were off!!! ONE of our maids was very lazy and did not clean the room or make the beds. We were stuck on the top floor where the heat was unbearable even with air conditioning, this caused us to get a bad cold and chest infection as we had to sleep under the air conditioning units as it was so hot. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: higher floors are hot and apts very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2kittycat1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.3 mi away
Club Amaris Apartments
Club Amaris Apartments
#33 of 234 in Marmaris
340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Palace Apartments
Blue Palace Apartments
#40 of 234 in Marmaris
425 reviews
1 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Candan Beach Hotel
Candan Beach Hotel
#84 of 234 in Marmaris
38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#37 of 234 in Marmaris
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candan Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candan Apart Hotel

Address: Kemeralti Mah. 115. Sok. No:1 Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: £16 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Candan Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Candan Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing