We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thames Hotel(Entebbe)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
4 Penguins Hotel(Entebbe)(Great Value!)
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
J. Residence Motel(Entebbe)(Great Value!)
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
K Hotels(Entebbe)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
73
120
50
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
120
50
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake flieslake victoriaclose to the airportmarriott hotelshotel restaurantbuffet breakfastbalcony overlooking lakenice poolminutes from the airportcomfortable roomsvia emaillong flightbusiness hotelair conditioningugandamillionsproximity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Great amenities, yummy breakfast, friendly staff! I'd highly recommend this place as a kick-off to a journey or safari! It's a quiet place and after a long journey to arrive in Uganda, very peaceful. We didn't use the pool so can not comment but it was clean and well-cared for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

First, I LOVED my room and view. It's unfortunate that I checked in at almost 8pm and checked out at 5:30am, and so had no time to really enjoy the room or view. But for those few hours, it was great!

Room 217 was spacious and clean with a useful desk area for charging my computer, etc, and organizing my documents. The bathroom was also plenty large with my only complaint being that the shower seal leaked so that the floor got wet.

Now, I had a group of 15 and must commend the women at the desk who greeted our group and started giving everyone single rooms as there was some space for us to spread out. However, some of the doubles didn't want to have their own room so insisted on being moved to a double. As it turns out, the double rooms are above the generators which make quite a racket when they're running -- which they did intermittently throughout the night, resulting in some very unhappy travelers. I suspect that they probably knew they were going to get an earful about the noise as the power had been cycling in and out of generator use for about a week already.

Dinner was a buffet and barbecue. I had enough at the buffet of salads, etc that I never got to the bbq'd meats, but I hear they were overcooked. It's tough to execute bbq well when catering to large groups sometimes... especially outside in a dimly lit area.

The hotel staff was kind enough to roust up boxed breakfasts for those of us on early flights -- just be sure to ask by a reasonable time the night before.

The bar is on the ground floor but at the bottom of an atrium so that rooms above may hear laughter, etc should the bar be busy. We were the ones making the noise :o

Note: I'm in the travel industry but am committed to honest reviews of all properties, whether they like it or not!

Room Tip: be forewarned.... some rooms are above the generators and it appears they may all be doubles (two beds).... check your room out to be sure you're happy!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureGirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Very convenient location for business trips, since it is very close to the airport. Right on the lake Victoria, the hotel gives a different experience to the trip. It has an extraordanary view, nicely arranged terrace and the beach. Even thougj it was still under construction, guests would feel comfortable while staying there. Fullfils all the standards expected. Recommended!

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Naila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Naila M,
Thank you for your completed review. Since your stay with us we have complete construction of the swimming pool. I have updated this site with photos of our pool for your convenience. I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us.
Kind regards
Cymon Charnley
cymon@proteaebb.co.ug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My preference would have been to stay at the Lake Victoria hotel, but it was fully booked. However, the Protea is very convenient for the airport, and airport noise is not a factor. The rooms are fully up to the standard you would expect from the Protea brand - including a flat screen TV, satellite channels, and a digital safe. Wifi is free. A free airport shuttle is also provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear John R,
Thank you for your feedback received. Whilst your overview was positive, the overall rating of your experience was not. I would welcome the opportunity to meet with you during your next visit to review any shortcoming you may have experienced.
Kind regards
Cymon Charnley
cymon@proteaebb.co.ug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Protea Entebbe is always very helpful when booking business trips. It's close to the airport, and right on the lake so very convenient, and a beautiful setting. The rooms in the main building over looking the lake are stunning. Such a shame about the lake flies at certain times of the year, but they are unavoidable. Staff are friendly, although can take a long time to get drink orders.
Will be booking again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1helsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Hels1807, Thank you for your feedback received. your note re the beverage service is duly noted. I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us.
Kind regards
Cymon Charnley
cymon@proteaebb.co.ug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews