We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very disappointed”
Review of Grand Pasa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Pasa Hotel
Ranked #22 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We just arrived home on the 5th oct after two weeks stay in what Thomas Cook describe as one of there top hotels the grand pasa 5* in turkey which we classed 3* as other guests said the same.The reception staff were not friendly and hard to understand.
Our room 237 especially the bathroom as in cleaning was never touched,the shower screen was filthy I dont think it has been touched since the hotel was built also the top in wash handbasin was the same.
The food was cold most of the time,we always checked dishes and cutlery to make sure they were cleaned right.
The white wine was horrible to drink and the rum/brandy and whiskey was poured from the same bottle.Hotel was overcrowed with guests and badly understaffed. If you want good food and drink dont go A/I in turkey.
Please take my adivce and avoid this over rated hotel

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,816 - 1,822 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed myself, and would recommend this hotel to everyone I know. There's only one other place in the World that I've ever said that.
The Staff were always attentive, and even though very busy, queuing times were never noticeable.
You must try the Turkish Bath and massage. Cost me £30, and I got a sauna, face mask, steam room, jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and a massage. Qualified people, and I discovered muscles that I didn't know I had.
I have seen other comments about the lack of beds, but there were always beds available. The usual Germans and Glasweigans were out at seven in the morning planting their towels on the sunbeds, but there were still plenty of beds in sunny locations. I can never see the point of placing towels on unused beds for five or six hours, and then sit underneath a parasol for the afternoon. Perhaps a minor criticism of the hotel is that they should enforce their rule about the placing of towels on sunbeds and non-use. It's bodies what keep sunbeds, not towels.
The Ala Carte restaurant needs some attention though. Just a mirror image of the buffet, but with fresh cooking to order. I probably wouldn't bother with an Ala Carte restaurant visit myself now that I have experienced it.
A bus ride to Marmaris is 15 minutes, costing 1.5 Lira, and is the green bus on the main road. Just tell the Driver where you want to go to, and he'll let you off. If you want the second biggest Bazaar in Turkey, then get off at the Ataturk statue in the harbour. If you see something en route that you wish to stop at, just shout "Stop, please", and the Driver will pull over and let you out. There's a bus every five minutes during the day, and right up to the wee early hours there are also plenty.
I felt really secure here, and although there's quite a lot of "come and buy things from me", 99% of the traders will have a laugh and joke with you, and will be genuinely interested in your answers to the stock questions of "where are you from", and then invite you into the shop. Bartering is about honest wholesome fun, obtaining the best deal for the goods that you want.
Anyway, back to the hotel. A truly international hotel, and all tastes got on famously. Great service, and fabulous staff. I recommend this hotel to you, dear reader.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Returned from this hotel last Friday. Had a great time. Started off in a noisy room (ground floor by the road over the generator) asked to be moved and were to a pool view room within 3 days. Excellent considering the hotel was overbooked. Good size rooms, clean towels every day, bedding changed every couple of days. Food choice was excellent. Lovely salad bar. Waiting staff couldn't have been more helpful. Al a Carte restaurant is a must, the food is not the same as the hotel it is all cooked and served fresh. "We never got fresh borek for dinner in the hotel restaurant". We never meet the surly reception staff the moaners said to look out for. We have never seen a hotel pool cleaned so often, everything was scrubbed down every night. Always plenty of sun loungers. If you read that this hotel is not suitable walking for mobility impaired this is not true, but make sure you walk via the Artisan street. We would consider visiting again. Entertainment was poor but the animation team did the best they could. There is plenty of entertainment locally. Diana bar opposite hotel is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

stayed for two weeks in the grand pasa.the hotel was spotless, cleaners were working all the time.bar staff and waiters were brilliant nothing was too much trouble, our maid was simply fantastic most mornings we would go down to breakfast and by the time we came back our room was done.
the entertainment is not very good but watch out for the turkish night with folk dancing and for the boys an excellant belly dancer.the team try their best but only have limited funds and we're not really the get up on the stage and join in type so we didn't mind but at least it finished at a decent hour.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilyshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Firstly I would recommend The Grand Pasa Hotel but read on.
Arrived at Grand Pasa to be told the hotel is in 3 blocks ( a lie ) and we were being sent to lovely block facing sea. A taxi was waiting and off we went to Pasa Beach Hotel block A
This is a renovated block next to Pasa Beach hotel with lovely rooms facing the sea , or ours did.
What they fail to tell you is apart from the bedrooms everything else is still unused. For all the facilities, except an old pool. you use Pasa Beach block B.
Now this has to have the dirtiest dining room I've been in, horrible. and its a drab hotel!
Apparently if you book for the Pasa Beach you can pay £120 and upgrade to block A, There where many bad reports about rooms in block B!
Back to us, We had a option of eating at The Grand Pasa which we did on most occasions. This meant a 5 minute walk up an incline every mealtime. Not good if you have poor mobility
So, everyday people where being sent down from TheGrand Pasa to Pasa Beach with the same story. We spoke to quite a few, (we all wore 2 wrist bands so we identified them! )
Everyone was complaining. What a con!! Paying for 5* and being sent to 4* with awful facilities.
We have complained on our return to our Travel Agent and this is ongoing.
SO BEWARE , stick to your guns if told the tale of the 3 blocks and taxi waiting.
Other than that enjoyed Turkey and will return.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank carol55Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

first impression on entering grand pasa was good, it looks impressive. we had requested pool view rooms close together for ourselves and my son and friend who travelled with us, the requests were with thomas cook and i e-mailed grand pasa before we travelled.we were given rooms on seperate floors at different ends of the hotel, we were given room 245 which is far from a pool view room,it is on the corner of the hotel overlooking roads and another hotel opposite.the noise was bad from buses delivery vans and the bin wagon that came every morning to pick up the piles of rubbish from the hotel opposite that was stacked up high and still left a filthy mess after collection.the noise from the hotel disco next door meant it was impossible to sleep.after booking in we complained to reception who told me the hotel was full and coudnt find us an alternate room,they took us down to pasa beach to show us alternate room{which our rep said they shouldnt have done} pasa beach is not the same standard as grand pasa we refused to be moved there.my son was put in a room overlooking pinetta hotel and the front of grand pasa with noise from the hotel opposite and buses arriving and departing.after several days he moved to pasa beach for a quieter room.after 5 nights our rep managed to get us moved to a pool view room and it felt like we were in a different hotel.the rooms are clean, bedding changed regular and clean towels every day. the only thing i felt was lacking for a 4* hotel was a kettle in the room to have a cuppa without having to go down to the bar or restaraunt.the food was a bit repetative but i am sure nobody would starve.every day was chicken and fish. if you enjoy a cooked breakfast you may be dissappointed. hotdogs in tomato sauce every day,sloppy scrambled eggs, occasionaly baked beans.the chef will make you fried eggs or ommelettes.the entertainment team work hard but like most hotels its not brilliant entertainment but they do their best.the staff in the main are polite and work hard.the sunbed situation was a joke, nowhere near enough sunbeds for the amount of guests in the hotel.in the 2 weeks we were there we didnt once get the chance use them, people were out at 6.30 am in the dark reserving them.it was our 1st time to turkey so cant compare with other hotels there, but in comparison to other countries 4* hotels this was not as good.the reason i would not recomend this hotel is because of limited amount of pool view rooms available which are fine,the alternative rooms which we seen overlook roads and other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeh103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel. reading some of the reviews previous i was quite worried about what i would expect but it was great. there was no problems what so ever. people were just moaning about stupid stuff....
the only problem was the pool area, you had to get up early to nab a sunbed.
the food was great, lots of variety, after the 2nd week it started to get a little repetative but would do u expect from an all inclusive??
the weather was fantastic.
staff were really good. we travelled with thomson and it was a really quick transfer time of 1 hour. we got to the hotel and were taken to our hotel room. everyone was polite and helpful. the bar staff were hilerious. well up for a laugh. everyone who moans about the staff being dull and boring were obviously at a different hotel!
the trips were fantastic....DO NOT book with the rep coz u can get a much better deal with private companies. and u can haggle!
would definatley go back, dont listen to all the negative reviews, i dont no where they stayed but it wasnt here. the only bad thing was the entertainment.....but your a 4 min walk to the beach and there is shops and resturants around the hotel to go and eat and rink and be merry :)
GO AND ENJOY YOURSELF.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.4 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#15 of 234 in Marmaris
1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
0.8 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Rock Beach Hotel
Golden Rock Beach Hotel
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pasa Hotel

Address: Durmazlar Cad 15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#27 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £46 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Pasa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Pasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pasa Marmaris
Hotel Grand Pasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing