We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Friendly, Clean and Very Helpful”
Review of Sunset Entebbe

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Entebbe
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I decided to take a week's vacation before our mission trip in Uganda, and came across Sunset Entebbe on tripadvisor. We needed a place to stay for a couple nights before we headed out on safari for the week. We are so glad we chose Sunset Entebbe.

The rooms were comfortable, the garden area was relaxing, the entire staff so helpful and pleasant. We had extra luggage for our mission trip, and the staff was so helpful in storing it for us while we were on safari. The hotel was very quiet considering its proximity to the airport and town.

We also used Olive Safari, whom they recommended, and we are so glad we did. They customized a trip for us and arranged everything. If you use Olive Safari, be sure to ask for Jonathan as your guide. He is a very special young man; friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable about everything we saw.

We made the mistake of assuming that our credit card would be used for much of our trip, but found that it is not so common to use credit cards in Uganda. The staff in general, and Jonathan in particular, were very understanding and helpful in sorting everything out.

We couldn't be happier with the way our adventure turned out. Thanks again Sunset Entebbe and Olive Safari!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

When travelling back from Kigali to Kampala/Entebbe I found this clean hotel with friendly staff, tasty food, value for money, hot water, tv, fans, away from the road in a calm neighbourhood. On a short drive from the airport (pickup from or to the airport for free). Enough to do on short distance like botanical garden, zoo and waterfront !

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the plot seem the newest !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermaliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Looking for something near the airport for one night? The location's right -- in quiet neighborhood of villas, consulates, school, religious houses, restaurants, lake, other hotels, and right next door a bar/restaurant/carwash. Yard space to sit outside, in shadow of giant phone tower, and unfortunately next door neighbors burning their trash made it not so pleasant. Hotel is a rambling building, not at all new as appears in their photos. Rooms cheaply furnished with fittings somewhat broken down especially the bockety fan in our room, which had narrow single beds. This was a very basic place, but at $50 what can be expected. No air conditioner, wifi that didn't reach much past lobby despite what they tell you. Restaurant not very good, and no convenience store close by. Free transport to airport. Staff was not particularly friendly nor forthcoming, and seemingly not well managed; the boy on desk at night failed to wake us 6 a.m. us despite the driver waiting for an hour. Would not repeat here, although the Sunset at least is a secure enough facility near airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at Sunset Entebbe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment! We appreciate that you have taken your time to value our hotel and its environs. And as we explained in our mailconversation we are extremely sorry, and concerned, about the issue of the failure to wake you up, and although you had not requested a wake up call, the staff member should have understood the need for it. Us knowingly this has never happened before. The person in question is now suspended.

As shown by other comments, most of our customers appreciate the main hotel building being a carefully renovated old colonial structure with matching but rather simple furniture. It gives it the homely guest-house like atmosphere many of our guests prefer. We also receive many positive comments of our staff and hotel environments.

We shall be more than happy to welcome you back at any time and will make sure you will not only get the best of service but also one of the rooms in the adjacent but relatively new hotel building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A friend had recommended this place to stay on arrival into Entebbe and before having to go on into Kampala.
Very glad I did stay here. A very nice value with very nice service.
The rooms are nice with nice big shower heads and hot water. TV, fans, etc. as well.
The gardens are very nice, the food good and service friendly.
One way transport for free was very nice as we had a very early departure and the driver was right on time taking us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthego2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My change of plan from two days reservation to four was due to the friendly staff and environment in addition to top end services provided.Hotel located in a perfect place free from any noise,security guaranteed,free single transport either to or from the airport at no extra cost.Above all is the beautiful garden not forgetting the delicious breakfasts.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank jameso897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very nice place and good price. We stayed 3 days. Staff friendly beautiful grounds. Clean rooms iwould highly recommend this place. Good. Meals. Quiet. Helpful staff. Friendly owner. Good value for your. Money

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at Sunset Entebbe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive comments! We have worked hard with the training of our staff and it really pays dividends. It was a pleasure having you staying with us at Sunset and you are most welcome back again. Hope your trip back to Ottawa was good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Pros - nice garden to sit and relax in, good dinner from the restaurant (but see cons below for concers about the kitchen). Very close to the airport with free transfers.

Cons - room and bathroom were very pokey and quite dated. Other guests drinking in the garden were very noisy and you can hear the tv's from other rooms. We were provided with a packed breakfast as we had an early flight - the bread had areas of green mould on the crust....

There were lots of other hotels in the area so I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilds282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at Sunset Entebbe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience encountered. We believe that since it was during the xmas days people were a bit relaxed and may somehow have been noisier than usual, and also, a neighbor had a party on that day. We wish you had brought forward the complain at that time giving us a chance to handle it. The bread issue is more alarming to us, especially since so many other people have given us positive comments on our fresh bread and the varieties of it. We have, immediately, put in place a new system that we trust shall avoid any such inconveniences for the future.
Once again very sorry for the inconvenience and please allow us to once again invite you as a guest next time you are in Entebbe. We will not disappoint you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
0.6 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
97 reviews
4.5 mi away
Thames Hotel
Thames Hotel
#26 of 30 in Entebbe
21 reviews
1.7 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
71 reviews
5.1 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#17 of 30 in Entebbe
21 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Entebbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Entebbe

Address: Plot 25 Church Road | P.O. Box 646, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Sunset Motel Entebbe)
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range: £26 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Kizungu, a desirable suburb of Entebbe only a few minutes drive from the International Airport. This very quiet hotel with 17 en-suite rooms is ideally suited for business and recreational traveller's seeking accommodation before and after their travel within Uganda. The hotel is conveniently situated in a serene environment but close to tourist facilities within Entebbe. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing