We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great location.”
Review of Candan Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candan Apart Hotel
Ranked #87 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location.”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just arrived back from Candan Apartments after a 2 week stay, well what can I say?
When we arrived at 1.30 in the morning we wondered where on earth we had booked for, but we found it to be in the best location for discovering the whole of Marmaris.
The hotel consists of 2 blocks, A and B which are sideways onto the pool so not many apartments overlook the pool. The ground floor apartments/balconys are quiet shaded if you like your room to stay cool, and believe me you will need the shade if you go July /August.
When we first arrived we were given a studio when we had booked a 1 bed apartment, this took 18 hours to sort out so we were not very happy, not the fault of Thomsons, its the hotel that organised the rooms so if you are given A106 when you arrive refuse it straight away, its right next to the steps for the waterslide and has a balcony the size of a coat cupboard, as well as having the cleaners trollys parked outside.
Anyway we arrived at 1.30 am on the Monday and got our correct room at 6.45pm Monday evening, B 402,our rep was very apologetic and helpful, we managed to get our room safe free for the 2 weeks to compensate :)
The rooms are not oversized but clean and comfortable, we could not fault the cleaning staff at all 10/10 for those ladies who works so hard. The cooking facilities are not the best but come on who needs to cook when there are so many great restaurants to visit. We used the pannini maker a couple of times for a quick snack, but didnt use the cooker rings. The utensils etc just about cover your needs but only tiny cups n glasses, we took our own, need a large coffee in a morning. Hairdryer in bathroom so dont take one with you we did, what a waste of luggage space. Showers are great really powerful. Air con only in bedroom and can be a bit noisy if u are not used to it.
Only your first toilet roll is supplied so pop to the supermarket, about 3 little shops near hotel as well as the one in reception. Big Kipa supermarket about 20mins walk away if u enjoy walking, n just going for a few bits.
The location of the hotel is great, 5 mins walk to the beach, turn right out of hotel entrance then left, beach front is straight ahead, past lots of bars/shops/travel agencies etc, then its left to the marina and bar street or right to lots more bars and restraunts who serve fantastic food.
Right next to the hotel are Villa Dream, say hello to Eddie, lovely guy n a great breakfast for 3 lira, also Summer Rain and the Queen Vic cannot fault any of them for service and food.
If you leave the hotel entrance turn right and then right again past Villa Dream and the garden center and follow the road round past the cemetery you will come to the ampitheater, lovely, follow that road and in about 5 mins you will come to lots more bars and restraunts, September bar, Trotters, Parkhead, Mad boys to name but a few. Like I said and ideal location for a hotel just of the main road with a pool not overlooked by other hotels or traffic noise like some others near the front.
Back to the hotel. The food is very good though a couple of lira more than the bars, Depending on other guests u may need to get up early for a sunbed, the 1st week was ok but the 2nd week we had lots of sunbed hoggers.
Mehmet is fantastic he looks after the bar and dinning area, he really looks after his guests, the bar lads etc are very friendly and will serve your drinks and food at the pool if you ask.
You can keep your room on your last day until 6pm for and extra £20 and they do try to accomodate you but u need to ask the day before and keep fingers crossed :)
Sorry I am going on a bit, If u change money try the Queen Vic, they had one of the best rates we saw, or A & S travel just below the September Bar, dont change it on the front or the marina, its at least 5/6 lira less.
I would defo stay at this hotel again, its small, friendly, good service, clean and the staff make u feel welcome. Checked out Club Candan while we were there, just for a sneaky look, its very nice but too big for me, too many children and dont think you would get the same personal service that you get from Mehmet and the boys.:)
Overall had a lovely stay, didnt want to leave, the waterslide is great fun, but not open all the time, the pool can feel quite cold but its refreshing when the temp gets to 47 and above, pool sides can be slippy so be careful but I am sure u will enjoy your stay there. Dont miss the Thursday market next door, fresh fruit n veg downstairs, never seen tomatoes as big n the peaches are sooo juicy upstairs its all the usual clothes, bags, towels, footwear, gifts etc but its not to be missed bartering can be so much fun n u can get things as CHEAP as CHIPS , enjoy , we did.
PS there is a cow and 2 calves in the garden next door to block B on the street side felt like I was back home in Yorkshire, she does start to moo rather early in the morning so keep your windows closed :)

Room Tip: Go for block B levels 3 or 4 if you are close to the road u can get the Wi-Fi from the local bars on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    52
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
64
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here for 10 days with my bf, just back, had an amazing time, we requested any room apart fom bottom floor , when we arrived we got bottom floor, wasnt happy but got moved straight away, no apts have a pool view which at first put me off however during my tim thi didnt bother me at all, rooms spotless and cleaned every day , fresh bedding and towels every day, 10/10 for cleanliness :) staff at candan are amazing and make u feel at home, big thanks to mehmet and his gang :) apts are situated about 5 min walk to marmaris beach and main area and bout 10mins walk to bar street where all your nightclubs are, i personally preffered the beach front for nightlife which is closer and not as roudy, recommed summer rain (excellent restaraunt across the rd from these apts, staff are really friendly and helpful) Marmaris thur market is right on ur doorstep also which was fab, didnt need to walk lol,

only thing id say is make sure ur up for 7.30 if u want a good sunbed for sun all day :) and take plenty or high factor cream marmaris weather is roasting hot hit 47 degrees when we were here :O

overall id defo stay here again and really recommend these apts if your looking for location and clealiness

Thanks for a great holiday candan apart :)
see u next year

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIRSTY_155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

1st time in Turkey and what a JOY. Straight to room as soon as we arrived, no waiting. Appartments, pool and all areas very clean. Apt. had plenty of space (just two of us), with balcony over looking pool. Kitchen is a bit basic, you would struggle to cook a full meal, but the FRIDGE is large enough. Maid service daily with fresh towels.
Used restaurant for breakfast and noon snacks, all were good but not perfect. They do daily specials which are cheaper than normal. Not a problem with sunbeds, pool never got too full. You can get drinks served to you at pool but bar is less than 15ft away. Shop on site is a little bit dear but plenty of little supermarkets within 5 mins. Did not us Candan at night so can't comment on entertainment.
Apt. is very central for walking about or using the little dolamus buses (very cheap). I can not think of anywhere else where you pass your bus fare down the bus and get your change back the same way.
Eaterys in Marmaris are EVERYWHERE with all taste and pockets catered for and so much FUN. It's the one place in the world where they should ban All Inclusive. Such an informal friendly atmoshere, 99% of the Turks had the pleasure to deal with, helpful friendly and fun. Shopping is a scream, battering is like talking to foreign Del Boys. Much more fun than ASDAs. When we go back to Marmaris we will not look at any other appartments or hotel. but Club Canjan Apt.. Don'y confuse it with the hotel of same name.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith and Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Candan for the hottest 2 weeks ever, 45 deg. The Candan Apartments are a 5 min walk from the beach and 15 min walk to the harbour. The apartments are clean but not huge, there were 4 of us 2 adults, a teenager and a 10 year old and we struggled to put all our clothes away. We were in block B which is past the pool away from the main reception, not much noise at night just prayer time at the local mosque !
Food ok at the Candan but 2 mins walk is The Queen Vic where you can get full english breakfast for £1, great food and excellent hosts.
Pool area clean plenty of beds, no towels allowed befor 8am and if beds are left towels are removed to allow them to be used. Water slide which amused both kids and adults.
Would definitely recommend as a base for your holiday in Marmaris.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoolsSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Just got back from what has been a really good ten days away in the Candan (Pronounced Jandan) mostly positives, very few negatives!!

If your a group of lads or girls looking for a good drinking time with plenty of sun, well the sun yes, the party lifestyle is not so much! Bar street is great but very expensive (18tl for a vodka red bull about £6) It is also full of locals and other foreign people so quite tough to mingle. Best advice I can give is to do the bar crawls and school disco's to get the chance to hang out and get drunk with other brits!!

The apartment was ok but for 4 lads a bit too small. we were originally sold the holiday on the understanding that it was full of young groups which it was far from. This is very much a family and couples hotel. The rooms are basic but fine for getting some kip. there arent 4 single beds in the room for groups as we were originally told and there was only air conditioning in the bedroom as appose to the kitchenette area. The other 2 beds aren't comfortable. one is a sofa bed and another is a chair bed which all fold out. This leaves very little space in the room and makes it difficult to get out to the balcony area. We had problems in the room where there were 4 of us in the room and only 2 towels. We asked for an extra 2 which was not a problem and they were brought up to the room really quickly, however, when the cleaners (who came every day) changed the towels, they only put 2 fresh ones back in the room. There was also an issue with only 2 pillows available and no others available when asked at reception

If your an early bird, then you will be one of the lucky ones who will get a lounger around the pool. If you aren't down by the pool with your towels by 8 AM then you wont get a bed. My group found us to be sitting on the edge of the pool until some one would leave at least A bed to put all our belongings on.

If your hungry in the hotel then the menu in the restaurant area is quite vast and is great for a snack. Portion sizes can be small sometimes so it may well be worth ordering extra chips or something else. If you have a large drink, this can be a little more expensive than other places. we usually went into the shop by reception and buy a litre bottle of sprite, coke, fanta for 3 lira as apposed to 6 lira for a pint. The staff that work behind the bar are absolutely fantastic. They make you feel so welcome and are always making you laugh and smile. They all work 7 days a week with no days off and is amazing to see them in such high spirits without a single day to themselves!!

Just across from the apartments every Thursday is a market. This is great for all your clothes, bags, wallets, purses, fresh produce however they can be very pushy. Dont feel however that you have to look as they will make you buy something without you even saying yes. dont be afraid to say no when they try to haggle you in. If you do see something you do like, dont be afraid to haggle! I bought a purse for the girlfriend. the bloke wanted 80tl for it and i got it down to 20tl which is a brilliant bargain!!

If your looking to go for a nice evening meal and some night life, then there are loads of different places to eat! You will always have the people on the fronts trying to get you to go into their bar or restaurant. The menu's all look very similar and if you like steak then you will love it out there. we did a different restaurant every night. Our favourite was just down opposite an excursion booking office (Azur Travel) the food here was very good value for money as well as the drinks. Took a while to come but tasted good, and was a good portion size. The only bad meal we had was the day we arrived. This was at a steak house called tiffany's. The service was great but the portion sizes were extremely small for the price.

Right next door to tiffany's was another steak house called which did a 32oz T Bone steak. This was a great place to eat but they are very sneaky. All the restaurants do a pitta bread type started (most places dont charge) with different dips and butters. We were asked if we would like it so accepted. when the bill came, there was a charge for this as well as the dips and butters for it and also the sauces for the steaks were also charged separately which made a good meal very disappointing considering everywhere else did not charge.

If you are looking for a bit of a shopping experience then the Bazaar is the place to go, over 700 stores selling everything you can think of from watches, and clothing to magic boxes and turkish delight. All of these products are the 'Genuine Fake' which is great if you want a named brand watch or t shirt for a cheap price but there will always be the imperfections when you look closely at it.

We also booked a few excursions to do as we had a long ten days in marmaris. we went to the near by Azur excursion office to book where we sat down and booked a few things. This included a jeep safari which is a fun day out. It involves a huge water fight so dont take anything valuable or electrical with you as it WILL get wet. With this we stopped off for a free meal. Drinks had to be paid for extra and also chips but wasn't too expensive. we also got to stop off at a few different beaches and also a go karting track. This experience also got video'd by the staff working it as well as some fun little bits of off road driving.

The second excursion we booked was quad biking. This was completely mis sold to us. we were told that it involved 3 hours of quad bike riding through different terrain but only did half an hour of quads and 3 hours of travelling. This also ruined a lot of clothes so make sure you have extremely old clothes with you if you plan on doing it!!

we also booked the water park but accidentally forgot when it was and missed the day. As we booked 3 excursions we were given a moonlight cruise for free which we were all looking forward to as it was something different. We were told to be at the office for 7pm to be picked up and taken down to the cruise. When we arrived we were told it was 7:30. This was not so bad as we stopped off for a drink in a bar to pass the time. When we returned at 7:30 we were told that the cruise was not going ahead because of a festival happening in that particular harbour. When we enquired about this it appeared we were lied to and it had not been booked with the cruise. As it was free it did not bother us too much but put all our plans out of the window. My advice would be to stay away from the Azur company and try booking with your rep or another company!

I hope this has given you a bit of an idea of what to expect. Please do not let it put you off because it was a lovely place and the Rep stacey was outstanding. Always about if you needed her!

I hope you enjoy your time in marmaris and Candan Apts if you are going!

Room Tip: take a pillow if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CullenWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I booked these apartments after all the excellent reviews. This review is very truthful. when we arrived at 4.00am we were greated with a security man who showed us to our room, After opening the door and showed us around he kissed both me and my mother, Which i thought was a bit strange! We thought the apartment itself was great has everything that you need. Towels were only changed once in a week and even when our towels were dirty and i left them in the shower for them and they hung them back up! Also our room wasn't cleaned everyday. They night before we left there was an envelope left for us to tip the room maid. Apart from that the apartments i found were nice inside and on the balcony. There is a safety deposit box for rent in your room i think it is about £10.00 a week. There is an ironing board in every room but no iron they suggest you bring one. If you book with Thomson air condition in included in your room price. All other visitors pay a fee of around 77 euros per week. You can change money at reception which is good. There is a mini market within the reception area. It sells bread, milk, juice, toilet roll, newspapers etc. Please buy toilet rolls as they are not provided. It was a nice place to stay because it is near the beach and the center but i have stayed in better places in Marmaris.

Room Tip: Chosse a room high up as there is a lift. You can get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ttmoursi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just arrived back yesterday after 2 of the hottest weeks we have ever experienced.
Apartments great. Yes the AC is in the bedroom but it soon cooled down with the door open.
Staff polite and did not hassle you about anything. Wifi available, better closer to the reception, just ask for the pass-number at the desk. Extra GBTV channels not available. Ironing boards and airers just arrived as we were leaving.
Even Elvis made an appearance for 2 nights (sorry if we annoyed anyone xxx)
Only noticed the 5am mosque call about 3 times, and found out some of the market stalls are open on Sunday - but not for clothes, bags etc.

We had free breakfast but got a bit fed up of Turkish ones so ate out several times as it was so cheap. Never had a bad meal all holiday. Had a great one at Pierre Loti, steak dinner with starters for less than £10, but the second time we went back, it wasn't quite as good as it was packed and very slow service. The steaks weren't quite cooked to our preferences but it was still great value.
It is our 3rd time in Marmaris in 3 years and it was great to go back to our favourite bars and have the staff recognise you. Love Dilek Cocktail bar

Travelled with Thomson and everything was just perfect -THOMSON KEEP THIS ACCOMMODATION PLEASE. We want to go back next year.

Room Tip: Didn't hear any complaints about the rooms at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizideeCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.8 mi away
Candan Beach Hotel
Candan Beach Hotel
#90 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Apart
Banana Apart
#61 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Palace Apartments
Blue Palace Apartments
#35 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rosy Apart Hotel
Rosy Apart Hotel
#77 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Amaris
Club Amaris
#31 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#32 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candan Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candan Apart Hotel

Property: Candan Apart Hotel
Address: Kemeralti Mah. 115. Sok. No:1 Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Candan Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candan Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing