We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location. Excellent view”
Review of Buyuk Sumela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buyuk Sumela Hotel
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Trabzon
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is within a short drive (aound 20 minutes) from Trapzon airport. It is on the main road so its very easy to find, cant miss it. It is closer to Trapzon's main attraction, Sumela Monestary. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, we were offered an extra bed free of charge, thank you.
The room overlooks the mountains and a water stream. Breakfast was great, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for people travelling to Trapzon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MansourQabandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

We prefered this hotel for the vicinity of monastery. İt looked like abandoned,dark(most of lights were off),cold(heating system was also not working),tv channels limited( not any english or movie channel)
Rooms were clean,breakfast was standard.Staff were helpfull but inefficient.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ayasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel with our tour group for one night. It was close to Sumela Monastery, reaching there is very easy and the view on the way is magnificient. The hotel was really comfortable. Beds were large and very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and large. It is quite luxurious, the way you open the doors. Our dinner was set menu and everything was tasty. Breakfast was open buffet. There was a wide range of selection. Bread made from corn flour and different kinds of cheese. There was internet connection in the rooms, so even if there is nothing to do around the hotel, you can have fun on internet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank estella2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed in Sumela hotel for 3 nights. Rooms were nice, clean and the breakfast was rich enough.

Staff of the hotel is kind & helpful.

I would definely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anemos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed there for one night and left after breakfast the next morning. The food quality was not good and the service was very slow. Although the number of guests were not more than 30, there was not enough food like cheese or eggs at the buffet. We warned the staff several times but they did not bring anything until we were leaving.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buciIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here as we wanted to get close to Sumela monastery in order to be ahead of the crowds in the morning. We arrived around 10pm, as this is summer, there was some wedding party going on, best to be as high as possible in the hotel to reduce noise level. the quality of it was surprisingly "international" I would say, we had with 2 children some kind of suite with a bed placed in smallest room of two. Quality of beds, bathroom and amenities was good, and most welcome (and not standard in Turkey) was that the curtains actually blocked out sunlight (not the prayer calls however :-)) very well! Breakfast choices were more than the standard ones, and roughly in line with price/stars that you would expect here. Parking can be on street around the hotel, we left key so they could move it when we were obstructing and they moved it closer when the tour buses left (before us, we did not reach our target departure time)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelgianInIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

We were supposed to be staying in Trabzon but because of an error in our hotel reservation this was all that was available. Had no idea what to expect it was sight unseen last minute at 3 in the morning.
It was a very nice hotel with a great staff almost all of whom spoke English. Food was good, room was very comfortable and hotel was secure. The huge plus was the monastery built into the side of a high cliff located 8 km from the hotel. This is a hidden jewel! Dating back to 300 AD it is open to the public, partially restored and with beautiful frescos. Worth a special trip.

The local people were all nice and made us feel welcome, too.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank FL450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trabzon
15.7 mi away
Royal Life Exclusive Hotel
Royal Life Exclusive Hotel
#18 of 37 in Trabzon
24 reviews
14.3 mi away
Zorlu Grand Hotel
Zorlu Grand Hotel
#3 of 37 in Trabzon
213 reviews
15.8 mi away
Novotel Trabzon Hotel
Novotel Trabzon Hotel
#2 of 37 in Trabzon
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Trabzon
13.2 mi away
Aksular Hotel
Aksular Hotel
#21 of 37 in Trabzon
25 reviews
12 mi away
Sera Lake Resort
Sera Lake Resort
#3 of 5 in Akcaabat
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buyuk Sumela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buyuk Sumela Hotel

Address: Cevizlik Mevki Macka, Trabzon 61750, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Black Sea Coast > Trabzon Province > Trabzon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Trabzon
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Buyuk Sumela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing