We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel and gardens” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Entebbe

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Entebbe
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was impressed by Sunset hotel, the building and the quality of the rooms. The whole building is beautifully decorated and the rooms are really nice. There is a continental/mediterranean flavour mixed with African influences. The room was clean.

The staff were friendly and happy to help. The gardens are a great place to hang around with a drink, a book, etc.

The only negative aspect about the hotel was the bathroom we had was small and the design and location of the shower meant when having a shower water was splashed everywhere in the bathroom: floor, toilet, mirror, etc.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would definitely go back if I had to stay in Entebbe - although next time I may check the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LepAar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    55
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
20
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We arrived in Entebbe late at night. And after the long flight from NYC through Amsterdam the hotel personnel and van was waiting for us. Wow, with our 15 bags of luggage for an orphanage they got us to the hotel in record time, and we were sound asleep in no time. I can not say enough about the clean hotel, the pick up from the airport and the very nice breakfast in the morning except like the rest of Uganda it was great, Absolutely wonderful and they made us feel like we were home with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seesgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The place was nice and clean. Very comfortable. Good meals. The staff is helpful and very friendly. We were close to the airport and transportation was provided when it was time to leave. The grounds were also nice. Olive and her staff are wonderful. I enjoyed a 10 day safari and Olive made all of the arrangements. Every place was nice, clean and had good staff members. The driver for the safari was very nice, friendly and I felt safe and that I was in good hands having him. I am ready to go back!!

Room Tip: My room was right off of the lobby and it was fine. I didn't hear noise from outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

It's a good option for a few nights in Entebbe if you are looking for something basic. Good quality for what you pay. Rooms are basic, with a fan, and a decent breakfast. It's very popular among UN staff (UNVs).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susyarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Good clean place to spend a night or several. Well located in a quiet residential area but within walking distance of Entebbe town centre and easy access to and from airport. Security was good, my room was very clean, bedding and towels changed daily. My room had recently been refurbished, was simply but pleasantly furnished and amenities worked fine (hot water shower and wall-mounted fan over net-covered bed).
Breakfast buffet style with ample choice. Pleasant guest lounge with satellite tv. WiFi worked ok even in the large well-kept garden. Staff were unobtrusive but always polite and very helpful.
Have no hesitation in recommending Sunset Entebbe. My room was $45 per night, breakfast included and I thought it good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 212ChrisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The room was a reasonable price and included airport transfer so it was nice to arrive and not have to worry about the next step. We had no problems here, nice room nice breakfast, a good option for a night before or after a flight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

The rooms are a decent size. Water didn't work today and have had problems with wifi several times. Generally though wifi is excellent.

On the whole the service is very good. Sometimes things are a bit too much trouble for the staff. It's quite laid back.

Breakfast is very good. Nice choice of breads, cereals, eggs, juices and cereals. The coffee is great too!

We did order a taxi the first day and it was a rip off. 20,000 shillings to go 3km. This is just wrong. A boda boda would have been 2,000. Walking took us 45 mins. Be aware of taxi costs!

The Faze 3 restaurant which is 20 min walk is fantastic. There are plenty of other restaurants nearby too. My colleague loves the Gately. It has a nice ambient atmosphere but the food is standard in my opinion. The Sunset evening menu is limited but the quality is fine.

I've really enjoyed my stay here. I would definitely recommend it to other visitors. Just make sure you don't get ripped off on taxi fares!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidgirlinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.6 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.8 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
0.2 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#8 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
5.1 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#15 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Entebbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Entebbe

Property: Sunset Entebbe
Address: Plot 25 Church Road | P.O. Box 646, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Sunset Motel Entebbe)
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Kizungu, a desirable suburb of Entebbe only a few minutes drive from the International Airport. This very quiet hotel with 17 en-suite rooms is ideally suited for business and recreational traveller's seeking accommodation before and after their travel within Uganda. The hotel is conveniently situated in a serene environment but close to tourist facilities within Entebbe. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing