We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Room 402”
Review of North Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Point Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Samsun
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I think North Point Hotel is a very popular choice of Turkish business people. It's located near the both the sea and the old town centre. However, I'd rate it as a standard 3-star hotel - given that there is no tea or coffee facility in the rooms, the bathroom & shower are definitely not in the same league as my previous (4-star) hotels in Turkey, the shower gel and shampoos provided are for the brave and perfumed - and the bar of soap re-defines the meaning of small.

As a non-smoker, I made the mistake of not mentioning this on a night where all rooms were fully booked - and Room 402 is NOT recommended - unless you enjoy a smoker's ambience. Room 402 also has a poor shower fitment in a very slippery, small bath - which I felt was the most potentially dangerous I've encountered in this class of hotel. The bed was not brilliant either! On the positive side, the staff were very helpful - and did move me to a fresher room - next door! Breakfast is good - but again really appropriate for a lesser-starry hotel. The reception area is probably the best part of the hotel in terms of quality. I suppose - disappointed - would be the first word that comes to mind - especially after reading some contributor's more glowing reports. Maybe other floors and other rooms are different. If I go back to Samsun - which is a really interesting small city - I'd look elsewhere for my hotel.

Room Tip: As I mention above, if you are a non-smoker - try to make sure you are offered a 'fresh' roo...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeveedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for North Point Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed both of hotels,one of is in Samsun and the other one is in Denizli..the two hotels are very nice,staffs are very gentle and helpfull...the hotel in Samsun have gorgeous black sea view...if i will come Samsun again,i will definitely stay in North Point Hotel

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank İdil Akkaş T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

North Point Samsun is a branch of mini hotel chain. They claim to be a business hotel which is true. Still you can observe somewhat elegant details such as ornamental drawings and accessories, a small garden seating for smokers and a breakfast selection surpassing many five-star holiday resorts. Mini bar contains free drinking water, other goods are at market price. Room service does not cost enormously, either. The only negative aspect is lack of space. The building is apparently not meant to serve as a hotel. Large pillars in the room make the space valuable. Optimum choice for a short business stay...

Room Tip: First and second floor rooms (especially facing west) may get the scents and noise of kitchen ventil...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Very small rooms at a pretty high rate, considering the location. The hotel is located right at the main street near the harbour, but that means very much noise and not a lot of restaurants and bars nearby, as you could expect. No garage for the car and no parking service, so you have to worry about your car over night.

Breakfast is not worth to mention it, pretty poor.

Samsun seaside is not exciting and so is the town. The best thing is, that there are a lot of shops and markets behind the hotel, but I could not find a good place for dinner.

Room Tip: book a room at the back side (city), the seaside rooms are too loud.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix_Wuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The rate of TL195 per nightiht (bb) for two persons are a bit high for the standards of Black Sea coast, but North Point's excellent location, cleanliness, and good service makes it a good bargain nonetheless. The hotel is located around the corner from Samsun's main square, overlooking Black Sea, and some 150 meters away from such attractions as Archeological/Etnography Museum. We stayed in a room on the back side, thus no problems with noise of traffic. But the rooms on the water front side also happen to face city's busiest avenue, therefore potentially noisy. Breakfast is 4-star quality with ample amount and variety of local tastes such as cheese, pastries, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank siteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

It's a modern, not so big, well designed business hotel. I recommend especially if you have to the something in city center.

My room was a bit small, I don't know the others. Over all it is very nice hotel, with helpful and kind staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aydincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Conveniently located at the promenade, very central, close to Cultural Centre.
Comfortable, modern rooms with WiFi, good efficient and friendly service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyFriendStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samsun hotels
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Samsun Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Samsun
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Samsun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Anemon Samsun Hotel
Anemon Samsun Hotel
#4 of 31 in Samsun
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Desi Hotel
Grand Desi Hotel
#15 of 31 in Samsun
36 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Atakum Hotel
Grand Atakum Hotel
#12 of 31 in Samsun
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Point Hotel

Address: Ataturk Bulvari no 594, Samsun 55030, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Black Sea Coast > Samsun Province > Samsun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Samsun
Price Range: £33 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing