We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great To Spend A Fews Hour While In Entebbe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Uganda Wildlife Education Centre
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spent a few hours here while waiting for a flight and it was a great experience. All of the animals here were at some point injured or sick and are recovering so they can hopefully go back out into the wild so some of them might not look completely strong and healthy. It's a great educational experience because they have guides there that will tell you about the animals and plants and it's located directly on Lake Victoria and is beautiful. Some of the animals, birds and monkeys mostly, have free reign to roam around as they please which can create some great pictures! The Center isn't huge so don't count on spending more than a few hours here.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank TravelingPirate13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed in the Kidepo Valley Banda and it was great. Quiet, peaceful and right next to the giraffe enclosure. The only part that was difficult was walking back to the banda at night after dinner in the dark. You can hear the chimps and lions making a lot of noise in their enclosure, and the only disappointing thing was the loud club music blaring from outdoor speakers next to the restaurant. It definitely took away from the experience of being in a natural environment. Otherwise, fantastic place to stay and well worth the $ per night to enjoy a self-contained private banda.

Room Tip: Opt for the bandas... the dorm is huge, but the bandas are much more private and you get the feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaLuna333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights while backpacking around East Africa. I stayed in the dorm (which is huge) so I got a room all to myself. There was only one other person staying there. The staff gave me my key but didn't give me any more information than that. I eventually found the bathrooms and the one computer they have for guests to use the internet. They have a lakeside 'restaurant' which closes at 6 PM. Thankfully the other girl told me the closing time at 5:45 PM, so I was able to rush down and order some food. Their menu is quite limited - mostly you can order chips and then some sort of meat side. For vegetarians there isn't really anything you can eat besides chips. Breakfast in the morning though was really good. On one hand I really liked my stay there - it was quiet, clean, peaceful and the animals were interesting to wander through. On the other hand, amenities are very limited. I guess it was nice to know that my $10 dollars a night was going towards the animal rescue work and not frills for guests.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snoopycat781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our time in Uganda was spent doing humanitarian work and we hadn't seen any wildlife, so we thought this would be a good option to see some African animals the day before our flight out of the country.

Our lodging for the night was a private banda which gave us plenty of room to spread out (two beds on the main level and two beds in the loft), a kitchenette (which we didn't use), a private bathroom (decent), and a nice little front stoop which we sat out on before turning in for the night. The highlight however were the animals -- chimpanzees, lions, hyenas, emu's, giraffes, donkeys, wild deer, etc. It felt very much like a zoo, but we were told the animals were all rescued. There's a cheap little cafe on the property which overlooks Lake Victoria where you can get simple foods (burgers and fries) and beer. There's netting surrounding the cafe to keep the moneys at bay, but they still managed to get into the restaurant and much to our delight, harass us for food -- climbing on tables and posing for pictures. It was the highlight for us!

If you want to get up close to animals, this is the place to do it! If you aren't looking for luxury and don't mind basic accommodation, this is a wonderful option!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suzecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

My partner and I found a short review of the bandas within the Entebbe Wildlife Education Centre during an internet search for accommodation in Entebbe and were so pleased we did!

The bandas are situated within the education centre itself - somewhat like a zoo, but all the animals are orphans or those unable to fend for themselves in the wild - and the price of the accommodation (approx £15-20 per night) included unlimited access to the park even when it was closed. Being able to spend a quiet hour wandering around the anclosures was incredible.

The bandas themselves are very spacious and well-constructed. They are also equipped with a private bathroom and fridge, plus you can hire basic cooking equipment. The centre is also a good base for visiting the chimp sanctuary on Ngomba Island; boats leave from the jetty opposite.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank biz_e26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
0.9 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 33 in Entebbe
318 reviews
4.1 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#15 of 33 in Entebbe
22 reviews
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Skyway Hotel
Skyway Hotel
#30 of 33 in Entebbe
10 reviews
3.7 mi away
J. Residence Motel
J. Residence Motel
#5 of 33 in Entebbe
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#8 of 33 in Entebbe
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uganda Wildlife Education Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uganda Wildlife Education Centre

Address: Lugard Avenue, Entebbe, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Entebbe
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 36 kilometers from Kampala and just 15 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport. The Uganda Wildlife Education Centre offers you an incredibly unique opportunity to explore Uganda at in a glance! See and learn about the rescued and confiscated animals, plants and a mimic of the Ecosystems. Relax in a quiet and comfortable range of accommodation from budget hostels, mid rage to high-end cottages and get an opportunity to listen to the occasional lion's roar, owl hoot, chimp pant hot or the gentle whisper of wind through the trees at no additional cost! Secure day and night parking available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing