We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic, cheap, not so clean, but overall ok”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Entebbe Backpackers
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed only one night between a two day fishing trip on Lake Victoria. The place looks ans feels like a true backpacker's place, without the funky ambiance (although maybe we were in the slow season ?).

We got the twin self contained room connected to the main lobby... noisy enough. Toilet was not so clean and the towels smelled of mold, but, there was toilet paper (yay !).

Overall, don't expect much at that price.

Room Tip: Pay in advance if you expect to leave early in the morning, I had the night clerk complaining that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here twice, in Nov 2011 & again in Jan 2012, first in a self-contained twin room within the main building and later in a 'cottage' in the garden. (These are more recently built rooms, set slightly behind the main building).
Both rooms were clean, fairly large and comfortable. The mosquito nets were good and towels, soap and loo roll are provided. The showers had hot water. The cottage was slightly more expensive than the twin, but had bunk beds, which I found rather claustrophobic when the mozzie nets were down. Both rooms had small terrace areas for sitting outside, with a table and chairs provided.

The reception area has a bar, sitting area with sofas, a tv (which seemed to be permanently on!) and a few tables for meals. There is free wifi. They have an extensive menu and the food was tasty but quite expensive, although beers and other drinks were cheap.
Service was very slow, especially at breakfast. The kitchen staff do not stay on site and only arrive for work at 8am, so breakfast cannot be ordered before then. One morning we waited over an hour for tea & rolex (omelette & chapati). However, the staff were friendly and helpful, and meals can be brought to your terrace on request.
The gardens are lovely, with plenty of flowers and shady trees. There is a small pool and a large lawn for camping. The hostel is in a quiet suburban street and there is no noise at night, so you can get a good night's sleep!
Entebbe's main tourist attractions - the Botanic Gardens and the Wildlife Education Centre - are within easy walking distance and the Lake Victoria Hotel is just at the end of the road.
Checkout time is 10am, but they will store bags for you for free if you have a late flight.
I would be happy to stay here again next time I visit Entebbe.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz_in_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at Entebbe Backpackers for one night after arriving late in Entebbe. When we arrived, we requested a double room and the only one available was 60,000 UGX, which I thought was extremely steep for what we got. The room was clean but definitely not worth the price we paid for it. Additionally, when we arrived, we requested a shuttle from the airport. The shuttle arrived promptly to pick us up, but when we got back to the hostel, there were two other people, who had also just arrived on the same flight as us from the airport. Rather than send one van to pick both of us up, they sent two to make double the profit. That was slightly unsettling. In the morning, we asked the staff to help us with travel plans and I found them to be very reticent and not overly eager to help. Overall, it was fine for a night, but I was not impressed with the service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eur0peTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This backpackers hostel is located in a quiet are in Entebbe. The room was small and the toilet not really clean, but the mosquito net was good and the place has a nice feeling to it. The restaurant serves ok food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

we stayed at Entebbe backpackers for a night....got an ensuite room..looked as if it was a modified room of the manager as it was adjacent to the staff quarters...@50000UGX i would say it was adequate. The dorm beds are at 14000UGX.

restaurant is barely ok....only plus point is wifi in the lobby...

the rates have increased wef Jul 12. 60000UGX for ensuite. 15000UGX for airport drop.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gundappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights, both single with shared and a double (or was it a big single) with own bathroom. Would recommend spending the extra $ for own bathroom, it's still cheap. The newer rooms in the garden seemed nice and clean, ours in the main building can't really be called clean but it didn't bother us too much. Staff is almost TOO laid back but nice enough and i kept a bag there for a week which was very helpful. Food isn't bad. Nice quiet area and loved being so close to the fancy pool at Lake Victoria. A tip though for the hostel: put in shower curtains! at least our bathroom didnt have one so every time we showered the bathroom got flooded. OH and another thing: do take a look at the electric showers; ours had wiring sticking out in a very worrisome way, that did NOT look safe.

Room Tip: get a self contained. newer ones in the garden seem the cleanest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsie198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

entebbe backpackers located in a good place (not far from the main road, 10 min walk to beach and 5 min drive from airport), the area is beautiful and clean, you can find good place for camping there, and also rooms wirth private shower are clean and comfortable, but i suggest you never use rooms without shower and also the dorm. staff are not friendly but the owner is a greet man!
good place to meet travellers

Room Tip: better not to choose room without shower and the dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHOTGUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entebbe
2 mi away
Viavia Guesthouse
Viavia Guesthouse
#1 of 39 in Entebbe
111 reviews
22.9 mi away
Red Chilli Hideaway
Red Chilli Hideaway
#3 of 149 in Kampala
419 reviews
1.8 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 33 in Entebbe
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#15 of 33 in Entebbe
22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
0.2 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 33 in Entebbe
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entebbe Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entebbe Backpackers

Address: Plot 33/35 Church Road, Entebbe 256, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Entebbe
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing