We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Entebbe Backpackers
Reviewed 14 July 2013

You feel a little like you are intruding on the family, but otherwise a reasonable place to stay. We stayed in a room off the family's living area and the main entrance area. It was fine but the bathroom had a major leak in the basin so the floor was flooded and it smelt rather musty. The beds were old and not very comfortable but I felt safe and the people were friendly. The only real major issue was we were given false advise here on the buses to Kampala and ended up having a very difficult time in Kampala after departing the backpackers at 5:45am. They really need to inform themselves better in order to advise their customers with more reliable information.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We used the airport service of the backpackers: someone was waiting for us at the airport to put us in a regular cab. You could arrange it yourself without too muc hassle.

Backpackers was a nice place in a quiet part of Entebbe. First night we had the new double room which was fine, however a bit noisy with the constructors next to the window. The second night we had a double without bathroom; small and hot. Showers were ok but doors couldn't be locked. Food was good and beers were cheap. Good option for budget travelers, stay here instead of Kampala!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakkeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed here one night, in a single room because the dorm was full. The room was OK, but the musquito net had plenty of holes. Nevertheless, I had a good night rest, not too noisy. Bathroom facilities were rather poor, could be cleaner and the doors of the showers could not be locked. Electricity was down a couple of times, with its impact on light and internet, but I think this was the case in the whole city, so not the fault of the backpackers. Location is quite OK, not so far from the main road and the airport. Also free lugage storage facilities. I did not try the food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here with a friend for one night after landing in Entebbe and being en route to Kabale. The place is rather, well, rustic and could do with a good clean, but the abience is jovial enough. We had the pre-mentioned 'reception' room, which was a bit noisy, but it had a fan which was nice, although my pillow felt as though it was full of rocks! The food was seriously overcooked but edible!!! The airport transfer was quick and easy. Tip- don't believe anything the owners tell you with regard to onward travel plans and public transport - they just make it up! For Kanpala to Kabale- use PostBus- it actually leaves on time (7am) not like other buses which sit around until they are full (in our case, 4 hours!!) All-round...cheap and cheerful. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthless B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed here a number of times while working Uganda. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, showers are hot. Manager is exceptional. Was quieter than I was expecting, resulting in good sleep every time I stayed here. Free wifi "is available", but it was inconsistent at best. A great value overall.

Only complaint is food service -- it will take hours (it will be adequate when it finally arrives). Recommend walking 50 feet up the road to Sunset Inn (or Faze 3 in the other direction) to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

It is conveniently close to airport area so a taxi should only cost 12000-15000UGS and you can book your ride through Backpackers. It's relaxed and basic accommodation, no frills but cheap price! Shared bathroom singles are UGS 25000 and a stand alone bungalow double is 40000 and worth the privacy and onsite bathroom. They aren't new or glamorous but it's safe and has a decent bed w/netting. They have WIFI but it isn't always working. Camping is an option if you are really trying to save $. Their restaurant is pretty good food, with good prices and fast service, so take advantage of having that onsite as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bglenn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here every year since 2008 whilst visiting Isaac's House charity. Frank the owner is friendly funny and helpful. Good location. Stay in Room 9, 10, 11, 12 if you like privacy amd quiet at night!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachxxxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.8 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Karibu Entebbe
Karibu Entebbe
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
234 reviews
5.2 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#17 of 30 in Entebbe
21 reviews
4.7 mi away
J. Residence Motel
J. Residence Motel
#4 of 30 in Entebbe
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entebbe Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entebbe Backpackers

Address: Plot 33/35 Church Road, Entebbe 256, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Entebbe
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing