We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Entebbe
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
J. Residence Motel(Entebbe)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thames Hotel(Entebbe)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
4 Penguins Hotel(Entebbe)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
54
58
13
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
58
13
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboiled eggsfinal destinationhot waterwalking distancebotanical gardenswifiairportugandasafaribirds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I decided to take a week's vacation before our mission trip in Uganda, and came across Sunset Entebbe on tripadvisor. We needed a place to stay for a couple nights before we headed out on safari for the week. We are so glad we chose Sunset Entebbe.

The rooms were comfortable, the garden area was relaxing, the entire staff so helpful and pleasant. We had extra luggage for our mission trip, and the staff was so helpful in storing it for us while we were on safari. The hotel was very quiet considering its proximity to the airport and town.

We also used Olive Safari, whom they recommended, and we are so glad we did. They customized a trip for us and arranged everything. If you use Olive Safari, be sure to ask for Jonathan as your guide. He is a very special young man; friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable about everything we saw.

We made the mistake of assuming that our credit card would be used for much of our trip, but found that it is not so common to use credit cards in Uganda. The staff in general, and Jonathan in particular, were very understanding and helpful in sorting everything out.

We couldn't be happier with the way our adventure turned out. Thanks again Sunset Entebbe and Olive Safari!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

When travelling back from Kigali to Kampala/Entebbe I found this clean hotel with friendly staff, tasty food, value for money, hot water, tv, fans, away from the road in a calm neighbourhood. On a short drive from the airport (pickup from or to the airport for free). Enough to do on short distance like botanical garden, zoo and waterfront !

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the plot seem the newest !
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermaliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Looking for something near the airport for one night? The location's right -- in quiet neighborhood of villas, consulates, school, religious houses, restaurants, lake, other hotels, and right next door a bar/restaurant/carwash. Yard space to sit outside, in shadow of giant phone tower, and unfortunately next door neighbors burning their trash made it not so pleasant. Hotel is a rambling building, not at all new as appears in their photos. Rooms cheaply furnished with fittings somewhat broken down especially the bockety fan in our room, which had narrow single beds. This was a very basic place, but at $50 what can be expected. No air conditioner, wifi that didn't reach much past lobby despite what they tell you. Restaurant not very good, and no convenience store close by. Free transport to airport. Staff was not particularly friendly nor forthcoming, and seemingly not well managed; the boy on desk at night failed to wake us 6 a.m. us despite the driver waiting for an hour. Would not repeat here, although the Sunset at least is a secure enough facility near airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at Sunset Entebbe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment! We appreciate that you have taken your time to value our hotel and its environs. And as we explained in our mailconversation we are extremely sorry, and concerned, about the issue of the failure to wake you up, and although you had not requested a wake up call, the staff member should have understood the need for it. Us knowingly this has never happened before. The person in question is now suspended.

As shown by other comments, most of our customers appreciate the main hotel building being a carefully renovated old colonial structure with matching but rather simple furniture. It gives it the homely guest-house like atmosphere many of our guests prefer. We also receive many positive comments of our staff and hotel environments.

We shall be more than happy to welcome you back at any time and will make sure you will not only get the best of service but also one of the rooms in the adjacent but relatively new hotel building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A friend had recommended this place to stay on arrival into Entebbe and before having to go on into Kampala.
Very glad I did stay here. A very nice value with very nice service.
The rooms are nice with nice big shower heads and hot water. TV, fans, etc. as well.
The gardens are very nice, the food good and service friendly.
One way transport for free was very nice as we had a very early departure and the driver was right on time taking us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthego2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My change of plan from two days reservation to four was due to the friendly staff and environment in addition to top end services provided.Hotel located in a perfect place free from any noise,security guaranteed,free single transport either to or from the airport at no extra cost.Above all is the beautiful garden not forgetting the delicious breakfasts.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank jameso897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews