We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Buyuk Sumela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buyuk Sumela Hotel
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Trabzon
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel was our first stop after arriving at Trabzon Airport. It has a good location in the center of Macka with some shops and restaurants around. It is convenient for a visit at Sumela Monastery.
The hotel was used by some large traveling groups therefore the restaurant, with buffet service , was very crowed for dinner and breakfast. The food was ok but nothing special. From my point of view the Breakfasts buffet could have had more choices.
The room room itself was reasonable good for the one night we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler5319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a very basic hotel and often used by big groups who stay one night. The breakfast was very average - especially as the tour groups get there first as they leave early and things are mostly cold after 8am. The staff try hard but virtually no-one speaks English and as my Turkish is very limited it was difficult to get information. Saying that, the location is good for the monastery and there are a few good places to eat in Macke.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the street have the best view but poorest airconditioning - which is not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is used by businessmen and by groups but also fine for individual travellers. The location is excellent in the towncenter. Rooms in front have an excellent view, but might get some noise from the street in front.
Everything is there that you might expect from a 4 star hotel in North Eastern Anatolia, well equiped bathroom, everything is clean and well maintained! Staff is friendly and helpful. We staid in halfboard and had a (standard) buffet for dinner - large buffet for breakfast! Like most of the hotels in the east, no real coffee to be found... powder coffee with hot water available! Internet works well, also in the room. I must say I was more than satisfied with my 2 night stay!

Room Tip: You can't avoid the wake-up call by the by the mosk, but for the rest... if you want a quite roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean - paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is within a short drive (aound 20 minutes) from Trapzon airport. It is on the main road so its very easy to find, cant miss it. It is closer to Trapzon's main attraction, Sumela Monestary. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, we were offered an extra bed free of charge, thank you.
The room overlooks the mountains and a water stream. Breakfast was great, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for people travelling to Trapzon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MansourQabandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We prefered this hotel for the vicinity of monastery. İt looked like abandoned,dark(most of lights were off),cold(heating system was also not working),tv channels limited( not any english or movie channel)
Rooms were clean,breakfast was standard.Staff were helpfull but inefficient.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ayasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel with our tour group for one night. It was close to Sumela Monastery, reaching there is very easy and the view on the way is magnificient. The hotel was really comfortable. Beds were large and very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and large. It is quite luxurious, the way you open the doors. Our dinner was set menu and everything was tasty. Breakfast was open buffet. There was a wide range of selection. Bread made from corn flour and different kinds of cheese. There was internet connection in the rooms, so even if there is nothing to do around the hotel, you can have fun on internet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank estella2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed in Sumela hotel for 3 nights. Rooms were nice, clean and the breakfast was rich enough.

Staff of the hotel is kind & helpful.

I would definely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anemos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trabzon
15.7 mi away
Royal Life Exclusive Hotel
Royal Life Exclusive Hotel
#19 of 38 in Trabzon
24 reviews
14.3 mi away
Zorlu Grand Hotel
Zorlu Grand Hotel
#4 of 38 in Trabzon
211 reviews
12 mi away
Sera Lake Resort
Sera Lake Resort
#2 of 4 in Akcaabat
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Trabzon
15.8 mi away
Novotel Trabzon Hotel
Novotel Trabzon Hotel
#2 of 38 in Trabzon
331 reviews
14 mi away
Voice Hotel
Voice Hotel
#1 of 4 in Macka
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buyuk Sumela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buyuk Sumela Hotel

Address: Cevizlik Mevki Macka, Trabzon 61750, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Black Sea Coast > Trabzon Province > Trabzon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Trabzon
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Buyuk Sumela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing