We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Apart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Apart
Ranked #77 of 233 Hotels in Marmaris
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very disappointing stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

On arriving at the apartments we were greeted by Antonio who was very pleasant he took us to 2nd floor 40 stairs no lift to 5 different rooms until we found one that was ready then he noticed that the fridge did'nt work so we went to room six which had a burnt out kettle that's cord was mended twice and a double hotplate that only 1 plate worked this he changed immediately there were 4 chairs but no table in the room and he said he would have one the next day for us but we waited 4 days until the new ones arrived and then only got one when we asked again. The apartment was spacious having a living/kitchenette with a sofa bed a bedroom with twin beds and a bathroom. We had to ask for the balcony to be cleaned as we had rain and we were in 1inch rain with leaves on the balcony this they did 2 days later. The bins were emptied every day at 18.00hrs and we had clean linen 3 times in 2 weeks the apartment itself was cleaned twice in the 1st week and not at all in the 2nd week we had rain again early 2nd week and my husband asked for the mop so that we could clean our balcony as we had a lot of water and leaves again and could'nt really go out there and he got growled at and told that the cleaners did that. It was'nt done again before we left. The pool area was overcrowded with children and is small and noisy and the bar area is very dirty although we did see one of the staff hosing down once during our stay. Because we complained to the rep who said that we were not the only ones to complain we were grunted at quite a lot for most of the holiday by the male staff. The cleaning lady and her children were about the only ones that really spoke to us and other holiday makers. I would never go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caralan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    27
    8
    6
    14
See reviews for
36
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We have been going to Marmaris for 10 years and have stayed in apartments, hotels & with family. On arrival the staff (Pete) was welcoming & friendly serving us and our family drinks depsite being the only guests at the bar. The rooms were clean although on different floors.
Day 2 - ALL CHANGE, quickly reaslised it was near the 'end of the season' & we were the last of the guests, obvoiusly much to their disappointment. Antonio was on duty and we have never met anyone so 'dour', solemn and unfriendly in 10yrs coming to Turkey!
Rooms- the bins were emptied every other day (often by the cleaners children) and beds /towels changed 3rd day; trouble was they decided when day 1 started from so on our final day - charged £20 to keep 1 room until pick up but expected to use 4 day old used towels!!!! they did provide clean towels after we demanded them. Few days of cold showers or 20 mins to run water to heat up!!! No brush in rooms and floors and balcony were not swept for 10 days!
We have never been asked to BE QUIET during a stay in Marmaris -as the apts were almost empty we can only inagine it was so Antonio could get some sleep after being glued to his laptop all shift!!! If they were tired and ready for the season to end maybe they should have closed 2 weeks earlier!
Despite the negative comments we had a ball in Marmaris -perhaps because we only used the apts to return after beach and for bed -I sugggest you do the same!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We chose to stay at the Banana appart because it had a 4 out of 5 review. These are cheap appart but you would expect to have hot water which we did not for four days. The shower tray leaked straight onto the tiled floor which made it very slippery and dangerous. the cooking pots and utensils were still dirty from the previous occupents which made the whole thing seem gruby. After four days we had a room change the hot water kept coming and going. For 2 days we had no electric due to Maramis road works between 7am and 5pm. we were not given any warning of this beforehand, so the food was ruiend in the fridge.unfortunatley while we were there it rained alot it would have been nice to have a small portable TV as specified in the review instead there was just cables sticking out of the walls. By the way the air com is £4 pound a night and safe deposit box is £10 pound a week.
Do not be surprised at what you dont get these are cheap appartments spend a bit more and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

lovely clean apartments and the food was really nice too. ive been to turkey 6 years in a row and these apartments were small but very friendly. the people here were very helpful and made our holiday. the sun shines on the swimming pool all day and u can sit in the shade to have ur meal/snacks and a wee drink. i would like to thank all of those who made our holiday a pleasurable one. very close to the beach (5 minute walk or less). The main town centre is about a 20 minute walk or u can hop on the dolmus and its 4mins down the road. 1.75 lira into the town and 2.50 into icelmer in the dolmus. the only thing about your room is that there is only one cupboard to put your clothes in. i would stay in these apartments again. thanks to all those who work in the banana apartments you were all wonderful. please say hello to beeza and her sister..xxxx miss you all xxxx

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

It was our first time in Marmaris and it was unexpectedly good for the price we’ve paid, it was spacious, clean despite climbing up 4 floors to our room. The Staff were very friendly, always willing to help but rather cheeky, maybe because its run by some young guys
Food wasn’t the greatest, so ate out most time – there are nearby restaurants where you can try authentic Turkish food & you have the beach just 5 mins away. Oh.. and the toilet rolls are not free (only the first roll)

Overall, it was good value for money, you will be getting more for what you pay for.we had a great time and would highly recommend this apartment.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank york t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed at banana apartments for two weeks in July with my five best friends ( All 19) . We arrived late at around 23:30 and had a warm welcome from Tim & Antonio, they were really nice to us from the get go, really friendly, chatty and carried our cases up to our room. When we said we wanted to go to bar street or beach front that night, they straight away offered to come with us which we were extremely grateful as it made it a lot easier for us to find our way around .
The apartment we had was ideal, it was extremely spacious with two bedrooms and a large bathroom and living area. There was a mix up with the room as we did book to have x2- 3 bed studio and Tim offered to move us to the studios after a couple of days, however after seeing the apartment we decided it was perfect for us and we didn't feel the need to change. The apartment was very clean and nicely decorated.
The pool area was good and never got too crowded so it was always easy to get a sunbed, it was perfect for lazing off the hangover from the night before.
Many other reviews of these apartments state that the location of the hotel isn't that great, therefore before arrival we were quite apprehensive to see exactly how far out of town we were. However we were pleasantly surprised, although the apartments aren't within walking distance from the main clubs on beach front and bar street ,the dolmus is only 1.75 TL and takes around five minutes . Also banana had a number of great bars and restaurants within really easy reach of the apartments( No-name at the bottom of the road is well worth a visit aswell as the Samdan restaurant along the mainroad towards the town centre). It was just what we were after.

The food at the hotel was nice and good value for money , as well as the drinks which are really strong- so a great port of call before heading to the main bars and clubs Marmaris has to offer.
I would recommend this hotel to young groups of friends on holiday and young couples.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful and I am certain we will return to Banana apartments again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 62 is the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 214gex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We have just got back today from the Banana Apartments, Our room was very basic , We was expecting that cos it was cheap but was also expecting a clean room. it had carpet that was stained and when we first walked into the room the smell was bad , only for gettting there so late we would have gone some where else to stay . We had the top room and it had a huge balcony that was the only plus side to our room, The room itself was very big but was over run with ants to be expected with the weather , we did mention it but dont think anything was done. the towels where changed on the 5th day bedding wasnt changed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amp38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmaris
0.0 mi away
Family Apartments
Family Apartments
#18 of 28 in Armutalan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaan Apart
Kaan Apart
#86 of 233 in Marmaris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.5 mi away
High Life Apartments
High Life Apartments
#62 of 233 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
#54 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Orange Apart
Golden Orange Apart
#55 of 233 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#30 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Apart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Apart

Property: Banana Apart
Address: Sirinyer Mah. Durmazlar Sok. No:14 Armutalan, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Banana Apart 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Banana Apart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Apart Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing