We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT! But we had a nasty surprise at the end..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #47 of 233 Hotels in Marmaris
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“GREAT! But we had a nasty surprise at the end..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This review a year and a bit late lol..But please do read, you need to know!

We were checked in easy enough..although were made to wait for about 20mins when the receptionist went missing. Then popped up behind us ushering us towards the lift. Tad rude. Probs just tired we thought.

The rooms nice and big. We're offered air con at (i think) 35lira for the week. Hell no. I'm on a budget lol We have a balcony door and i intend to leave it open. The room's nice its clean and tidy. Pillows bit hollow and spongy but i make do. Bathroom...could be bit cleaner in the corners. And Turkish bath's are strange. Sort of a cube shape. You do have to sit up in it. Nice sized window that opens so its cool when your showering or bathing. The sink was a little loose but not leaking so its fine. I wasn't expecting luxury so its really not a problem. The balcony is spacious and clean. I can smell the lemon cleaner so know its cleaned often. We have a table and chair..It looks onto the back of the hotel and residences. When the sun rose it looked beautiful; all the houses. Can see the odd hotel dotted about. We're right at the foot of the huge hill road that brings you spiraling down into Marmaris. Great mountain views.

We went bed and breakfast,. The brekky hall is huge. Nice and light but no sunchine in your face. Brekky...Its sparse, but strangely nice...but in 40c heat..i cant see how you'd want a huge breakfast. We certainly didn't. We were given a hard boiled egg. Crisp breads, spreads, olives and tomatoes. There's also drink all you like fruit juice!! There is an extras add on menu so you can order more. Some things priced ok others-nope. Far too much. But yes..i liked what i was given and the little old man rushing about serving everybody made us smile every morning =) He's just lovely.

The pool... HUGE. deep.. cool and clean. Although it's barely 8.30am and most the sun loungers have been taken. Early bird catches the sun lounger it seems! The bar area is a nice size. Has some huge "put ya feet up" arm chairs and sofas in the shaded area. Music plays. ON REPEAT. That's annoying. I knew the playlist by the 3rd day. The bar itself has a big selection of alcohol. Prices...medium to high. Cocktail 12lira. Bit high =/ But to be honest Marmaris was around 12lira a drink everywhere else. IF YOU DON'T drink beer (local Leffe) Then it WILL be an expensive holiday. I couldn't afford to get drunk as I'm not a beer drinker.

Hotel staff...Now...as nice as they are, they are VERY hassley.. Wether your walking in or out of the hotel they will corner you or follow you out and try their hardest to get you to come to one of their themed nights. Myself and my boyfriend really like to explore so not once did we stay at the hotel for food or one of these party nights. So for night entertainment we cant say what it'd be like. But to avoid the staff, in the end we had to sneak out the back of the hotel and walk around to the main street. Just to avoid the rigmarole of "no, no thank you...ok yep..maybe..bye! bye! I saId maybe...bye!" Once i actually snapped at him "BACK OFF. I said no"....This went on EVERY DAY. Just leave me be i wanna go be Dora the Explorer not Hermes the hotel hermit!!!!

The hotel has indoor entertainment, a little shop- cheap! A hairdressers and ping pong table. Bats at the request in reception.

Now. For the nasty surprise. We were checking out...and I was pulled by management and told to pay them 75lira OR my coach wouldn't come to pick us up for the airport. WHY i hear you ask.. Well. The manageress -english.. had 7 of my bath towels in front of me and 3 pillow cases that id accidentally gotten temporary hair dye on. Tint. She said she'd tried her hardest to get the dye out and i had to now pay for new towels are be left behind by my coach. I instantly said this..
"So..why after 7 days...when I've spent ALL MY HOLIDAY MONEY do you decide to tell me this NOW?? Why not after the first towel? When i could have been made aware my dye was running and just use one towel????" This went on for ages. Near an hour. Back and forth.

The chlorine had made it bleed. I was GENUINELY unaware id gotten dye on the towels. Really, I had no clue. How often do you check that I mean..really? Didn't even cross my mind to do that.
I burst into tears.. i had 20lira left for the airport. I then started yelling that NO WAY was i paying 75lira as they could and SHOULD have told me way earlier.. Other hotel guests were around me and tried telling the staff how could they expect me to pay at the END of my holiday. They agreed with everything i said!!! I also couldn't believe they'd tried hard enough to get it out as back home, my own towels are fine. Absolutely fine. They had 7 days to tell me and didn't as they just wanted the maximum amount of money out of me for the biggest threat they could give me. My travel to the airport. I said all this to her too.. REPEATEDLY. She wavered...and we agreed on 35lira. Which payed with my partners credit card. He was livid too.. So we kept 4 of the huge bath towels and took them with us. We payed for them!!!!!

BUT....When we got home.. i put them directly in the washing machine.. and low and behold. The dye came right out. Its temp dye its water based. They lied through their back teeth to me. Absolutely made me sick with worry for my coach not turning up. They basically robbed me. I still have the towels to this day and there's not a mark on em!!!!! Nothing. I hope they read this. As i was right and they owe me money!

So the lesson is this. BEWARE of ANY marks you leave on your covers, towels etc. THEY WILL NOT HESITATE TO SPRING IT ON YOU at the end of your holiday when all your money is gone. Wether you realised or not (like me!) what you were doing they wont listen. They don't care, They have your coach back in the palm of their hands and they know that.. Be careful!! Use the one towel over and over and LET THEM KNOW.

Room Tip: If you have cosmetics on you that may run (hair dye, mascara) TAKE IT OFF before you sleep or use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    142
    47
    47
    57
See reviews for
177
216
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just came back from a girly holiday at Hotel Hermes and what can I say it was a fantastic holiday from start to finish. From the moment we got there we were made to feel very welcome by Mehmet and his friendly staff who were extremley helpful nothing was ever too much for them. They couldn't do enough for us. All we did throughout the entire holiday was laugh. The food was fantastic, the rooms were clean overall I would highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel... I will be returning back to this hotel for my next holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Came her in June 2013
Nice hotel. Rooms okay.
Clean & tidy. A little far away from Marmaris centre. Good entertainment. Not a family Hotel but a company run hotel which is better coz u get different Hotel staff every 8 hours as it is a shift rota. So u dont seem to see the same staff faces as Turkish staff can be miserable especially if u don't use their bar. But I mainly shopped at the local shop which was right next to the hotel, and very cheap. But u have to be carefully what u bring in as there is a sign saying 'No food or drink from outside'. But otherwise GOOD & WORTH WHAT U PAY FOR"

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Safinaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

stayed in the hotel with my girlfriend and 7 friends. we all had an amazing time and the staff at the hotel certainly made the holiday. everyone here was so friendly and looked after us all and nothing was to much trouble. some of the bar staff came out on day trips and down bar street with us. the food was also excellent with a great choice. we eat at the hotel most days.rooms were cleaned daily and there was an excellent pool aswell. will definitely be back to hermes hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stereo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

just back had 2 weeks at this hotel the hotel is basic but spotlessly clean the food is excellent and the staff are so attentive and helpful ,they entertained us throughout the holiday nothing was to much of a bother
receptionist very helpful and kind staff are really funny management are great excellent 5 star service.
i was part of a group of 9 and we all loved the place, the chef is one of the best in marmiris we had dinner there 5 times the food was that good his cream potato is to die for best ive ever tasted. and lunch menu well there something on that for everyone i tried most of it over my 2 weeks.

pool bar is excellent they cant do enough for you very attentive all day long from coffee to cocktails you wont be disappointed, and the guys some of the best dancer ive seen was cool too watch and join in.

getting out and abouts easy enough with the dolbus 2 mins walk from hotel there 4 different routes all leading too centre and back again for 2 lira. taxi back at night cost about 17 lira

please give hermes a try we did and love it

Room Tip: 114 twin bed with best view of pool on first floor and right next to the pool bar mate had 106 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Where shell I start... I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend and we had an incredible time.
We got to the hotel early hours in the morning and went Into reception whilst being greeted by reception. He took us to our room, which was very clean, with a bath/shower, all with a balcony. You can hire a safety deposit box, air conditioning. The maids cleaned your rooms every day and they was friendly too. We left valuables out and was always there when we got back.

The next morning we went down to explore and was greeted by so many workers, they are all so friendly and always remembered your names.
The hotel was about a 15-20 min walk to the beach, this hotel is in a lovely quiet bit of marmaris. You could always get a bus from outside the hotel down to the beach with cost 2tl each which is about 0.75p. Next to the hotel you have a supermarket, fruit and veg shop, over the road there is a restaurant too and a shop. Really good sized pool for the size of the hotel. WIFI in reception and surrounding areas.
Food is very nice here and there is a huge variety.
If you book and excursions you get picked up from your hotel and dropped back, the hotel staff and REPS are very helpful to help you book trips.
Everyone in marmaris is very friendly and helpful especially the staff at this hotel. The staff made our holiday, they will bend over backwards to make sure your happy and you have a brilliant holiday. They was very easy to get along with and could have a good laugh. Staff also have us a lift to places and come out with us which was great.


They should all be very proud of themselves because us and everyone else we spoke to said they have had a brilliant time and would defiantly go back! I spoke to people that had been going there for 5-6 years.
We will be returning to this hotel as we had a fantastic time and loved our stay here. Everyone is like a family there.
Also when we left they took all our cases to the coach and clapped us off!
Lovely hotel and lovely staff!
I just can't explain the service and how happy we was about this hotel.

P.s the pool table in reception, is free;)

I hope to see you all again, thanks a lot.
Becky and Sean xxx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8286holt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed here last year with my girlfriend . Excellent staff great entertainment. All round a top hotel. Food was superb staff always on hand to help out and Entertain. Not far from the shops and bus stop. Would stay again. Highly reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adiward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmaris
0.1 mi away
Golden Orange Apart
Golden Orange Apart
#55 of 233 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Musti's Royal Plaza
Musti's Royal Plaza
#5 of 28 in Armutalan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Club Amaris
Club Amaris
#31 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kaan Apart
Kaan Apart
#84 of 233 in Marmaris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seler Hotel
Seler Hotel
#74 of 233 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Epic Hotel & Apartments
Epic Hotel & Apartments
#7 of 28 in Armutalan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: Inonu Cad. No: 13 | Armutalan, Marmaris, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 233 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing