We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly little place”
Review of Sunset Entebbe

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Entebbe
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly little place”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

After a slew of soul-less business hotels I was thrilled to find this charming little hotel which is situated in a well tended tropical garden; there's a disproportionately large lawn to enjoy a sunset beer and if you are particularly tall you'll even be able to catch a glimpse of the lake.

The rooms are a little worn but have all the basic comforts including a hot shower and a comfortable bed. If you are travelling to/from the nearby airport it is worthwhile going for the $50 room (rather than the budget $40 option) as it includes a one way transfer; I made use of this service both times I visited and both times the courteous taxi driver was on time despite one early morning departure in the pouring rain.

Breakfast is better than I have had in many more expensive hotels with a great selection of fresh breads and a variety of eggs made to order; I had a very early airport transfer and had asked for something small for breakfast - to my delight someone made the effort to get up and prepare the entire spread for me. I also thoroughly enjoyed my stew the night before and the staff are happy to recommend things and generally helpful.

The restaurant is a pleasant open air affair and is a good place to park yourself with a laptop to make use of the free wifi. Overall a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Room 3 (twin) right behind reception is a convenient choice with good WiFi connectivity and a nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle_M88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    56
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
21
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

this should be one place one can't sleep as next door is night club the management is not skilled in the accommodating businessmen rooms are very are having some smell i didn't like for the cost of $55 and after the rating in tripe adviser this is bad

Room Tip: i had to check in the next lake heights just a few meters
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Could not have been happier during our stay here. A traveled with a group of students, all of us female and we didn't arrive until 4am in the morning. Our driving was waiting at the airport when we arrived and when we arrived at the hotel we were greeted and welcomed in, even at that time. We had two rooms, both were clean, had comfy bed and we were able to access WIFI.

Breakfast was really nice and the staff were happy to let us stay in the hotel waiting for our pick up, after we checked out. If you are looking for a place to stay overnight then I would definitely recommend this hotel. I haven't rated Fitness Centre and Swimming Pool just because I didn't see, or use them facilities however I'm sure if the rest of the hotel is anything to go by they will be excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at Sunset. I was here previously in November 2013 and it is good now, in April-May 2014, to find all the same cheerful faces. In the past I have stayed at several other Entebbe hotels, both large and small.

Sunset is a bungalow hotel set in large gardens just off the Entebbe-Kampala road. A friendly responsive management and staff and a well-cared for building make stays relaxing and comfortable. It has none of the impersonality - and often failing facilities – of some larger hotels in town. The owners live nearby and are hands-on in the daily running of the hotel. Pickups are arranged from the airport which is only 10 minutes away. There is secure parking alongside the garden.

I am staying in Rm 4, a three-bed room with comfortable mattresses looking out onto the garden. My ensuite wet-room has a shower and toilet. If on occasion the water is not warm, there is a switch near Reception that turns on the heater. The small dining room is set next to Reception, which doubles as a bar. The dining area is airy and cool, open on one side to the garden – where I often sit to work during the day, and am now typing this short review while the rain patters on the leaves a few feet away.

Inclusive breakfasts are a simple buffet of cereals, bread, boiled eggs, fruit and juices, with omelettes, bacon and sausages from the kitchen. The lunch/ dinner menu runs from 11 in the morning until 10.30 at night. At least in the low season, when I am here, service is quick. Soups, salads and sandwiches are on the menu. Main dishes include tilapia and Nile perch, a range of chicken, beef and goat dishes, spaghetti meals and fresh fruits. But there are lots of other places to eat in Entebbe.

Wifi is available at usual Ugandan bandwidth, with a stronger signal in the dining area than in the rooms. For soccer fans, the TV in the dining area and in the rooms has DSTV SuperSport covering European and African leagues.

Guests include a mix of travellers in transit, birdwatchers and other tourists, businesspeople and consultants working with the large UN base in Entebbe. Right now it is low season, and I had no problem making my booking. From about June, the hotel is more heavily booked.

The main highway and town centre are only a few minutes away to the left from the hotel entrance along Church Rd. A further ten-minute walk past State House - and the excellent food and coffee of Anna’s Corner - leads to the Botanic Gardens and new Nakumatt shopping mall. At the lakeside below is the Uganda Wildlife Education Centre. Turning to the right from Sunset takes walkers down Church road towards the airport and the lively beaches – Lido, Aero and Spennah. Nearby is one of Entebbe’s premier eateries, Phase 3.

I am a wheelchair user, and small wheelchair-friendly hotels and guest houses can be hard to find in Africa. I would not especially recommend Sunset for wheelchairs as it has two double steps at the entrance. I can cope with these, but many wheelchair users would require a push and lift from behind. Of course staff are happy to do this. If I had one suggestion for management, it would be to have simple wooden or aluminium ramps on hand to make life easier for independent wheelchair travellers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I decided to take a week's vacation before our mission trip in Uganda, and came across Sunset Entebbe on tripadvisor. We needed a place to stay for a couple nights before we headed out on safari for the week. We are so glad we chose Sunset Entebbe.

The rooms were comfortable, the garden area was relaxing, the entire staff so helpful and pleasant. We had extra luggage for our mission trip, and the staff was so helpful in storing it for us while we were on safari. The hotel was very quiet considering its proximity to the airport and town.

We also used Olive Safari, whom they recommended, and we are so glad we did. They customized a trip for us and arranged everything. If you use Olive Safari, be sure to ask for Jonathan as your guide. He is a very special young man; friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable about everything we saw.

We made the mistake of assuming that our credit card would be used for much of our trip, but found that it is not so common to use credit cards in Uganda. The staff in general, and Jonathan in particular, were very understanding and helpful in sorting everything out.

We couldn't be happier with the way our adventure turned out. Thanks again Sunset Entebbe and Olive Safari!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimbergen, BE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

When travelling back from Kigali to Kampala/Entebbe I found this clean hotel with friendly staff, tasty food, value for money, hot water, tv, fans, away from the road in a calm neighbourhood. On a short drive from the airport (pickup from or to the airport for free). Enough to do on short distance like botanical garden, zoo and waterfront !

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the plot seem the newest !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermaliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
224 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Looking for something near the airport for one night? The location's right -- in quiet neighborhood of villas, consulates, school, religious houses, restaurants, lake, other hotels, and right next door a bar/restaurant/carwash. Yard space to sit outside, in shadow of giant phone tower, and unfortunately next door neighbors burning their trash made it not so pleasant. Hotel is a rambling building, not at all new as appears in their photos. Rooms cheaply furnished with fittings somewhat broken down especially the bockety fan in our room, which had narrow single beds. This was a very basic place, but at $50 what can be expected. No air conditioner, wifi that didn't reach much past lobby despite what they tell you. Restaurant not very good, and no convenience store close by. Free transport to airport. Staff was not particularly friendly nor forthcoming, and seemingly not well managed; the boy on desk at night failed to wake us 6 a.m. us despite the driver waiting for an hour. Would not repeat here, although the Sunset at least is a secure enough facility near airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at Sunset Entebbe, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment! We appreciate that you have taken your time to value our hotel and its environs. And as we explained in our mailconversation we are extremely sorry, and concerned, about the issue of the failure to wake you up, and although you had not requested a wake up call, the staff member should have understood the need for it. Us knowingly this has never happened before. The person in question is now suspended.

As shown by other comments, most of our customers appreciate the main hotel building being a carefully renovated old colonial structure with matching but rather simple furniture. It gives it the homely guest-house like atmosphere many of our guests prefer. We also receive many positive comments of our staff and hotel environments.

We shall be more than happy to welcome you back at any time and will make sure you will not only get the best of service but also one of the rooms in the adjacent but relatively new hotel building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.8 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
52 reviews
1.7 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
5.1 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#18 of 30 in Entebbe
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Entebbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Entebbe

Property: Sunset Entebbe
Address: Plot 25 Church Road | P.O. Box 646, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Sunset Motel Entebbe)
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Kizungu, a desirable suburb of Entebbe only a few minutes drive from the International Airport. This very quiet hotel with 17 en-suite rooms is ideally suited for business and recreational traveller's seeking accommodation before and after their travel within Uganda. The hotel is conveniently situated in a serene environment but close to tourist facilities within Entebbe. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing