We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Protea Hotel, Entebbe - a good option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Protea Hotel, Entebbe - a good option”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Protea Hotel in Entebbe is a very good option to avoid the horendous peak hour traffic between the airport and Kampala. The perfect spot for an early evening arrival or early morning departure from Entebbe.

Friendly helpful staff and a quiet peaceful environment.

Clean, comfortable room, extra length bed and firm mattress making for a good nights sleep.
Aircon worked well too.

A good option

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Dave P,
Thank you for taking the time to complete the review of the Protea Hotel Entebbe on TripAdvisor. I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Entebbe, Uganda.
Kind regards
Cymon Charnley
General Manager
cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    99
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
41
12
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I am staying here for 5 days. The hotel is new. That's it. And it is very quiet.
Some of the people working there are less friendly. It seems that they do not know customer services. Lack of training?
I asked the reception to bring a bottle of water because I wanted to take pills to cure my painful stomach. Because it was not put in my room this day although the hotel served two bottles evreyday. The receptionist replied to me "Yes, right away". After 10 minutes, nothing happened. After all, I called four times in total. When I called them again and again, thier voices became arrogant. I became unfavorable guest. They brought water after one hour when I called at first. They did not appoligize to this disappointing response. They did not care for my health conditions. Even if they did not know about it, they must have come to me within 5 minutes or so. I was very sad.

When I returned to hotel after working, I was walking toward the windows of the garden, the worker told me to pay some if you take a rest in the garden and on the lake side....She must have asked me if I was a hotel guests or not. The guests here were free. Her attitude was like a security guard.

Hospitality to the guests is the single most important.
Unfortunately, the hotel was lacking hospitality while I was staying there at least.

The room is tidy and clean. The characters of the remote control of the air-condition are in Chinese. I don't undestand at all. And there is the electric sign for "Don't Disturb" on the wall next to the door of the room. But I do not know how to turn on and off in the room. It is very strange.

One day, water from the tap was red and brown in few hours. I accepted since I was in Uganda.

Internet is available for free in the room and the public space.
Many outlets in the room. It is good to work in the room.
The size of the desk in the room is ample to put a PC and a printer.
Over all, the fccilities are acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogospringboks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear gogospringboks,
Thank you for your feedback received. If I make take this opportunity to apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you have detailed. Your feedback is most certainly not in keeping with what we strive to achieve at the Protea Hotel Entebbe. Points raised are most valid and through training with the TEAM, I am confident will be addressed. I look forwadr to meeting you during your next visit to Uganda. Kind regards, Cymon Charnley cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Nice new construction (ongoing inside) pay a bit more and get the lakemview hotel on second floor, spacious room, wind, nice bird, good food, nice place to be in entebbe!

Quiet, kind of place you will remember

Room Tip: Room 216!Balcony is awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nesao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Nesao, Thank you for your feedback received. We look forward to comparing bird sitings during your next stay with us. Kind regards Cymon Charnley : cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I much prefer the Kampala Serena Hotel however we had a 5am flight so stayed at the Protea Hotel. It was quiet, clean and comfortable however the check in took forever although the staff was nice then the room key did not work, took them a few times before they got us one that unlocked the room. They do not have a business center to print boarding passes, etc. so they let us utilize the office. The check out in the morning took quite a bit of time that we did not have because they did not show the travel agent had already paid for the room. It is a great location and nice yet too many things not "right" that made it just average.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Mi-Dan20,
Thank you for your feedback received. At the Protea Hotel Entebbe we strive to exceed our GUESTexpectations. Your comments re the door key and the check-out speed are duly noted and will be focused on. I trust you will stay with us during your next trip and look forwards to meeting with you.
Kind regards
Cymon Charnley
cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The Protea Hotel in Entebbe is a new hotel only in operation since February 2012. I stayed there a week during October 2012 and it was extremely quiet. It is not a popular destination for business men as it is quite a drive to Kampala and if youget stuck in traffic he ± 45km can take as long as 3 hours. Overall the hotel is very clean and tidy. Rooms as spacious and well decorated with everything one will need. The restaurant's menu is however a bit limited and everything is run on "african time". A taxi service is 24hours available if one decides to have dinne or drinks somewhere else.
Overall it was a good experience and I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the lake. The sunrise is quite spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I always stay at the Bougainviller Hotel in Kampala, but as Kampala is quite far away from Entebbe airport, and as my departure flight left pretty early, I decided to spend the last night of my recent business trip to Uganda at the Protea hotel right next to the airport as it would save me an hour of sleep.
It was supposed to be one hour time saving, but as the reception forgot about my wake-up call I got a bit more sleep than I bargained for. Luckily I have a sort of automatic wake-up function in my business traveler's mind, otherwise I would have missed my flight, thanks guys!
Aslo luckily I had done my check-in online already, was travelling with hand lugggage only and I was booked in business, as I don't know if the airline (the always friendly&flexible -NOT- South African Airways) would have accepted me otherwise.

Knowing Protea hotels from South Africa, where I'm based, I had a certain -positive- expectation which upon arrival was met. The receptionist was efficient, friendly and quick and all seemed well.

The room (nr 10, ground floor close to reception) was spacious and nicely decorated with coffee&tea facilities, safe, bath robe, slippers etc.

The bathroom was designed by Gargamel, or some other evil wizzard.
First of all it's one of those really poorly designed ones where you somehow have to manoeuvre yourself in, THEN close the door, before you can actually make it to the toilet. Clever thinking.
The wash bassin has very little space for toiletries, but anyway before you notice that you have already bumped your head into some stupidly placed towel rack which was designed for dwarfs (I hope I don't offend anyone, but if you're under 1m60 you'll be fine).
If you need a tissue while doing/undoing your make-up, there aren't any, so you'll have to close the bathroom door behind you again and go into the downward facing dog yoga position so you'll be able to reach the toilet roll holder behind the door, fab' architectural design!
The shower was a complet disaster, all I ask for is an acceptable level of water pressure and a more or less constant temperature, but neither of that seemed to be possible.
I tried everything.....but the shower head was leaking from all the wrong sides, and it became a mission to actually wash my hair.

The WiFi wasn't working (not my laptop being faulty, it worked everywhere including 20 minutes after leaving the hotel in the airport lounge) which was pretty annoying, and to top it all off -as mentioned at the beginning of this review- I would have missed my flight as they forgot about my wake-up call. For which the reception apologised, kind of them...but I wonder what they would have done if I would have actually missed my flight, would they have paid for the consequences??
Anyway, maybe I was just unlucky but I wasn't very impressed. Next time I'll just stay in my favourite hotel in Kampala and miss out on some sleep.

Room Tip: If you'd like to have a shower, stay away from room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel, mainly through knowing the Protea brand in South Africa as being fairly reliable.
The location is fantastic - right on the shores of Lake Victoria ( loungers on the beach 1 minute from the hotel building ) , and 2 minutes drive ( free airport shuttle at any time, day or night - very good ) from Entebbe airport.
Rooms are modern & all mod cons appear to work. There were frequent power cuts when i was there, which reset much of the room on each occassion, but nothing too problematic.
Food was reliable and good quality- breakfast buffet was a particular highlight. I thought the meal prices were pretty reasonable given the standard of the hotel & cooking.
Staff were very friendly and organised, i had no complaints about any of the service i received.
Hotel did appear to be almost empty for the whole ( 2 night ) stay, but that may be due to most of the guests being ( UN? ) pilots who were out at work for most of the time.
Strongly recommended for anyone with early /late departure times from the airport. 220usd for a deluze with balcony, so not crazy cheap, but worth it for the location.

Room Tip: i think it's worth shelling out the extra to get the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndySmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
3.0 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
64 reviews
1.6 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Hotel Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Imperial Golf View Hotel
Imperial Golf View Hotel
#13 of 30 in Entebbe
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Imperial Resort Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Address: 36-40 Sebugwawo Drive | Entebbe Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Protea Hotel Entebbe)
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Entebbe is ideally located on the glistening shores of Lake Victoria a convenient 1km from Entebbe International Airport. Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Entebbe's trendy restaurant, Tides, is a must visit, offering an exciting and truly inviting a la carte menu 7 days a week. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, specialties include fresh Tilapia and Nile Perch. Daily specials are also a firm favorite with locals and tourists alike. After a busy day, the Agama Terrace or Pool Bar with its own special ambience and uninterrupted lake views, the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions include the Entebbe Golf Club, Botanical Gardens, Mabamba Swamps and Uganda Wildlife Education Center. As part of the education center day trips can be arranged to Ngamba Island Chimpanzee Sanctuary, Ssese Island Trips, Fishing trips for Nile Perch - the largest fresh water game fish in the world or sunset cruises for the less adventurous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Marriott and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing